We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at Popa Paradise last May and really loved the place. While I wouldn't call it a 5 star resort, it is a 5 star eco lodge and the owners do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. The cabanas are spacious and clean and the views are incredible. I wouldn't stay for a week as it can get a bit dull at night (it's a decent boat trip from town), but 2-3 days of quiet relaxation is perfect. The staff can't be beat and Dylan and Darion are incredible hosts. Combining a few days in town with a few days on Popa is in my opinion the perfect Bocas vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctierno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Many thanks for your great review, we are so pleased you loved Popa Paradise. We have now opened our beach bar so there are many nights with beach BBQ's under the stars, live music and fire dancing, so now the nights can be quite and tranquil or fun filled evenings, the choice is yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I and another couple spent the last four days of our two weeks in Panama at Popa Paradise. And paradise it is! We toured Panama City for three days then spent almost a week in Bocas. By the time we got to Popa we were exhausted. This is a perfect way to end a busy holiday. It is quiet and secluded. We stayed in an ocean front casita. It was perfect and we loved listening to the sound of the ocean. The deck with two easy chairs is a great place for reading and relaxing.

We had planned to do a bit of touring from here but the resort is so lovely and relaxing we just amused ourselves right here. Did a bit of kayaking and walking to their other beaches and lazing by the pool.

What really sets this resort apart are the managers. Dyllan and Darion are the most gracious hosts you could ask for. Dylan's professionalism and Darions enthusiasm are a perfect combination. They take care of every detail and request immediately. Even emails before we arrived were answered in minutes. The food and service are outstanding. Ty is a fantastic bartender/entertainer. With great stories and drink recipes. And for all you Canadians- he makes the best Caesar going with Motts clamato! And to top it all off he is an amazing guitar player and singer.

We loved our stay here and will return

Thanks Dyllan,Darion and Ty!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-Travellers93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Many thanks for your great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was interesting that you got direct flights from Canada to Panama, there seems to be more of those flights available now. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Popa Paradise soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Popa over the New Year period and had a really great time. It's a truly stunning resort, run very well by an exceptionally friendly team. As I understand it we were unlucky with the weather - we had probably 1.5 days of sunshine over the course of the 4 days and a fair amount of rain too. However, the resort in general, and our Casita in particular, are so relaxing that we weren't too fussed about the lack of sunshine.

The Casita was beautiful - a big room, four-poster bed with a balcony looking out to the sea and a couple of lazy chairs out there perfect for losing yourself in a good book (or 3). It's also great that they have floor-to-ceiling insect nets meaning you can leave the doors open and go to sleep to the sounds of the waves coming in. We had issues with hot water, but again really didn't care as we were so well looked after otherwise.

All the action centres on the clubhouse, pool and swim-up bar. There are also a couple of stunning beaches but we didn't spend any length of time on them. Ty really does look after you impecably, with creative cocktails and plenty of amusing tales.

The food was really good throughout the trip, with particular highlights being the chicken soup and also the smoked pork! Lunch could do with a little more variety although I recognise the challenges of getting food out to this remote island.

The other highlights of the trip would be: 1) New Year's Eve - the team put on a fireworks display, fire dancing and also a bit of a sing along. It was a very memorable way to bring in 2013. 2) The catamaran cruise - we went out for the day on the catamaran and it was very much as you'd expect if you've done something similar before (desert island, picnic lunch, snorkelling). There were lots of other boat cruises following a similar route but what really sets this trip apart is the opportunity to spend time getting to know the hosts Bev and Handre - both lots of fun. 3) The boat journey getting to the island!

We would thoroughly recommend a trip out to Popa, it's a beautiful resort managed by a great team.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our New Years celebration and the activities we offer at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for a slick 5* operation, all mod-cons, and loads of superficiality then don’t come here. Actually, do come here and experience what authentic hospitality is really all about.

Popa Paradise is big in heart and personality. If you like hosts with charisma, an easy going ambiance and captivating atmosphere then this is the place for you.
Everything else has been said in detail by other visitors so there is no need here to further embellish the glowing reports about food, transportation, trips and overall comfort - all of which we endorse.

We have never before felt so relaxed and content in a hotel and never so melancholy when leaving. Tears were wept – truly. Our two young children (3 & 8) are still talking about Popa Paradise –which is the best possible endorsement.

We thank the charming Dyllan for his cool and unflappable management style, the inimitable Ty for his consistent courtesy and yummy cocktails, and the phenomenal Darion – top chef,
yogo-meister and liver of life. We miss you.

Room Tip: No 6 - very close to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting your family and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Life in Bocas is amazing and full of rewards. The best of which, is our favorite island retreat, Popa Paradise. When we can get away from our crazy party bar, we head up to Popa. Dyllan, Darion and Ty are the most gracious hosts, and they know exactly how to treat their clientele. Even if it is only friends visiting on their day off. This 55 acre masterpiece of manicured perfection in the middle of nowhere, is simply perfection. It was built from the ground up, hand designed for comfort and breathtakingly relaxation. The casitas are amazing and the penthouse is to die for. The swim up bar in their incredible pool will keep you busy for hours, never mind the tours to neighboring islands like the Zapatillas. If you take one vacation in your life, take it here. The entire staff goes way beyond the call of duty to provide their guests with the finest aspects of luxury. Between Dyllan's attention to function and form, from Darion's amazing chef and story telling skills to Ty's delicious cocktails and hilarious host nature, you are sure to be delighted with your trip to Popa Paradise. Thank you so much for everything boys, you never fail to deliver and we are eternally grateful.

Room Tip: Go Penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aqua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Many thanks for your great review and kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family just returned from an absolutely amazing visit to Popa Paradise. It is so off the beaten path, and yet everything works so perfectly. Even getting there was part of the fun experience. Dyllan went out of his way to make us feel most welcome from the start and even though we were only there for 3 nights (way too short) we were able to truly relax and unwind. It felt more like a visit with old friends. We stayed in one of the lovely casitas which are beautifully decorated and private. Our children (5 & 8) were thrilled to explore the beaches (which were stunningly beautiful and so private, water perfect for swimming), have fun in the pool and explore the grounds. They are also still raving about their special day out on the catamaran with Handre & Bev. Darien is an amazing chef and everything was so fresh and of the highest quality, and Ty makes some pretty fabulous drinks too! We cannot recommend Popa Paradise highly enough for a truly unique and blissful experience. There is so much to do there, or simply relax, it is a truly special place. We only wish that we had more time there, but we will no doubt return some day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehmcl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyllan M, General Manager at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and great review. It was such a pleasure having you family here and we as so pleased you had a great time. Hope to see you soon again at Popa Paradise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Bocas for Thanksgiving week. I was so excited for this trip and bragged about it to about anyone who would listen. My coworkers were all jealous that I was going to come back to start the winter with a great tan. Well... I guess with all my bragging I deserved what we got- rain everyday! I think out of the 8 days we were in Bocas del Toro we maybe saw the sun for a total of 2 hours. Every source I had read about Bocas beforehand said that the rainy season started in December but I guess this year it came a little early. The beginning of our trip we stayed in Bocas Town and Red Frog Beach and they seemed great and all but the rain really put a damper on things. We then braved the 45 minute trek out to Isla Popa in the pouring rain and rough seas. I just felt completely defeated while on the boat ride out there. All of the money and time off we had saved up for this trip and here it was raining, windy and ruining the vibe. That all changed when our boat pulled up to the dock of Popa Paradise though. The beach and resort grounds were breathtaking- and this was in the pouring rain mind you. We were soaked to the bone from the boat ride and when we got to the reception desk there was Dyllan and Darion with warm towels for us to dry off with. They were kind and perfect hosts from the very start of our stay. We were then taken down to our ocean front casita. My boyfriend and I were absolutely speechless. I don't do a whole lot of luxury travel but I honestly could not have imagined a better room. Our view was spectacular and being that this island is so remote it is baffling to me that they were able to get all of the large and beautiful pieces of furniture out there. Since we were also celebrating my birthday on the trip, Dyllan and Darion had left a bottle of champagne in our room to toast with which was a very nice touch. One minute we were soaked and cold in the rain and the next we were dry and cheersing each other with full champagne flukes on our very spectacular ocean view balcony.
The pool was AWESOME!!! The food was great and I really dug the ambiance they set with dinner- music and beautiful lighting. We never got to go to Zapatillas, Crawl Cay, or Starfish beach (all 3 I really wanted to see) because the weather was too unpredictable but we had plenty of other things to do on Popa. Dyllan organized an island rainforest hike with an indigenous guide for us and it was an absolute highlight of our trip. We had these big rubber boots on that they lent us and we tromped through mud and untamed forest. We brought a beer on the way to make it an official "jungle stumble." :) We loved it. There was a lot of great scenery and private beaches nearby to kayak to and we saw two of my all time favorite animal while on one of our kayak adventures- sloths! We were there for Thanksgiving night and even though we were the only people at the resort from the U.S., Darion cooked up an AMAZING turkey with all the fixings. So good! Thanksgiving dinner was followed by a fireshow which was quite impressive! They really went out of their way to assure a great and memorable stay. If we hadn't stayed at Popa we would have come back with a very different impression of Bocas. The rain and cloudy skies would have left us feeling glum and possibly regretful for using up the money we have saved for this trip. Popa Paradise truly saved our trip though and I left Panama with a smile on my face. I may not have come back with that tan I had bragged about beforehand but I did come back relaxed, well fed, and with some beautiful memories. A very genuine thank you to Dyllan, Darion, and all the other kind people who worked at the resort.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Casitas all the way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vroes, Owner at Popa Paradise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Megan,
Dyllan and his staff are extremely busy just now, with the resort completely booked over the Christmas / New Year period, so I thought I would respond on his behalf. It was very generous of you to post your excellent review, despite the uncooperative weather. You were unlucky - even during the wettest times of year we usually see the sun for a few hours from time to time. I am so happy to hear they were able to make your stay a success nonetheless.

We would really like to see you back, so you can see our local attractions, and depart with the much sought after tan next time! In appreciation for your great attitude, kind words and business I would like to offer you a complementary night with a two night paid reservation - just let Dyllan know when you will be returning.

All the best,

Vince Roes (owner), on behalf of Dyllan, Darion and the whole team at Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Popa
12.1 mi away
Hotel Palma Royale
Hotel Palma Royale
#3 of 13 in Bocas Town
438 reviews
12.1 mi away
Tropical Suites Hotel
Tropical Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bocas Town
570 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Toro
Hotel Bocas del Toro
#2 of 13 in Bocas Town
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Bocas Ridge Hotel
Bocas Ridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Almirante
55 reviews
12.1 mi away
Buccaneer Resort
Buccaneer Resort
#2 of 2 in Carenero Island
126 reviews
12.3 mi away
Swan's Cay Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bocas Town
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popa Paradise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Paradise Beach Resort

Address: Punta Laurel | Bocas del Toro, Isla Popa, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Isla Popa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Popa
Price Range: $141 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Popa Paradise Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popa Paradise is an Adults-Only (18+) beach hotel located on a stunning island called Isla Popa in the Bocas del Toro archipelago, off the Panamanian coast in the Caribbean Sea. We are located about 30 minutes away from Bocas del Toro by boat. Stay with us for an unforgettable vacation where you can relax, snorkel in beautiful clear water and visit the amazing outer islands. Our chef creates a spectacular, tasty, unique and healthy menu and can cater to vegetarians and vegans, which is all included in our all inclusive rate. We have a large range of activities and excursions from diving, fishing, zip lines to the spectacular Zapatilla islands marine park or simply relax by our swimming pool and enjoy a Popa Paradise cocktail at our swim up bar, enjoy a massage in the spa or take a walk on one of our stunning beaches. Our new beach bar and restaurant "Rosie's" is great for cool drinks on the beach all day and at night beach BBQs, bonfires, and occasionally live music under the stars. Our dedicated team of professionals will take care of your every need and ensure you have a memorable stay at our boutique resort. We look forward to meeting you at Popa Paradise - barefoot luxury! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Popa Paradise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Paradise Beach Hotel Isla Popa
Popa Paradise Beach Isla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing