We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They will take you from behind”
Review of Julie Jolly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vagator
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julie Jolly
Ranked #13 of 37 Vagator B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Theese guys seems sweet and welcoming, and they are, until you have made your payment.
As soon as the money is in their hands, they woun't give you any service.

Besides that, the service in general is more than Terrible, but terrible was the lowest ranking we could give on tripadvisor.com.

Worst experience ever, can not in any means be recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zerdest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

initially shown a nice room. on arrival the room was dirty and smelly, we were moved to the changing room , and this is where we stayed for our two weeks stay , we asked to be moved to a proper room to be told there were none. the room was by the pool which sounds nice but the sound travels right through them. some guests were parting until 5 am sounded like they were in our room. the staff were hit and miss for friendliness... room was pretty dirty , the mossi net around the bed i took off as it was filthy. its a shame but we wouldnt stay here again

Room Tip: dont have a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanne1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I like it! Just thinkin' about place, time and space - for me and my wife it was a great spirit to hang on. Maybe it's not so good for those who expected to have european stars hotel for price they paid here for guest house. Unfortunately for them, Goa is not a Europe, this is something almost different. From the first sight the hotel looks maybe not so great, but thinkin' of things 'round - you have everything you may need. Additional pleasure comes from Goa spirit, of course))
If you have any doubt about the service, just think about where you are! Rooms are not so big, but you won't need any bigger than this, you'll find it after first day or two... If you want your room to be cleaned, just say it to a staff, because they won't do it if you don't ask. Staff is very friendly, just call 'em "my friend" and they will be there to bring you everything you want. Lester, the Manager, is a very positive man, you'll definitely like him!
Only one thing you have to remember staying in Goa: if your mind is negative, you'll met troubles everywhere... Be happy and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artem_405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here with family on a three bed room for 2 nights in October '12. Room and toilet were clean. Bed linen was ok, but towels in toilet were not that good. Some real cheap stuff was provided there. No house keeping done on second day. Staff was very friendly and informative about the surroundings. They guided us to some very good and value for money eateries near hotel. Overall it was an okay experience as we were just looking for a place to sleep and on that count, this hotel was good enough for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a difficult review to write as the Julie Jolly was a beautiful hotel but some things just ruined our very short stay here.

We treated ourself to a poolside room which was well equipped and absolutely squeaky clean! The pool was great, really clean and the surroundings were nice and peaceful.  The free wifi was a bonus and some of the staff were really friendly.

It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach and restaurants. 

What let The Julie Jolly down was the reception staff, they weren't very friendly and didn't seem that enthusiastic about helping you figure out the area. We had to pay one night up front and the next morning the lady from reception was at our door at about 0930 asking if we were staying another night as we'd only paid one night, they then asked for payment again later that day. Every hotel I have ever stayed in takes payment on checkout and so we found this a bit irritating, especially having already paid one night up front and a 1000Rs key deposit. 

Second annoyance was the carry on with the taxi. We asked the reception to book us a cab to take us onto our next hotel in Anjuna (about 2.5 Km away). When we went to settle our bill they had put 250Rs on the bill to pay for the taxi. We asked them to take this off as we felt it was way above average for the distance so we'd pay the driver directly. Then they said that we had to pay extra for an air conditioned car, again we said we were happy to go without air conditioning for what was likely to be a 10 minute drive. 

When the cab finally arrives we see there is a pricing note on the dashboard saying fares will be 18Rs per kilometre and 10Rs each for the bags. Once the driver found out we wouldn't be paying the 250 the hotel had promised (or whatever cut the hotel had promised to give him) he drove off. We then had a massive argument over pricing with another driver (again called by the hotel) who insisted 'tourists don't get the dashboard prices'! 

I think the Julie Jolly should be thinking more about their customers and less about the cab drivers when it comes to booking taxis! 

Overall this is a nice place to stay but I think they could work on their customer service skills. 

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed one night in this resort ; we book a very clean room just near the swimming pool
in february ; we found the room very spacious, little entrance, big room and big bathroom
tv, fridge,
price was good 1700 roupies but staff and owner not friendly ;
the only problem was some couples from east of europe in holidays in the rooms next to ours stayed all night long talking and laughing so we could not sleep...
when we explained the manager as we were leaving, he said he knew but he couldn't do anything ...!!!
the resort is not in center , your need to walk 10-15 minutes but because this situation, very quiet...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SIQUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I would definitely stay here again. i loved the location, the rooms are at a great price. All the rooms were clean, friendly helpful staff.

Food was pretty average, which is fine cos there are enough restaurants in the neighborhood.

The basic rooms are very basic, but good enough. If you can upgrade, their bigger rooms are perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasundara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vagator hotels
0 mi away
Leoney Resort
Leoney Resort
#7 of 13 in Vagator
242 reviews
0 mi away
Cochichos Resort
Cochichos Resort
#3 of 37 in Vagator
208 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Vagator
Casa Vagator
#4 of 13 in Vagator
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
JUNGLE by thehostelcrowd
0 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#3 of 13 in Vagator
338 reviews
0 mi away
Jacks Resort
Jacks Resort
#2 of 13 in Vagator
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julie Jolly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julie Jolly

Address: Anjuna, Vagator 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Vagator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Vagator
Price Range: $24 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Julie Jolly 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Julie Jolly Goa/Vagator

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing