We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Owners, Rude Staff! Cheaters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ally Pally Guest House
Ranked #11 of 33 Vagator B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap Owners, Rude Staff! Cheaters!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a pathetic place to stay....The owners are are cheaters to say the least.... Just to give some examples .... The day we checked into the hotel we ordered some food...The chicken was stale and the quantity was not even enough to feed a rat...let alone some hungry guys after a tiring flight.... Second example : We had left the hotel and booked a taxi through the owners and paid the owners advance for the taxi... and a glass jar was found broken in our room ....We had left around an hour back and the jar was intact...We were on our way to airport when we received the call from this lady to pay for the jar.We told her that we dint break it... So she called the taxi driver and told him not to move the car till we 350 Rs....i mean ...common man...This was total blackmail...There are many other examples...Dont even think of staying in this place,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DipeshKaien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 weeks at Ally Pally. This is a really nice place with the kindest owners and staff. The rooms are nice and clean. Toilet as well. AC worked perfect and was quiet. TV worked perfect too.

We had a room facing the road so 2 or 3 nights we could hear dogs barking very loud but it stopped after a while so it was not a big problem.

If you like to sleep long in the morning don't stay in the room in the reception. When people wake up and starts eating breakfast the noise goes right in to the room.

Breakfast was tasty and food in general was cheap.

Best of all is how helpful and friendly everyone was. We felt like home. I recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had made a reservation for a whole week at booking. Ally Pally staff accepted the reservation but did not have an available room for the complete stay. We were not informed until we had payed the whole week. After 4 days we were kicked out to a sensibly worse hotel.

We asked for the price of the rooms and they were much cheaper than ally pally. It was dirty and unpleasant so we decided to move hotel and asked for our money back. They did not want to return our money and went completely crazy we we asked so.
It was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macarena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
2 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had I not visited Ally Pally, I wouldn't ever have believed that you don't necessarily have to stay in the most expensive places to have an amazing holiday experience!! Ally Pally is pretty close to Vagator Beach. We (my partner and I) stayed there for approximately a week in March, 2013. The room was decent. The service of the staff was excellent. They were extremely helpful and always had a smile. Mr Rudolph helped us rent a car for driving, which we used for the most part of our stay. The food was the very good at an affordable price (which we realized was better than most of the eateries which were overpriced with mediocre quality food). Most of the early mornings we would head to Vagator or some beach even further north which had very few people and enjoy ourselves till noon. Goa remains a very pleasant memory and Ally Pally was an integral part of it. Highly Recommended :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasturi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located near the beach, this is a nice place to stay. There is a good restaurant next to it, called Mango Tree. The Guest House has quite nice rooms, but its a little overpriced. Mr. Rudolph, the owner of the Guest House, is a nice, welcoming person. He prepares really good breakfast. Its a good place if You want to stay in Vagator!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed from13th August to 17th August 2013. The stay was great right through. The hospitality of Mr. Rudolph is something to be experienced. A very helpful and unassuming person. The food was very good and it was presented in a very good way.

The only hitch was that the bedsheets and pillow covers were not changed everyday. Of course there was ashortage of staff at the time of visit. Hope it will be taken care of now. Me and my wife found the stay a great experience. Will surely go back if occasion comes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOESYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ally Pally guesthouse was by far the best place my husband and I stayed during our 2 month trip in India. Rudolph and his team were so accommodating, especially seeing as I had a broken ankle at the time of our stay, they went out of their way to make us feel at home, the food and the service was excellent... Plus you can enjoy all the luxuries that you might have been missing whilst travelling through India, i.e. hot water showers, wireless, TV etc, and although we were there out of season, this was all at a very competitive price! Don't miss it :)

Room Tip: As you enter the corner room on the left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vagator hotels
0.3 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#2 of 14 in Vagator
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Leoney Resort
The Grand Leoney Resort
#8 of 14 in Vagator
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
YoYoGoa, The Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coco's Resort Goa
Coco's Resort Goa
#24 of 33 in Vagator
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Vagator
Casa Vagator
#4 of 14 in Vagator
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow House
Yellow House
#17 of 33 in Vagator
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ally Pally Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ally Pally Guest House

Property: Ally Pally Guest House
Address: Vagator Beach Road, Vagator 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Vagator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Vagator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Ally Pally Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ally Pally is a well maintained, clean beach resort situated within 5 minute walk from Vagator beach having accommodation of a total of 11 rooms set around a courtyard and categorised as Deluxe, Superior and Standard rooms offers good options for a single traveller or for a family on holiday in North Goa. It is centrally located, about 100 mtrs. from the beach on main vagator beach road. One should stay for peaceful and yet in a happening ambience with very personalized service. A prominent landmark is the popular pub and restaurant "Mango Tree". Ally Pally Beach Resort at Vagator with in a short period of time has earned excellent reviews for having a warm and friendly management, excellent service, clean and well maintained rooms. Ally Pally is "Home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ally Pally Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ally Pally Guest House Goa/Vagator

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing