We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another side of goa”
Review of Casa Vagator

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Vagator
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vagator
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Another side of goa”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We went there for a couple of days.. really nice place.. well made.. excellent restaurant view.. Food was ok.. I would rather eat out but the stay was comfortable. . The best part was the staff they were extremely helpful and very sweet

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mandeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    78
    23
    19
    13
See reviews for
48
83
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The place was great. Has a decently sized pool in case you don't enjoy sea water. A deck overlooking the sea for your meals. Sun deck. Room services. Decent rooms with a patio. All in all a nice trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the cliff overlooking the sea. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had booked a room two days before my travel and checked in early morning. First shocker was on its way, the room was not reserved in my name due to miscommunication between staff members. Then I was allotted a room at 11am which was horrible. No sunlight, mosquitoes everywhere, TV was not working, no drinking water in room, on top of it they had provided us torn towels. We had requested for the better room but the person at reception, who never smiles, told me that there is no room available apart from the one which was given to us, though the next room which had better view and sunlight was not occupied on that day and next day too. One thing which irritates is nobody picks up your call whether it is a reception or room service. After experiencing the horrible stay I checked out the next morning. Overall, I would say big no to this hotel. Its waste of money, go for hotels next to it. Not even worth of 3k in Goa.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SK1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSales, Front Office Manager at Casa Vagator, responded to this review, August 30, 2016
Dear Sk,

We thank you for having written such an honest and detailed review and regret that you had such a bad time.

The issues mentioned by you were well documented and part of a Group wide revamp of services and amenities at the beginning of the years. A recent glance at our reviews will show an upsurge in our popularity and your review was definitely part of it.

Our rates are also competitive and adjusted keeping in mind the value of Vagator and I'm sure the next time you will find it a more pleasant and worthwhile experience. We thank you for your comments and look forward to having you over and giving us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Casa Vagator for our first wedding anniversary and it was an unforgettable experience for us. I and my husband both are nature and beach lovers and could not ask for more. The moment we entered, there was lush greenery all over and the staff gave us a very harm welcome. All the check in formalities went smooth and soon we are shown our room. The room was spacious, well maintained, clean and smelled refreshing. We were damn tired after a long journey but all are tiredness vanished in seconds when we saw the beach and the best part was there was a private access directly from the hotel to the beach. The location is awesome, peaceful and the property is very well maintained. Enjoyed every moment in Casa Vagator. Guys, thanks a lot for making our stay an unforgettable experience. Look forward to visit you soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smita_Sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Hotel is actually worthy of being called a "home". The meticulous greenery and nice pools keep on pulling you towards outdoors and the unobstructed view of the ocean with palm trees swaying and waves hitting the rocks and the shore almost bind you to the green lawns. The kitchen next to the lawn gets the food almost straight from the pan to the table.
The courteous and helpful staff suggested and organised a romantic candle lit dinner on the sea view deck. The magical setting of the dinner made it a lifetime memory for us. The spacious first floor room had glass walls and doors on two sides with a view of the ocean both sides.
If we did not feel like moving then the breakfast was served to us in the balcony of our room.
The food menu could have been more elaborate to provide a greater choice.
Surely a place which deserves repeated stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manieshsondhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

..that a property with such potential given its stunning location has really done absolutely nothing about it. The rooms too have the potential to be great with some effort on the managements part. Unfortunately when we arrived at Casa Vagator our room was musty and did not feel clean, bathroom was dirty. Then it came to sleeping, we returned to our room after dinner and there was no water. The AC did not work throughout the night. All in all a disappointing experience. The staff were good about it the next day when it came to checking out however I can't say I will be returning ever again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh G, Marketing Associate at Casa Vagator, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Many thanks for your review and we have taken note of your comments. Please see below.
a) As per our records , we do not have any feedback about the room being unclean or musty from our housekeeping manager's checklist, nor was there any mention in the Guest Comments Book.
b) There was a slight water problem due to non-supply from the municipal pipeline on the night of 14th Dec 2013 & we had provided water the next morning by 6 am. As I do not know of your date of stay, I would be unable to comment, if this was indeed the source of the problem.
c) We also have no mention or complaint of AC non working, since last 2 months as all the ACs are relatively new. There is a mains switch for the AC inside/outside the room, which needs to be switched on for the AC to work. It is is switched on by housekeeping or guest on check in. If this was on and the AC did not work, then we should have got a complaint from the staff immediately . The check in staff always switch on the AC and keep it at required setting for guest. It is part of the check-in procedure. Casa Vagator has a full night maintenance staff including an AC technician 24 hrs, but no complaint was noted in our records.
d) We are sure you will get a better experience, especially in our new category 1 rooms. Please do try us again. Write to us on our email for a special offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

If we could award half stars I would give this place a 3 and a half instead of a 4. What makes this place stand out is its location. It is situated right above the beach in a setting that is just magical. You have breakfast in an outdoor restaurant that has an unobstructed view of the ocean. You eat your eggs watching the waves roll in, and ships leaving the Goan coast in the far distance. The grounds of Casa Vagator are impeccably landscaped--not a speck of dirt around. Same with the two swimming pools (during our stay, I was the only one swimming laps). What then is not to like? There are odd things about the place. When we went into our room, we found a made bed, but a pillow with no pillowcase on it. When I told the staff, they said, "It's a new pillow." Really? So you want all your guests' discharges from the mouth and the nose to go directly on the pillow? It was peculiar that I had to make my case for obtaining something essential to basic hygiene in the hotel industry. Similarly, I wanted a little extra security and looked for the safe in the room--something you would expect of a place of this caliber (I really don't feel comfortable putting passports in a drawer). No safe. But you can order one from the reception, for 50 rupees a day. They brought an old clunky 1930 type safe hardly worth 50 rupees. A room safe in a high class resort like this should be standard. Similarly, when we asked for beach towels, they wanted a 500 rupee deposit. Why not ask for an imprint of guests' credit card at the time of check in, and if they steal the towel charge them? They have a small gym that needed some TLC and a basic set of weights, in addition to the two running machines. Finally, hot water was an issue in the bathroom, as were tiny issues -- like a sink faucet that was a bit loose and an unsightly crack in the basin. All in all, however, these things were minor compared to the setting. (And may I add that the service at breakfast was superb-- the waiter was friendly, attentive and just a pleasure to interact with). In summary, if you want to simply chill out in Goa, in a place close to but separate from all the activity on the beach, if you want to sip French press coffee (what a nice touch!) and look out at the turquoise expanse of the ocean and hear the rhythmic ebb and flow of the waves, then you can't top this place in Vagator. Truly, the location of Casa Vagator is magical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagator
0.4 mi away
W Goa
W Goa
#3 of 14 in Vagator
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#1 of 14 in Vagator
320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Baga
Casa Baga
#15 of 24 in Baga
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Jacks Resort
Jacks Resort
#2 of 14 in Vagator
57 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vagator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vagator

Property: Casa Vagator
Address: House No. 594/4, Vozran | Vagator Cliff, Vagator 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Vagator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vagator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Vagator 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagator was named one of the Sunburn Chronicle's 10 most beautiful beaches in the world. Get a ringside view of this achingly beautiful vista from the cliff overlooking the sands. The jaw-dropping bluffs over the beach have been enticing Goa's hip visitors over the decades. Unable to get enough, Vagator is continues to be the hotbed of the best spots in Goa, and Casa Vagator is the coolest of them all. In its stylish, sophisticated demeanor, it straddles fusion architecture from modern through traditional South-East Asian with ease. Pretty cane chairs and low tables offer a lounge-effect, breakfast tables outside villas take one down cobbled European streets and the thatched roofs give off telling signs of Asian influence. The Resort is home to two Pools,a Business center, three decks overlooking the Vagator beach including the resteraunt/Bar, a Gymnasium and two massage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Vagator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vagator Hotel Vagator
Casa Vagator Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing