We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Low Hall Cottages”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scalby, Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pjepmond
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Low Hall Cottages”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little place to stay or as a base for North Yorkshire.
Caretaker had been early on our arrival date and started the Central Heating so it was cosy when we arrived. He also gave instructions about boiler keys etc and gave local knowledge to us which was helpful.
Very clean with all bedding and towels included. Fully kitted kitchen and washing machine too.
Would go again to these cottages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant cottage in a peaceful location.”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is in a quiet location in a pretty village on the outskirts of Scarborough. There are two pubs nearby, and all the attractions of Scarborough are within very easy reach. The Yorkshire Coast cycle route also runs very close by.

The cottage itself has off street parking and a nice communal garden with picnic tables. Inside, it is furnished simply but nicely. It's small, but doesn't feel cramped. The kitchen has everything you need and no more - for instance there's no room for a dishwasher or even a coffee machine, but there is a little fridge, a decent oven and some cupboard storage space. Upstairs there's a double and a twin bedroom, with some hanging storage on the landing. The bathroom is downstairs, and has a bath with a shower attachment to the taps. This is mounted pretty low, and you'll have to crouch in the bath to use it!

Our only major complaint, an unusual one in this day and age, was that visiting with a teenage daughter, the cottage lacked one vital element - wi-fi. Her face when we broke the news to her was priceless. We managed, of course, but for little extra cost it would've made a big difference.

The chap who showed us around was helpful - when we had a problem with the DVD player I texted him and he was there within five minutes with a replacement.

If you are looking for basic, no frills but comfortable accommodation, then I would definitely recommend this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village location
Liked least: The lack of wifi
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Halifax
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walsall
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newark
Reviewed October 20, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing