We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
248
40
7
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
40
7
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar other guests the managers panama city bocas del toro boat ride fish paddle boards pool table four seasons bug spray beautiful pool needed anything view of the ocean dvd player chocolate farm warm water
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 313 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

We stayed a week here and it was the most relaxing, beautiful place. Food was incredible. Room was large and cool. Owners were a lot of fun. Beach was calm with lots of activities. Huge pool with a bar that we spent too much time at. Definitely paradise.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tsegraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent R, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Thank you so much for visiting and for your complimentary review. We had a lot of fun with you two, and would love to see you again some time.

Vince and Rosie, and all of our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018

We were looking for a quiet, out of the way place and this was it!
Great staff, private beach, swimming pool, excellent food and very quiet - just what we needed.
Thank you Vince, Rosie and Craig for a wonderful 4 day staycation.
"The Pirate"

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Rhonda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent R, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Thanks for stopping by, and for your kind review... always nice to see people from the local area!

Hope to see ya'll again real soon.

Vince, on behalf of Rosie, Craig and Team Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

Popa Paradise is the perfect spot if you are looking for a beautiful secluded spot to rest and relax. The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating! The casita ocean room has an amazing view and the food is excellent!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank woody56292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent R, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Brief and to the point, but right on and much appreciated! We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.

Vince, on behalf of all of us here in paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018

Arrived in Panama City from ATL late evening and took off from Albrook the next morning for our early March 6 night stay. The owners, Vince and Rosie, were on site the entire stay and among the many nice things they did, was be very accommodating to our early arrival.

Air Panama arrived on time at the Bocas Town airport, and although small, made arrivals and luggage retrieval easy. We were met by the taxi driver waiting to take us to the boat to the island, however, we discovered as we walked to the van that it was not just transporting customers for Popas, they were piling in too many people going to other hotels in town and their tons of luggage. This made for a very uncomfortable ride and luckily short, the only complaint about the trip to the island. The boat was waiting for us and our 45 minute ride to Popa Island was pleasant and uneventful.

We spent six nights at the resort, and upon arrival we and our luggage were quickly lead to Casita #10. This was the closest Casita to the ocean, steps to the beach, we requested this room in advance and our request was met. Our hosts were Rosie and Vince. Our room featured intact and like new sliding glass door screens so we could leave the glass doors open, and listen to the ocean sounds while sleeping at night. The room featured a DVD player, as advertised no TV stations available, we brought along our own DVD's for the evenings. There are DVD's available in the reception area to borrow. Bed was comfortable and featured a mosquito netting which was not needed but looked nice. Room came with a stocked fridge and the owners were nice enough to leave a coffee maker for us. Just ask! Room had plenty of light and wall mounted a/c unit which was only needed a couple of nights during our stay. There also was a ceiling fan in the room. Considering you were on an island, our room had plenty of hot water and water pressure.
Grounds were well maintained and had numerous of marked trails to walk. A maintenance worker pointed out a sloth on premises which made us happy. Long beach to walk on and enough chaise lounges to keep the small amount of lodgers happy. Beach was clean and you can leave your water shoes at home as the beach and where you would swim consisted of a sandy bottom. The pool was popular but we preferred to relax at the beach.
We woke every morning to a nice breakfast featuring fruit or granola cereal and your choice of eggs. We enjoyed all our meals and are not fussy. Many meals consisted naturally of fish served many ways. Chef and entire wait staff were very approachable. We had no problem with the food or drinks. Internet was first rate but only available from the reception lodge. I spent too much time working! I had never stayed at a resort that featured such a plethora of free to use sporting equipment including fishing poles, paddle boards, kayaks and of course snorkeling equipment and fins.

We did two tours which we have reviewed here on Tripadvisor: Chocolate Farm tour and Monkey Island. Both recommended.

The key to enjoying your stay at Popa Paradise is to communicate your special requests regarding food preferences and room location to the owners in advance and they will do their best to accommodate all reasonable requests. Remember you are truly on an island.

Aside from the warm water, sun and great food, the number one thing we enjoyed most about our visit was how engaging and caring both Rosie and Vince were during our stay. They were very visible and wanted to make sure at all times we were enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent R, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Many thanks for your visit and for this fine review - very detailed and accurate information which will surely be a help to anyone considering a stay with us. We appreciate the observation regarding the taxi ride from airport to our dock, and will try to improve on that.

Hope to see you again,

Vince, Rosie and the Popa team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Our all too brief stay here was so relaxing and comfortable, its guarenteed we will return. All the staff were friendly and attentive. The locally sourced food was well prepared and delicious. Craig made sure anything we wanted was there as soon as possible going as far as finding cider for me. The grounds and accomadations were first rate.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent R, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience with the TA community. We especially appreciate when our guests recognize and appreciate the way that we incorporate produce grown on-site into our menus... we are going to "kick it up a notch" this summer with the installation of our own greenhouse!

A heads-up to future guests - if there is something in particular you would like to see on the menu or in the bar, just let us know - it can be a challenge to fulfill these special requests in Panama, but it is a fun break from the routine, and a treat for us when we succeed.

We will be very excited to have you back next February with your group!

Safe travels,

Vince, on behalf of Craig, Rosie and the whole Popa Paradise team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews