We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco Responsible Paradise! One of a kind!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I never managed to go to a honey moon or anything like that for over 3 years into the marriage. We finally picked the Popa Paradise to be completely away from the busy life and worries and enjoy each other's company. And we were so right! It is the exact place you would want to go to unwind, relax, reflect and meditate on your own terms.

The island is easy to approach from the main Boca island. The resort sent a boat for us; we were picked up from the airport timely and had an enjoyable 25 mins boat ride to Popa island. This way we saw the Bocas del Torre islands from the sea.

Upon arrival we were nicely welcomed by Dylan (the owner), Thiago (the cutest puppy dog), and a delicious Coconut drink. We stayed in one of the casitas by the beach. The reception/joint area is a great great place to spend time in, btw.

The casita was perfectly clean, very secluded, viewed parts of the beach, while perfectly shaded by the palms too. So perfectly that I managed to yoga twice a day during the day-time without any discomfort. We had the DVD player (we watched a movie after the dinner every day, it was excellent) and the satellite TV in the room. The bed was perfect, the window/balcony were huge and the bug net prevented every bug from coming inside. We never used an AC -the open windows did a great job. The bathroom was very nice and impressively, the hot water was running consistently. We enjoyed our spacious and beautifully decorated casita every day! Especially the sea waves sound ...

The beach towels were plentiful and available around the resort; the beach was right there (2 mins walk from the casita), clean, secluded, had sun beds, showers and surely beautifully warm turquoise water!!the only downside at the wilder /jungle beaches is twofold: bugs(small and unpleasant) and the tide (the more tide -the less beach). For those who want no bugs and no salty water -there is a beautiful swimming pool with a swim-to full bar and pleasant clean water.

The food at the paradise is AMAZING! New every day, creative all the time and always the freshest fresh! Darren, the other owner, the chef, the masseuse and a fun, very open person -was doing an excellent job with keeping us full and healthy fed every day, three times a day! The cuisine was not only fresh, it was highly gourmet! We miss the food already. Thank you, Darren !

We went to the Popa village one day and it was a lovely trip to see the local people; we also went to the couple close-by islands just to see a different style of living there; we kayaked and that was a pleasure! The jungle gym is a joy and fun too -must try;) for the nature lovers -there is a wonder every step: from incredible birds to lazy sloths on trees.

All we wanted to do is just to relax and enjoy every moment of this wonderful and very sustainably managed place! We loved every moment of it!

Surely, it is not cheap- but it is absolutely worth it !

NB we felt that coming during the dry vs. rainy season would have been even a better idea! :) we had one of three days gloomy and without much sun, which is great for other activities but not for a tan :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank opuntus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Many thanks for your great review! It was wonderful to meet you and look forward to seeing you at Popa Paradise again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 293 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

This year we went to Popa in mid to late December for 6 days. It was as awesome as the year before, when I went for my birthday. Always greeted with friendly hellos and smiles, this resort feels like more of a second home.
Whether we wanted to walk up the white sand beach or sit at the pool, relaxing and having fun were most definately in the cards.
Going snorkeling, day trips on the Ingwe spirit, or kayaking at Popa is breathtakingly beautiful. My boyfriend had a great time wake boarding, and my mom did it for the first time. Everyone there made sure we were completely comfortable and any requests we had were met.
The food is always scrumptious and I left full from every meal. At one point of your stay you will get to see a phenomenal fire dance. This is my favorite vacation spot that I've been to. I can't wait to go back hoping it's sooner than December. You won't be disappointed!!! Check out Popas paradise island!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaz4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Many thanks for your great review, its always a special pleasure to welcome back guests who have stayed with us before. We look forward to seeing you next December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This Resort was nothing short of Heaven on Earth. The Staff were the most accommodating workers I have ever seen on any trip to the Caribbean before. They pampered you and made sure you were completely happy 100% of the time. They were friendly and eager to make your stay perfect. The food was equally astounding. The Chef created delicacies using all local fruits fish and meats. This food was so delicious and well presented that I felt like a Rock Star with my own private Iron Chef competition right in front of me. The rooms were clean, modern and very romantic. The grounds of the facility were meticulously maintained, very easy to maneuver and close proximity to the restaurant, pool and bar. I would recommend Popa Paradise Beach Resort to all my friends. We loved Popa Island so much we bought we bought a home right around the corner from their facility. A true vacation and dream come true!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get the casitas on the beach. You and your date will experience one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Many thanks for your great review and your kind words. The staff here take great pride in taking good care of our guests and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome to the neighborhood, I am sure we will see you around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife Lucy and I spent 7 nights at Popa. Having travelled from Vancouver, BC it was along way from home. There are few places I rate as a 10 but this was it. The entire experience was very special and the staff were so good. The food was outstanding. Dyllan and the staff will look after you!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Blair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Many thanks for your great review and your kind words. It was our pleasure meeting you and looking forward to seeing you back at Popa Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading all excellent reviews we decided to go to Popa Paradise. We spent 4 nights in a casita. The casita was spacious, clean and comfortable. No beach view, however as we spent most of our time near the lovely pool it didn´t matter. Staff is great, especially the guy from Argentina (sorry I don't know your name). It is a wonderful place to spend a few lazy days, The food was fresh and tasty, although choice of ingredients (corvina, chicken and beef) was rather limited. Wraps and salads are nice and I don't expect Michelin star quality, however a rate of 400 Usd per night we expected a little more. The first day we inquired if it was possible to serve lobster, as we both are very fond of it. We were told that due to the rain at the second day this was not possible. How disappointing (and tactless) when we heard that the day of our departure there was a beach barbecue with lobster.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAB2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. In regards to you comments about our food - the wraps and salads you mention is off our lunch menu, because its normally hot during the day the lunch menu is designed to be light in in keeping with the weather. We do have many other options on the lunch menu also. Regarding the lobster - our Lobster is fished off our reefs by local fishermen. When we have high seas and bad weather this creates low visibility in the water and they can't fish on the reef. During your stay this was the case and I kept asking the fishermen to get some lobster for you as soon as possible. Unfortunately this was not possible during your stay, I look forward to presenting you with huge, fresh lobsters on your next sat with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Spent an idyllic 5 days here in early December when the hotel was nearly empty. Had exceptional service from the very friendly staff. Food was freshly prepared, tasty and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. Stayed on the beach in the mornings as it caught the morning sun and a pleasant breeze blew off the sea. The trees gave much needed shaded. The water was warm and access was a gentle slope. In the afternoons we lounged around the pool which we often had totally to ourselves. It is a lovely C-shaped pool with a swim-up bar. Meals were served on the terrace overlooking the pool. The place feels very remote as it takes at least 30 minutes by water taxi (an exciting ride through the islands) to get there but in fact it is very close to the mainland but the only access point is way to the north. Varied habitats in the grounds were great for birdwatching and there were many interesting, colourful birds to find and identify. We chose to be lazy as we had been exploring Panama but there are plenty of opportunities for activities on and off the island. We appreciated the quietness because of the low number of guests but this may not be normal. Our lodge was spacious and well fitted with a wonderful balcony. There was no view but we liked the tree tops for viewing birdlife. Disappointed in the poor shower which could not mix water so cold showers were safer than being scalded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the resort. We have resolved the shower issue you had in your casita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Popa Paradise Beach Resort is truly a hidden gem! From leisure travel to Destination Weddings, you will find a crew of eager staff ready to make your stay in Popa an unforgettable experience. We arrived on Isla Popa, aboard the Ingwe Spirit Catamaran and were instantly taken back by all of the Beauty! Clear blue water and a white sandy beach welcomed us at the dock, along with Rosie, Amber and Crew. The Resort is breath taking, a little piece of Heaven on a private island. We arrived at our Suites and instantly noticed the amount of details put together for our arrival. A bottle of champagne, welcome note, a cute towel swan on our bed and flower accents everywhere! And the View from our Suite....WOW!! I figured it couldn't get much better, but it did! Dylan and Darion greeted us at The Clubhouse and showed us to our seats for dinner. Let me start by saying, Never pass up any soup served at Popa Paradise! Absolutely Delicious!! My stomach was thrilled will all of the Fresh Ingredients used in their delicious meals! We spent our days working on wedding duties and exploring! Our exploring lead us on a excursion to Zapatilla Island. Being a scuba diver, I fell in love with all of the life under the clear blue Caribbean water. Popa Paradise provides convenient excursions for you and your guests to enjoy. The night life in Popa is just as fun!! During your stay at the Resort, especially if you are there for a Destination Wedding, plan a night on the Beach at Rosie's Beach Bar. Have a seat on one of the Bar Swings, order a tropical drink and be prepared to have a relaxing, fun night! Another must see thing at Popa Paradise Beach Resort is, the incredible Fire Show!! No one warned us, that we would be wowed by the Talented Crew at Popa! Dinner entertainment at its best! The talent didn't end at the Fire Show, it continued to the Wedding Reception, where guests were treated to a beautiful design by the one and only Darion. He did a fantastic job and I am anxious to work with him again. Popa Paradise is filled will an obvious tranquil beauty, that can be seen in all pictures taken there. Though, there is one thing you will have to visit in order to experience and that is the top notch service and hospitality you will encounter from all of the resort staff and owners. We are looking forward to our next trip and highly recommend Popa Paradise Beach Resort for a Destination Wedding or getaway!

Thank you for the incredible experience!

Janelle Allen
David Pezzat

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Wow what a great review, thanks do much! As you have said there is so much to see and do during the day and at night at Popa Paradise or you could just be relaxing under a palm tree on the beach with a tall cocktail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
12.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
437 reviews
12.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
564 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Bocas Ridge Hotel
Bocas Ridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Almirante
53 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Caribbean View
Hotel Caribbean View
#2 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
74 reviews
10.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popa Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Address: Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Price Range: $140 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popa Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popa Paradise is an Adults-Only (18+) beach hotel located on a stunning island called Isla Popa in the Bocas del Toro archipelago, off the Panamanian coast in the Caribbean Sea. We are located about 30 minutes away from Bocas del Toro by boat. Stay with us for an unforgettable vacation where you can relax, snorkel in beautiful clear water and visit the amazing outer islands. Our chef creates a spectacular, tasty, unique and healthy menu and can cater to vegetarians and vegans, which is all included in our all inclusive rate. We have a large range of activities and excursions from diving, fishing, zip lines to the spectacular Zapatilla islands marine park or simply relax by our swimming pool and enjoy a Popa Paradise cocktail at our swim up bar, enjoy a massage in the spa or take a walk on one of our stunning beaches. Our new beach bar and restaurant "Rosie's" is great for cool drinks on the beach all day and at night beach BBQs, bonfires, and occasionally live music under the stars. Our dedicated team of professionals will take care of your every need and ensure you have a memorable stay at our boutique resort. We look forward to meeting you at Popa Paradise - barefoot luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Popa Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Paradise Beach Hotel Isla Popa
Popa Paradise Beach Isla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing