We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
196
24
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
24
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chettinad mansions surrounding area guest house old mansion couple of days fantastic experience a special place beautiful mansion village life modern facilities makes you feel lunch and dinner delicious food attention to detail french architects spent nights here wander around
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights as a family and were made to feel incredibly welcome from our arrival through to our departure. The staff were so kind and attentive, and were brilliant with our two young children. Our room was spacious and stylish and the added bonus was that the children had a bed each, meaning we didn't have to share (as we have in many other hotels in India) and everyone had a comfortable and restful sleep.
The rooms are surrounded by courtyards with plenty of comfy and (again) stylish furniture so evenings could be spent enjoying some adult conversation whilst the children slept without the worry of leaving children unattended.
We used hotel bikes to explore nearby villages and took advice from the staff about trips further afield - Thanjavur is about 90mins away.
The salt water pool and surrounding garden are beautiful and big enough to accommodate all the guests. My children fell in love with the friendly hotel dogs roaming around too.

Food was so tasty and breakfast was fresh and healthy. The lack of an alcohol licence didn't distract from the dining experience. We were fortunate enough to be staying when the hotel were offering singing bowl energy meditation sessions. This added to my enjoyment immensely and my husband really benefitted from the Ayurveda massage.

We are living in India for a year and can't wait to go back to Saratha Vilas.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 108 share a large private courtyard with no through traffic!
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

I stayed at Saratha Vilas for two nights while exploring the village it is located in and another nearby one. Saratha Vilas is a beautiful refurbished boutique property, managed by two French architects. The room I stayed in was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom and separate toilet. It also came with a small desk. The bed itself was large though the mattress was a little sturdy for my taste. Saratha Vilas serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in its dining hall, offering a limited number of authentic 'Chettinadu' choices. There is a beautiful pool in the garden. All in all this was a great choice. If you ever wanted to stay in one of Chettinad's stunning mansions, this is a perfect place to do so. Keep in mind that Saratha Vilas is located in a village and even though it has lots to offer in terms of exploring and enjoying heritage, it is obviously not a place with a nightlife. Saratha Vilas also does not have a liquor license. You can bring your own or alternatively, ask one of the staff if they can ask a rickshaw-driver to pick up some beers at a nearby Tasmac (some 5km away).

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

A chateau/villa beautifully converted by Bernard and Michel. Room was splendid, staff were splendid and food was absolutely delicious. Cannot find fault. The whole place was quite Devine and sumptuous.
Thank you for having us.xx

Room Tip: Enjoy. All the rooms are quite wonderful.
Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in old palatial chettinadu style house. They provide good breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very tasty. Rooms are very clean and comfortable to stay. Owners of the property are very kind.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank 193krp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Pulled up in front of this place and thought it was a mistake. Turns out to be really good. Food excellent, staff attentive and helpful. We had a great time in the nearby villages looking at some of the old mansions. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good, plain, not fancy.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews