We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWSUMMMMMMMMMMMMM”
Review of Casa Vagator

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Vagator
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Vagator
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was there in casa vagator on 10th of august 2012......i was with my friends and we were two couples......all i have to say about thid property is awsum views.....awsum rooms......awsum staff ready at ur doorstep to assist u wenevr u need them.......unfortunately the deck and restaurant at the top was closed cos of the off season.....but it i didnt feel the need for dat....food was goos too.kinda homely experince and people who like secluded properties and places away from the noisy streets and routine noisy places......next to the most happening pub "9 Bar",which is another plus point of this property....Staff - Jyoti,akash,johnny, and arya.....hats off guys....thanks for everything......I JUST LOOOOOOVED IT.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Reception Area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalmehtarajkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We came to Casa Vagator for a family trip. There were 12 of us all together. This place really lives up to to its title as a boutique hotel, but in addition also offers excellent customer service. There was nothing they would not do for us & trust me we are a demanding lot. So from me and my family a great big thumbs up to the Casa Vagator, Goa, India.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KavitaPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Casa Vagatore, along with some friends, and at the end of the trip, I was left with mixed feelings.

The property is cute, clean and comfortable - no question about that. But the penthouse room we booked was hugely over-estimated. It was smaller than expected, and the "3 balconies" were more like one balcony and 2 tiny areas which would just about hold a grown person. The weather was lovely though and at night if we left the doors open we got a lovely breeze.

The decor of the room was odd though - someone has obviously tried to make an effort but really missed.

The music from the club next door did NOT end at 10pm - intact the first night there it went on all night. If it was just from 4-10pm as we were lead to believe it wouldn't be too bad, but this is an exaggeration as there were no fixed times that we noticed.

However worse than the music, was the construction work that was going on at the hotel. Every morning began with a battle between me and the reception, repeatedly asking them to instruct workers to not shout outside my window. And even worse than the workers was an annoying woman who was yelling instructions to everyone and talking at the top of her voice. Shocking that management would behave like this and not realize that sound carries. And worse still that they would not inform us ahead of time of the work going on at the property.

That said, the food was good (albeit slow), the staff were EXCELLENT, and the property itself is wonderful as it is on a cliff above the beach. Our friends rooms (cheaper than our penthouse) were very nice and their showers worked way better than ours. There were rodents scurrying around at night though and this is something that the management needs to look at.

In a nutshell, the location is great, staff are great, but the property is badly managed, and I have no idea how they are going to handle the excess of guests once the new rooms are ready.

I work with hotels and see great potential here but someone who knows what they are doing needs to spend a few months turning this place into what it could be. It really won't take much, just some genuine care.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms facing the pool are nice. The penthouse is ok - but tacky decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I was a die hard Casa fan having stayed with them In Anjuna and Baga a few times.It was always difficult making a reservation and somehow you always had to be persistent but after that the hotel ensured you had a good stay.Casa Vagator was an anomaly to that rule! From the minute we got there.The staff was slow and lazy and not even a tuned to the basics.We wound up opening the main gate of the hotel several times on our own because we couldn't find anybody and carrying our luggage on our own and what was surprising was that they told us to do it not even volunteering to help.In the night the light went at the hotel and no one was there to turn on the generator .We spent one hour running around looking for someone to help.Even in the day if you requested for any assistance rest assure it wouldn't come.I saw the owner of the hotel on a round that day and that was probably the only time the staff was on its toes.I somehow regret not having walked up to actually tell her about our experience since maybe that would have made all the difference to bringing about change at this hotel.It has a fantastic view and you can't get a better breakfast location overlooking the Sea.But would i ever book this hotel again to stay.Definitely not.The rooms were also nothing to write home with basic cleanliness also lacking in parts.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666_Zara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The biggest positive about this property is its location. Its not right on the beach...but on a clif adjacent to the beach. So you can get away from the hussle bussle of the beach (which at times remind you of Varanasi) and yet enjoy the sea view. If you intend to spend time on the beach itself you can simply descend the clif and hit the beach. The staff is very friendly though the services are a little relaxed...but then you should not forget that you are in Goa...so everything is relaxed. The rooms are nice and well furnished and most of them face the pool. We were initially put up in room no 4 as suggested by this forum. We found it a little to dark (like many other rooms). So we opted to shift to room 10, just below the penthouse which had more light and a nice sit out. One BIG negative is that the restaurant at the resort opens at 7.30 am. So before this time it was not possible to get the morning tea which for me was a BIG inconvenience. So the management should provide tea coffee maker in each room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subhojitbbpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I stay here in November 2010 and we loved this little hide away gem. The club next door was not open so we had no problem with the noise. We found the service excellent however on first arrival we were very disappointed with our room, it seemed small dark and pokey and definitely not somewhere I would have been happy with for two weeks. Fortunately the hotel was not very full and we were given a choice of three different rooms, which were much more in keeping with the website photos. The staff were also permanently tidying and making improvements around the hotel. The food was also great but the restaurant down on the beach are just as good and a lot cheaper. Overall a very pleasant stay, right on the beach away from the hordes of package holiday makers.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask to be moved
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The hotel describes itself as a "boutique luxury resort" but all three words are somewhat exaggerated. "Boutique" maybe - it is a small hotel, but I'm not sure if that makes it "boutique". Luxury - certainly not. Quite adequate but three star at best. And as for "Resort" - well it has a pool and a restaurant and it is on the beach, but otherwise it's still a hotel.
It's very difficult to find. Our driver (who wasn't local) could NOT find it. It's right next door to a well known club - The Nine Bar, but even knowing that, it's STILL hard to find. There are virtually no signs and the hotel isn't even marked "Casa Vagator" outside, but trust me, if you find the club, you have found the hotel. Which brings me to my next point - it's right next door to a club! The bad news is that all through the evening hours, you will get to enjoy the beat of techno music from the club, no matter where you are in the hotel, including your room. The good news is it stops at 10:00 pm so you can get some sleep. The hotel was also adding rooms while we were there and the work went on quite late, but there was no noise at night. They were cutting tiles while we were there, which would set your teeth on edge, but I would guess the construction work is probably complete by now.

The hotel rooms are quite adequate but certainly not luxurious. The bathroom is pretty basic and there's only a small hot water heater, which you have to remember to turn on. It worked fine, but it's strictly a quick shower for one person and then the hot water runs out. The drapes in the bedroom are very thin, so you have privacy but if you need a dark room to sleep, you will be awake soon after sunrise. None of the rooms face the sea, although our room did have a balcony and you could see the horizon in the distance. Most of the rooms face the pool, but they really aren't very private. We did have a problem getting our room cleaned each day - the staff were always very willing but it seemed as though you had to keep reminding them to get things done.

The hotel has free Wifi but the router is in the reception area and most people needed to sit nearby to get it to work. We found the Wifi worked fine in our room but like Internet everywhere in India, it was very unreliable, so keep saving your work. We also had frequent power outages which would plunge the hotel into darkness in the evening. After a couple of minutes, the generator would start and the lights would come back on, but the a/c didn't work on the generator. Ten or fifteen minutes later, the power would come back, which would plunge everything into darkness again as they switched back from the generator.

The hotel restaurant serves a very adequate breakfast. All the seating is outdoors, so you may need to have the table and chairs wiped down if it's been raining or there's a heavy dew. There's a little used area of loungers right next to the restaurant with nice views of the beach and the coast (see my photo). There are so many good restaurants nearby, we never used the restaurant for dinner. The pool looked nice, but it was usually in the shade, so we never used it.

The best part about the hotel is it's location - not ON the beach but above it and with direct beach access . Vagator Beach and the other beaches nearby, which you can easily get too on foot, are probably among the better beaches in Goa, if for no other reason than they are less developed and not as crowded. There are several bars and restaurants right on the beach and the food and drink are good value. The fresh fish was especially good. You can also walk into the village and there's a good choice of restaurants there as well.

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and we did enjoy our stay. The hotel is quite adequate and it's location (apart from the noisy club) is excellent which raises our overall rating from "average" to "very good".

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalesman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vagator
0.4 mi away
W Goa
W Goa
#1 of 13 in Vagator
403 reviews
0.7 mi away
LivingRoom by Seasons
LivingRoom by Seasons
#3 of 13 in Vagator
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Naked Space Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Park Calangute Goa
The Park Calangute Goa
#7 of 125 in Calangute
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Leoney Resort
The Grand Leoney Resort
#6 of 13 in Vagator
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacks Resort
Jacks Resort
#2 of 13 in Vagator
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Vagator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Vagator

Address: House No. 594/4, Vozran | Vagator Cliff, Vagator 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Vagator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Vagator
Price Range: $117 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Vagator 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vagator was named one of the Sunburn Chronicle's 10 most beautiful beaches in the world. Get a ringside view of this achingly beautiful vista from the cliff overlooking the sands. The jaw-dropping bluffs over the beach have been enticing Goa's hip visitors over the decades. Unable to get enough, Vagator is continues to be the hotbed of the best spots in Goa, and Casa Vagator is the coolest of them all. In its stylish, sophisticated demeanor, it straddles fusion architecture from modern through traditional South-East Asian with ease. Pretty cane chairs and low tables offer a lounge-effect, breakfast tables outside villas take one down cobbled European streets and the thatched roofs give off telling signs of Asian influence. The Resort is home to two Pools,a Business center, three decks overlooking the Vagator beach including the resteraunt/Bar, a Gymnasium and two massage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Vagator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Vagator Hotel Vagator
Casa Vagator Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing