We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Destination - We highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although we didn't really know what we were getting into when we first booked our trip to Popa, we wound up finding the perfect vacation destination for us and hope to return as soon as possible. We arrived at Popa by boat and were immediately taken with our beautiful surroundings and the warmth and ease of Dyllan, Darion & Ty, who truly helped make our experience so unique. From beginning to end of our Popa experience, we had nothing but pure enjoyment. The resort was so relaxing, our casita was perfect, all of the staff was incredible and we had a great time on all of our excursions -- snorkeling, fishing and visiting the indigenous island of Papa Dos. Of course, there was also Darion's fantastic cooking which was nothing we could have anticipated - every meal was prepared with our taste in mind, with multiple lavish courses and gorgeous presentation each time. And of course, all of the drinks we could have wanted the entire time we were there! We became friendly with one of the other couples staying at the resort and had a great time hanging out in the evening as well as just being on our own. All in all, we have never had such a great time at a resort!! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the casitas that is closer to the main house, you will have internet in your r...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlantagirl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your vacation with us and the many excursions we offer. Hope you see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Popa Paradise Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 278 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've never EVER written a review online for anything but these guys have changed all the rules. Dyllan and Darion, along with Ty, have created a paradise that is so wonderfully off the grid that I am 100% returning. My new bride Megan and I stayed for 5 nights in this island paradise and have been having horrible withdrawls. THIS PLACE IS HEAVEN ON EARTH. Dyllan oversees the daily running of the hotel while Darion is the sort of emotional backbone of the place. They make you feel so welcome and you just get the feeling that any problem they can't handle will be handled by Tyler. Everything from the gourmet meals to the bar you swim right up to at the pool was incredible. It is an island so that means there will be some bug bites and not everything might be available on a moment to moment basis but you still feel totally taken care of. I would prefer this over any of the Hawaiian islands in a heartbeat. I want to feel like I'm off the grid but not fending for myself. These guys see to every detail from greeting us with fresh coconuts to allowing me to mooch cigarettes the whole time. We took a kickboxing class, got a massage, took multiple yoga classes, and Darion even brought us in for an impromptu cooking class. We were lucky that half the time there we were the only couple but I have to say that I love that they don't allow children there any longer. Sorry. I want tranquility on my getaways. The all inclusive element makes it so easy to just keep your bathing suit on for several days with no wallet, watch or cell phone needed. I give this place my strongest recommendation possible. Look no further. You've found it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Wow what a great first review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your honeymoon here with us. By being all inclusive and adults only we aim at giving you the most relaxing vacation ever. It was a great pleasure meeting you and hope to see you back here every year for you many anniversaries

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Douglas and Lynn visited Popa Paradise for 1 week, May 2013. We were combining a holiday in Panama City to visit our daughter.
We left Panama city on an early morning flight, a small plane, which allowed beautiful scenery and a fantastic journey experience. On arriving at Boca (the smallest 'airport' we have ever seen), we were met and escorted on to a small boat, met with Ty, who looked after the guests extremely well and Gomez the boatman. This little vessel carried us at quite a speed through small jungle islands and Everglades!
Eventually arrived at a little jetty and beach – idyllic! It appeared surreal, like entering into a TV programme! A little stroll through the Palm trees and up to the main building. Met by Dyllan, manager, a coconut prepared for us, welcomed and shown round the property. We were the only guests initially on arriving; the pool, grounds and beach beautiful and still with only the sound of the waves. We were delighted.
Dylan showed us to our Casita, the nearest to the ocean – we could listen to the waves all night and watch the sun rise. The casitas are quite roomy, all you need with nice balconies. They are fairly basic – they rely on rain water so don't expect fluffy white towels, but changed and cleaned daily.
A few more guests came and went over the week, with our daughter also visiting for three days which was fantastic. Most people only stay for a few nights, but we loved staying the week – we could really relax and chill out.
The three of us hired the yacht for the day, Captained by Amelio and his interpreter, Sarah. We sailed to the Zapatilla islands where we swam, snorkelled then lunched on the yacht – a wonderful day.
Food was prepared by Darian, co manager – fresh and wonderful and was passionate about good food. The fish were purchased from the fishermen daily, just whatever they had caught. Steaks were cooked beautifully and other dishes prepared were all fabulous. We ate well! Two bar staff were attentive throughout the day and Ty, Dyllan and Darian ensured you had all you required throughout the stay from morning to night. If you require or wish anything, just ask.
Evenings were mainly quiet which we loved; Ty is a musician and we enjoyed listening to his music one evening. Darian, Dylan and Ty performed a fire show, very skilful to say the least! Wow!
Just to close off this long....... note! The following week we stayed at the JW Marriott Beach and Golf resort, Playa Blanca, Panama – beautiful 5*, luxurious rooms, fluffy towels and pillows – it was lovely (and busy!) but if you want to completely relax and chill out, then Popa is for you - Wonderful experience, exquisite, rustic charm – for us, one we will always remember with great affection. Hope to return.
Lynn Elliott
28th May 2013

Room Tip: Casita 6 appeared nearest to the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words and your great review. It was such a pleasure meeting you and your family, we loved your Scottish accents! Hope on your next visit to you daughter in Panama we will see you back at Popa Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

i have been twice to this amazing resort ,the first time i went by myself about a year ago and last week i went with a dear friend.both times ,the service was fabulous,professional,caring ,the food was scrumptious ,the pool and swim up bar is refreshing ,the beach is very inviting ,private,calming,dyllan and darien and the rest of the staff are awesome ,they go that extra mile to make sure you are comfortable and content!!! we treated ourselves to massages by darien,,he has incredible hands and the massage table is located in a beautiful jungle spot ,so peaceful .the rooms are clean ,comfy ,nicely decorated and easy walk to pool and beach ,,fresh flowers and fruit await you along with a view that is incredible.i would recommend popa paradise to anyone that wants to get away to relax and make wonderful new memories ,thanks dyllan ,darien and ty xxoo love and laughter,in good health

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERMAIDLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

It was our great pleasure to welcome you back to Popa Paradise again, return guests always feel like old friends coming back to visit. Many thanks for your great review and your kind words, we hope to see you here for visit 3 real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our stay at Popa was excellent! From the moment you are picked up on the main island, to the time you leave the dock to go back, was magical.

We were upgraded to the junior suites from the casita's , which were excellent. The rooms are big, and airy. We were with another couple so having the big porch area was great. The view was incredible. We would have happy hour there before dinner. The staff was always kind enough to bring us a bottle of wine on ice for happy hour, we didn't even have to ask, they overheard us talking about it.


The staff was excellent, friendly, helpful, going out of their way to make us happy. The pool is the center of everything, a great place to hang out and relax. Swim up bar had premium drinks and fun ones too. Towels were always out by the pool, contrary to a previous post. If they weren't, whenever someone came to the pool one of the staff was right there to hand them a towel. Dylan, is an excellent manager in every detail. Darian, We LOVE Darian, he is part of the whole experience. He is a great cook and entertainer. Ty, super nice and makes excellent drinks. Give him a flavor and he will make a drink out of it.

The grounds are wonderful, if you understand how fast the jungle will take back the grounds then you can appreciate all the hard work that goes on there. We walked to beach #3, nice short walk, nice beach. We couldn't do the jungle stumble because of too much rain they had.

The Beach party they threw one night was a highlight! From the NEW lights that Texas put up to the fire show.

My only mild complaint, if you can call it one, is the beach area. The sports equipment was lacking a bit. We could only find 2 paddles for the kayaks. One short and one long. So all four of us couldn't go out together. The party raft had sprung a leak the week before and it was in the process of getting fixed.

We chose not to do the all day sailboat excursion with snorkeling, we decided instead to do a half day with one of the local workers. He took us over to Zapatera for snorkeling and then we walked around the island. The hotel made us sandwiches before we left. It was a half day trip so we could come back and float in the pool. We had such a short time there, 3 nights was not enough.
Something to bring-- itch cream. The bugs on the beach are bad at night, we all had bug spray on, but were still covered with bites. On day three of itching I finally took a benedryl and the bites/itching went away. You CANNOT miss the beach party so put on bug spray and put on the benedryl if you need it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyD2274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Many thanks for your great review, it was a great pleasure meeting you and your friends. We are so pleased you enjoyed the beach BBQ, its has become a firm favorite here. We hope to see you back at Popa Paradise soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We used a travel agent whose description of this hotel was "luxurious."
This is a very rustic hotel in need of major updating. The management was very kind, but the facilities need major work.

We stayed in the rooms close to the pool, not the cabanas. Our bathroom reminded me of what a cheap motel in Miami would look like- pink toilet and pink sink, coordinated with khaki and dark brown cracked tile. We had mildew in the upper corner of our shower. We had several dead roaches under our bedside table. Our towels were frayed.

We have been to some VERY remote hotels- in the middle of the Amazon jungle - and that hotel in the Amazon jungle was superb. So the remoteness of the island is not an excuse.

We had difficulties getting towels at the pool or at the beach. You had to ask at the front desk. When there was a special guest one day at the hotel, then towels were available on the chairs- but this was the only occasion they were easily available. The lounge chairs were in need of repair- they

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for your review of our hotel, all reviews and welcome and we appreciate your opinions . Your travel agent booked you into our Lodge rooms which are our most basic accommodations designed for guests who would like to experience the resort on a budget, your travel agent is well aware of this and booked you on our least expensive option. Even if you do choose to stay in the Lodge rooms you still have all the resorts top notch luxury public facilities available to you and we do also have our luxury Casitas and super luxury suites available for more upmarket accommodations. The resort is located in a jungle so we do fumigate all the time for your comfort, there is no excuse for a dead insect under your bedside table and I will make sure this does not happen again. Regarding our pool towels, they are available from reception which is a few feet away from the pool, on sunny days we put them out on the loungers for your use. On rainy days we do not put them out but they are still available from reception at any time. Once again we appreciate you comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our family of 5 spent 5 days at Popa Paradise over Spring break and it was incredible. After just a few hours the staff were like family. They took extra care to make sure that our kids were happy and having a great time. Dyllan is and amazing manager and makes sure that everything is comfortable for the guests. From Darian the chef to Ty the bartender/kick boxing teacher/ in house musician to Handre and his wife, Beverly, who captain the catamaran everyone was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The resort grounds are cared for by all the staff and it shows that this is truly their home. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: There are various types of lodging depending on your goal. Private casitas away from the main area...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burns5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Many thanks for your great review! It was a pleasure meeting you family and enjoyed spending some time with you all. We are all so pleased you had a great vacation at Popa Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
12.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
422 reviews
12.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
546 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & Spa
Red Frog Beach Island Resort & S...
#1 of 3 in Isla Bastimentos
524 reviews
16.8 mi away
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
Punta Caracol Acqua Lodge
#4 of 20 in Isla Colon
311 reviews
13.6 mi away
Playa Tortuga Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popa Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Address: Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Price Range: $139 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popa Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popa Paradise is an Adults-Only (18+) beach hotel located on a stunning island called Isla Popa in the Bocas del Toro archipelago, off the Panamanian coast in the Caribbean Sea. We are located about 30 minutes away from Bocas del Toro by boat. Stay with us for an unforgettable vacation where you can relax, snorkel in beautiful clear water and visit the amazing outer islands. Our chef creates a spectacular, tasty, unique and healthy menu and can cater to vegetarians and vegans, which is all included in our all inclusive rate. We have a large range of activities and excursions from diving, fishing, zip lines to the spectacular Zapatilla islands marine park or simply relax by our swimming pool and enjoy a Popa Paradise cocktail at our swim up bar, enjoy a massage in the spa or take a walk on one of our stunning beaches. Our new beach bar and restaurant "Rosie's" is great for cool drinks on the beach all day and at night beach BBQs, bonfires, and occasionally live music under the stars. Our dedicated team of professionals will take care of your every need and ensure you have a memorable stay at our boutique resort. We look forward to meeting you at Popa Paradise - barefoot luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Popa Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Paradise Beach Hotel Isla Popa
Popa Paradise Beach Isla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing