We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property Near Beach, Had memorable holidays with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
1 review
“Good Property Near Beach, Had memorable holidays with family”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I visited with my family(wife+two children) in Dec'13, initially I planned to stay 3N/4D however, my children enjoyed the stay so much that I had to extend it by another day. Hotel is walking distance from the beach, has a great swimming pool as well as a children activity center. It also has a gym, Tennis court & basket ball court. Enjoyed playing Tennis with the kit provided by hotel staff, Big lush green lawn offers you a great place to relax & have late evening stroll. Breakfast buffet spread is good, rest other meals are just ok, you may better have it outside, I preferred to go to Martinie corner, close to hotel, it serves typical Goan cusinies. Hotel staff is helpful. Overall Had a great holiday with family. Thanks Kenilworth staff to make it a memorable experience. - kamal sehgal

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms on the first floor are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamalSehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotels, Resort Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

Located in close proximity to the beach, Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa is a preferred choice among leisure travellers. We are glad to know that you and your family had a wonderful experience at our resort. It is nice to know that you liked our location, recreational facilities, dining options, and the overall ambience. Your note of appreciation for our associates will motivate them to achieve even higher standards of hospitality.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best Regards,
Vishal Khosla
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    388
    130
    49
    55
See reviews for
566
300
21
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Don't go by what you are shown on the website. The property is a huge disappointment. Service, Food, Facilities, Rooms........all compete for the worst rating possible.

I asked for a refund and am advised not possible for Vishal the General Manager does not have the authority over booking.com who only confirmed the reservation whereas I paid all the.money on arrival.....-on rates which are absolutely ridiculous.

If you plan a vacation and don't have a place to stay.don't stay at Kenilworth. Either cancel or stay in a regular branded property.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ajays2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A very enjoyable stay and got upgraded to a suite which was fantastic. Great resort, nice pool and beach.
The staff looked after us very well and the spa was excellent, value for money.
The staff in the games room helped us a lot by providing info about the hotel and the local area.

The breakfast could have been better.

I would recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotels, Resort Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to write a review about your stay at Kenilworth Resort and Spa.

We are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and you had a great time at our resort in Goa. Our associates ensure to serve guests with excellent services and we are pleased to know that they took care of you in a manner that appealed to you and that you enjoyed our Spa experience as well. We will definitely share your note of appreciation with them which will boost their morale.

We regret that the breakfast was not up to your mark and taking your feedback into consideration, we will strive to make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you again with excellent hospitality in the near future.

Best regards,
Vishal Khosla
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Usually I don't write reviews unless there's something that stood out good or bad during my stay.

Well, during check-in the front desk personnel told me that there was a compulsory Christmas dinner...so I commented on the fact that I specifically searched for that info on their website before booking and the only info I found was about a valentine's day dinner! Anyway I asked how much...she told me Rs7,500 plus taxes per person!!! What??? Are you serious? Immediately I got upset, because there's no way compulsory or not that I was going to fork out Rs22,500 plus taxes for 3 plates of food, where it was guaranteed that it wouldn't have been worth it! I've been in India 3 years...long enough to know that was a total rip off! When I told my husband he was saying maybe I didn't hear well...must've been rs.7500 for 3 persons, but when I told him the lady gave me the total then he agreed it was ridiculously expensive! For a few persons we interacted with, the cost was a part of their package, there were others who definitely said they were not going!

Thank God for Zeebop Restaurant...we had a lovely spread of seafood, very tasty that cost us far less than what it would've cost us if we had Christmas dinner at the hotel. We heard from guests who went that it wasn't worth it, nothing special and that there were a few empty tables. In fact we saw guests from the hotel, including a large group from the hotel at Zeebop and we had a jolly good time eating and dancing!!!

Besides this, the hotel doesn't cater to families with babies in strollers/prams or disabled in wheelchairs. I figured with a room on the ground floor (same as the lobby) that we'd easily get around with our baby in the stroller, especially when he's sleeping, since there's no elevator in the hotel. To my surprise there was no escaping the stairs to get to the restaurant for buffet breakfast, which was one level below the lobby!!! What were they thinking??? We always had to take out the baby, disturb his sleep, and ask for help with the heavy travel system to get it down to the restaurant! Quite an inconvenience!

On the plus side, the property was nice, well kept, nicely decorated for Christmas. In fact, we felt that most of the charges for their Christmas dinner probably went to the special decoration they did just for the dinner. The property extends to the beach but from the room/pool to the beach is about 5-7mins walk on the property. I'm from the Caribbean, so the beach was nothing to rave about, lots of sand though which was clean for Indian standards. Lovely pool sectioned for adults and kids, my 5 year old son enjoyed the pool so much, he had a grand time with his friends! There's a playground for kids by the pool, which is rare to find in hotels in India.

The deluxe garden room was ok, poor view though, but that wasn't a bother for us. I liked the fact that the balcony had hinged windows that we left open during the day to let the sun in. We booked two rooms, one faced a bush 162, while the other had a partial view of the restaurant porch 163. The mini bar stock was ok and while there's a surcharge on the MRP on each product, the price wasn't as 'thru the roof' like some other hotels in India. We saw a few teenaged roaches in our room and had to kill one on the mini bar! I was taken a back by it because I prepared my baby's milk there. Bring your own teacup! I never usually drink from the cups and glasses provided in the room because I know they are not cleaned properly. I ended up with a headache and couldn't help mixing a cup of tea in the room. The next day during room cleaning the guy just used a hand towel and wash out the cup in the bathroom sink with water. The cup remained the same with months of tea and coffee stain! But that's apparently standard housekeeping wherever you go.

Everything else was just so-so or just ok. 3 nights was enough!

Room Tip: There's no lift and no room is even partially beach view. Maybe first floor rooms have some view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yardiebarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotels, Resort Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa and for sharing your experience on the TripAdvisor. We are disappointed that your stay at our resort was less than perfect. We have shared your feedback with our associates and this will help them in improving service standards. Our resort follows 5 star hospitality standards and the services are priced accordingly.

Your concerns about the rooms have been taken into consideration and the concerned departments have been notified about it. Your experience with us is certainly not the norm but an aberration in our otherwise impeccable service delivery. We hope that this one off incident will not deter you from giving us an opportunity to host you again when travel brings you to Goa.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,
Vishal Khosla
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

About 20 min drive from airport. Staff needs to be trained. They have excellent pool and private beach. The beach location is superb. Food is very delicious. We enjoyed the indian food you will find the great taste. Soham spa is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotels, Resort Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor. It is great to know that your stay with us was enjoyable and hospitable.

The proximity of resort to the beach makes it an ideal location preferred by the leisure traveller. We are glad that you enjoyed the Indian food served to you at our resort and would like to inform you that we also serve a host of other cuisines for your dining pleasure. Our Spa offers a lavish menu of varied services to suit each of our guest’s needs and we are glad that you found them excellent. We have informed our associates about your views and this will help them in improving the service offerings.

We thank you once again for staying with us and look forward to providing you with enriching experience.

Best Regards,
Vishal Khosla
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Here now for Christmas. So are the builders. They start cutting concrete at 7am, and don't stop all day. They are right outside our room. It isn't 'noise', it is utter torture.

Meanwhile, food is very average, saw the chef at lunch, licking his fingers, and then mixing an egg with the same hand moments later. Hygiene is disgusting. Food quality dodgy even for India.

There is no foreign exchange for travellers cheques, unless you want to go 12 miles away, which doesn't help if you don't have local cash for a cab. Mildly annoying and not what one expects in a serious hotel. Seemed like the manager didn't want to be bothered.

Overall, it is not worth the money they are charging at nearly £240 accom a night for two, plus London prices for everything after that.

Staff don't care about gripes, as not surprising, most cannot converse in the Queens.

Beach is ok, pool and grounds ok, service is attentive. In general it's fine, but not 5 star, not worth the money, and you'd not put up with having concrete cutters outside your window, so this review will be discoloured because of that.... But lucky you, I have to endure this massive disappointment for another 3 days.

Not happy, will not recommend unless I don't like the person.

Room Tip: Ask them if they can recommend another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MBrennan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotels, Resort Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you stayed at our resort in Goa and shared your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that our location and recreational facilities met your expectations.

At the outset, we regret that you had to face inconvenience during the first few days of your stay. Taking your advice, we had immediately stopped the ongoing construction work. Our Front Office Manager personally apologized and ensured that the remaining days of your stay at our resort were pleasant. We strive to offer the best of hospitality to our guests & are disappointed to note your less than perfect stay experience with us.

Further, we have noted your concerns regarding the maintenance of hygiene and will ensure that necessary measures are taken at the earliest. We have also taken your advice about money exchange facility at our resort.

Having said that, we hope to secure another opportunity of serving you with our amended services in the near future to offer you a perfect stay experience.

Best Regards,
Vishal Khosla
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had planned school reunion after 25 years there from 19-22nd Dec 2013. The property is excellent and has amneties for all ages. It's alomst beach touching. It was a great experience for all ages and genders. Food was awesome, pools are well maintained, staffs were very helpful, rooms are spacious & clean. Kids activity center is good to keep the kids engaged. They also arranged a good bonfire near the beach.
Overall it was a great fun being there and great value for money..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishiagarwal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenilworthHotels, Resort Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Goa and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a fun-filled stay at our resort and you found our services matching your expectations. At Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa we constantly endeavor towards making your stay a memorable one and your kind words are a testimony to the fact that we are moving in the right direction.

We thank you again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Vishal Khosla
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,524 reviews
7.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,248 reviews
9.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,221 reviews
5.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Property: Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Address: | PO Marjorda, Utorda 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenilworth Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat surrounded by the pristine beaches and exotic tropical beauty that Goa - the land of sun, sea and sand - is known for. The rooms of this 5-star property are beautifully designed to reflect the by-gone Portuguese era. Tradition seamlessly blends in with all the comforts of modern day luxury to make for a highly relaxing and comfortable stay. Step out on to a private balcony over-looking the Arabian Sea and the beautifully landscaped swimming pool. With impeccable service standards, water sport activities and luxurious spa treatments, The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is a delight for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kenilworth Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Kenilworth Resort And Spa, Goa
Kenilworth Beach Hotel
Kenilworth Beach Salcette
Kenilworth Beach Resort Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa/Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing