We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
59
93
69
54
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
93
69
54
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedsmall hotelquiet locationshort breakbreakfast was excellentfileymushroomsdaniella
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 326 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Once again we finished our annual Coast to Coast event at the East Ayton Lodge. Despite an ongoing change of ownership we were made most welcome.
The staff was laregely unchanged and remained most accomodating to our somewhat special needs. They permitted the partking of our cars on the front lawn for example and had cut the grass in access areas but left it longer where the cars parked. Smart thinking!
It all helps in making the entrants feel welcome and adds to the event.
Will we be going back for uor 21st event well it is already booked.

Chris Lee
Lancashire Automobile Club

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have more character but the other rooms are quieter - take your cjhoice
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisLee1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just had our 20th year's stay at the East Ayton Lodge Country Hotel (in July 2012) and have booked again 6th October for 30 rooms & 55 people on a charity car run; EAL is just superb as a venue for such events - (especially weddings); and now the Lodge is under new ownership, it has only got better, and Sarah & Lincoln say they have great plans for this fantastic place in a wonderful location - for me = Highly Recommended , for location, accommodation, wines, food, breakfast too and ambience. Just do It !!

Room Tip: If you are a party of 4 or 6 - go for the Coach House !!! Its the tops.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWGBellUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked into East Ayton Lodge as a treat for the weekend and after scouring the internet all week decided that it suited our needs. The internet showed it being a very beautiful hotel and the rooms looked perfect. The grounds and downstairs of the hotel are very nice but when we entered our room we were so disappointed. There were dirty towels on the floor from the previous guests and the bedding was dirty. The staff apologised and explained that the previous guests had booked in for two nights but had left early and no-one had been to clean the room as yet. The room itself beyond the cleaning was very tired and was in much need of refurbishment. We accepted the reasons for not being clean but we could not justify paying all that money for a very small and shabby room. We did not stay as we felt we could find better accomodation for our £95. Disappointed :-(

Room Tip: don't expect the same standards of rooms as on the internet guide
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Owner at East Ayton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

I'm so sorry you were disappointed. As I recall your booking came through on one of the booking sites and had been booked on the same day as your arrival date. Unfortunately we had a wedding and the better rooms in the hotel were occupied. Having only taken over the hotel some 5 weeks ago, I sympathise, as I am only too aware of the rooms that need attention.

I hope you will try us again sometime, when we will have made some improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had our wedding here and could not have asked for a better day. The hotel is beautiful, the grounds are fantastic for the children to run around & have fun, the staff are lovely & the food is wonderful!! We had a blessing in the conservatory with all the doors open onto the garden & it was just spectacular, our reception was in the main resturant & the food & service could not be faulted at all. Our guests took over the hotel & it was lovely to get up in the morning & have breakfast together, all in all a wonderful weekend. There was a slight mix up with a couple o the room but the staff had it sorted straight away & the manager could not have been more helpful. Beautiful xx

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are not in the main hotel but a seperate annex, this is not a problem as far as I am concerned but be aware of this when you book so you are not disappointed on arrival.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickyboo083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Staying at East Ayton Lodge was a rather disappointing experience. Our room was not in the hotel main building but in an annexe attached to the main building. The room was large and clean, but rather dark. It could be accessed through the hotel (the long wa round) or via an outside staircase, a shorter route, but rickety and precarious. Bathroom was very small and poorly lit. Lighting was improved by using the light above the sink, but this only worked sporadically turning itself on and off at will! The shower was ok, but attempting to have a bath had to be abandoned as once we managed to turn the tap on, it only dispensed a trickle of water. Quality of the towels was also variable, some were clearly fairly new, but others were frayed and no longer white.

On returning to our room on our second night, my husband turned on the lights and a fuse blew plunging us into total darkness. Ringing reception proved fruitless, so my husband had to negotiate his way back to the main building to find someone to rectify the problem. Having said all of this, the staff were absolutely delightful and breakfast was excellent. It would appear that the proprietors have undertaken some refurbishment of the hotel, but this has not yet reached room 34! It may be that the rooms inside the main building have been refurbished and are of a better standard. I really hope the management make a success of what could be a gem of a hotel, but they need to ramp up the remedial work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBarnesinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Owner at East Ayton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

So sorry you had these problems. I have only had ownership of the hotel since the 6th August 2012 and I am acutely aware of the work that needs to be put into some of the rooms. I hope you will try us again sometime and hopefully you will see the changes that will be happening shortly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews