We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Private retreat”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much as it was like visiting friends. The hotel is in a private and secluded location, far away from the busy streets in Bocas main island. The food was very healthy and tasty. The staff was very friendly. The beach was clean and we enjoyed it as there were few other people there, so we felt it like it was our own private beach. The day tour to Zapatillas islands was well worth it. Would recommend this place for people who want a private paradise to relax, and for the ones who enjoy snorkeling and scuba diving.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our marine life on the reefs around the resort. Hope to see back at Popa Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    34
    7
    7
    11
See reviews for
29
180
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Dyllan, Darion and Handre here is your long over due review from alan and sandy. My wife and i spent 12 wonderful days in Panama in early march and by far popa was the highlight of our trip. From our arrival to our departure 5 days later it was like spending time with family.
Dyllan and company makes everyone feel right at home and he knows how to run a resort . The water and snorkeling in nearby coral key is amazing. Take the day trip on Captain Handre's 38 foot Catamaran and you will feel like King for a day with a sumptuous lunch of fresh fish caught off the boat
open bar and great day of snorkeling cruising and lounging. The staff is incredibly friendly as are the resort dogs (great touch }The accommodations are rustically elegant ant the climate perfect if you like 90 degree days and 75 degree evenings. It was paradise after below zero days in chicago.The food was great and fresh, the drinks were plentiful and the wine was more than good. All and all a fabulous vacation experience!!. We cant wait to visit you again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank likes2travel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and your great review. It was our pleasure meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Popa Paradise real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Dyllan, Darion, Handre and staff were great! Made sure all of needs were met and provided great stories to keep us entertained. Only recommendation is maybe to upgrade the wine selections. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dan_P1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. Working on some new wines for the resort so look forward to showing you a new wine list next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April 2014. Dyllan and his staff did an excellent job at making us welcome and going out of their way to make sure all our needs were met. We got to know many of the staff fairly well during our stay. I'd highly recommend the Zapatilla tour not just for the incredible beauty of the island and the snorkeling but also the great time you will have with the tour guide, Handre. The food prepared by Darion was excellent and he was quite a joy to be around. I'd also recommend diving here (which Handre arranged) as the coral and marine life in Bocas rank as one of the best I've seen. Adding to our incredible experience here was the beach BBQ on our final night and the fire dance by Dyllan and his staff that followed. My only suggestion would be to reopen the beach bar during the day as it would be nice to have drinks nearby while relaxing on the gorgeous beach, but this is a minor inconvenience as the resort is truly paradise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Many thanks for your great review! It was our pleasure meeting your loverly wife and yourself and we are so pleased you enjoyed the resort and the diving in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back to our piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Impeccable team championed by Dyllan Mitchell just wants to please with a relaxed yet attentive attitude. High quality food with drinks to match. Accomodations are very nice, as we were lucky to stay in Casita 10 in front of the water. Spacious, clean, bug free, A/C. The grounds are kept very clean and walks around the property are beautiful with nice breezes. One drawback was the lack of beach's water clarity due to rains but cured with day trips to Cayo Zapatilla.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with sound of waves, stay at Casita 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagJrtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words and your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our pice of paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for a small week in Popa Paradise Beach resort in February 2014. We had a perfect time. The resort is perfectly organised, you're not a number / room, but a person. For me it was the ultimate way to relax! Thank you very much Dyllan, for your personal approach; Darion for your cooking and the very nice yoga class (my first!) and the whole crew who made our stay one to remember. It's already a month ago, but I'm still telling friends about the wonderful location and exceptional service!

Room Tip: Pick any of the great casitas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ020NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. So pleased you enjoyed the resort and your first yoga class, hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This review is long long overdue. It is also the one and only review I have ever done!

My husband and I spent the second week of our honeymoon at Popa, December 2013. It was wonderful! It was a perfect mix of the luxury of an all inclusive resort without the "luxury" of sterile cookie cutter all inclusive resort worlds. You are pampered while feeling like you have a tropical, pristine island all to yourself (and the other guests of course). We went during a slow time of year and almost had the place to ourselves which was perfect for us. I can imagine that it's a blast full as well, just a different experience. Even when full though, we are talking small on the scale of resorts. You will see/meet everyone.

We also celebrated my birthday when there and it was unbelievably special from sunup to sundown. We chartered the yacht for a private tour and it was beyond words. We returned at sunset to a beach feast with the other guests and partied down, complete with fireworks! My favorite :)

I could go on and on but really the bottom line is that this resort leaves you feeling relaxed and pampered with a personal homey touch that is never there in the bigger resort strips of Cancun and the such. The staff and managers are as much a part of your stay as you wish and that is great because they are stars in this shining gem.

We would be going back this year if it wasn't for baby on the way!! As soon as the kiddos are birthed and weaned, Popa will be our reward.

4 months later and I still dream about it.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is amazing. Right above the beach, ocean sounds all night if you only have the scree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkClarkClark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Many thanks for your great review and your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon and birthday we us, we had great fun celebrating with you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
12.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
538 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
419 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
502 reviews
16.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
309 reviews
13.6 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popa Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Property: Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Address: Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popa Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popa Paradise is an Adults-Only (18+) beach hotel located on a stunning island called Isla Popa in the Bocas del Toro archipelago, off the Panamanian coast in the Caribbean Sea. We are located about 30 minutes away from Bocas del Toro by boat. Stay with us for an unforgettable vacation where you can relax, snorkel in beautiful clear water and visit the amazing outer islands. Our chef creates a spectacular, tasty, unique and healthy menu and can cater to vegetarians and vegans, which is all included in our all inclusive rate. We have a large range of activities and excursions from diving, fishing, zip lines to the spectacular Zapatilla islands marine park or simply relax by our swimming pool and enjoy a Popa Paradise cocktail at our swim up bar, enjoy a massage in the spa or take a walk on one of our stunning beaches. Our new beach bar and restaurant "Rosie's" is great for cool drinks on the beach all day and at night beach BBQs, bonfires, and occasionally live music under the stars. Our dedicated team of professionals will take care of your every need and ensure you have a memorable stay at our boutique resort. We look forward to meeting you at Popa Paradise - barefoot luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Popa Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Paradise Beach Hotel Isla Popa
Popa Paradise Beach Isla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing