We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to stay in Goa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places to stay in Goa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been visiting Kenilworth since last 4 years and have stayed there for 3 times. I can say that it is one of the best places in South goat to spend your vacation. The resort is grand having 2-3 different swimming pools which are large. It has a huge well maintained garden and the best part of the resort, it is located right on the beach. Just step out of the resort, and you are on a peaceful, isolated beach !

The staff is very very courteous and are always on their toes to help you out. The restaurant is good however, the food is not spicy and suitable for foreigners as I could see a lot of foreigners visit Kenilworth resort. However, when we expressed our desire to taste some of the signature dishes of goa like Fish curry, Chicken xacuti, the chief chef was very happy to include those in menu, if not, serve it on table! The taste was great...!!

There are couple of shacks on the beach, which are just outside Kenilworth. If you are bored to taste hotel buffet and would like to try something local dishes, you may visit the shacks.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms facing the garden. some of the rooms which are facing back side of resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMaster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the kind words of appreciation and for reviewing our property here on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope to be the resort of your choice every time you visit Goa. It is our belief that the fond memories of your past experience with us inspired you all the more to consider Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa time and again as one of the best holiday destinations in south Goa.

At Kenilworth Resort & Spa, the entire staff works hard to ensure hospitality of high standards and to make every guest feel at home.

Thank you once again for continued patronage over the years. We look forward to welcoming you on all your future visits to Goa.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    364
    121
    46
    53
See reviews for
516
287
19
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The service at this hotel was absolutely commendable. We had gone there in a group with about 15 couples with children. The hotel went out of their way to accommodate our food preferences especially when it came to the children. The food was decent, nothing amazing buit they really tried their best to take care. The rooms were nice and spacious, only letdown was that they were a bit run down. The tiles in the bathrooms were cracked and walls little yellowish but that was a very minor thing.
We loved their pool and spent most of our time there, even the beach was nice and clean. Not any activities in the beach but we were there in July peak of the monsoon season so that may have been the reason.
We had a lovely 2 days holiday and everyone left very happy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nehups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your review. We sincerely appreciate you taking time out to tell us about the experience of your entire group at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa. It is nice to know that the little courtesies of our staff could claim your consideration and liking. In fact, extending our attention to the requests of our guests and fulfilling their requests is our first priority. We are glad that our location and facilities were able to meet your expectations.

However, we would like to apologize for the condition of the tiles in your bathroom. Be rest assured that the issue will be addressed on serious terms. We cannot thank you enough for bringing your experience to our attention. We hope you will visit us again and bless us with another opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in January 2013 for two nights. The Room service and house keeping staff try and accommodate all your requirements. Cannot say the same for all the staff members at the restaurant 'Portofino'. A "few" of them were so much in awe of the foreigners that it was difficult to get service at times.
There is a nice bar located near the lobby itself. Manned by very friendly and knowledgeable staff.
The spa was excellent. The food was good too. Breakfast could have been a bit better. If one were on a tighter budget and did not want to spend on the more expensive hotels further south this could be an ideal option.
The location is quite nice. Took us 20 minutes by car to reach the hotel from the airport. Martin's is located a few Kms away.
The beach is quite nice and has a few shacks which are quite busy. Last but not least, be aware of the mosquitoes. Quite surprisingly, it has become a menace in some parts of Goa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the privilege of hosting you during your visit to Goa. We have gone through your review and are delighted to learn that you loved most of the facilities at our resort. Although there are many accommodations options in Goa, we believe that Kenilworth Resort & Spa has its own unique appeal in terms of hospitality and efficiency. Nevertheless, we took note of your concerns regarding customer services and breakfast. We would want to assure you that the management at Kenilworth resort & Spa will take appropriate steps to enhance the level of service, wherever applicable.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Kenilworth Resort & Spa. Your kind consideration will only give us another chance to strengthen your faith in our quality of service.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The resort has excellent outdoors with easy access to the beach. The swimming pool is one of the best that I have seen till date. The rooms offer no frills, but are comfortable and up to date. Depending on the time of the year, one can get great rates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gomv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Kenilworth Resort and Spa is one of the premiere five-star resorts in Goa offering a host amenities and personalized service. Spell-bounding locales and entertainment amenities are another reason why guests flock to our resort. Speaking of amenities, we are pleased to know that our swimming pool and rooms caught your attention. Your review inspires us to work with all the more zeal, and go the extra mile. Once again, thank you for the feedback and hope to welcome you again at our property.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the resort from 23rd to 26th of December with my Mom and Dad.This was my 4th trip and rather my best trip to Goa. We reached the hotel around 12:30 and still they provided us a room before check in time. The staff was extremely courteous. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The Bathrooms were well maintained and clean, The best part however was the food and Pool. The Buffet food had food for all people and with the evening music performance the food experience only turned better. The freshly baked oven Pizza's are something not worth missing at this hotel. The Pool and Outdoor Jacuzzi were also well maintained and cleaned time to time. The only disadvantage of This hotel is the Beach. It is quite far from the rooms but nevertheless the walk from the rooms to beach is within the hotel which is a great.
Thus overall We all had a excellent and great trip and stay at Goa.

Akshay Hariharan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkshayHariharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are a 5-star resort in Goa and are a stone’s throw away from the beach. Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa is a perfect place to unwind and relax with a wide spectrum of facilities available including the pool and outdoor Jacuzzi; it is a pleasure to note that you found the recreational avenues at the property worth mentioning. Our associates are inspired to receive your comments about the wide spread buffet and express their gratitude for your kind custom.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our product and services and your review testifies us being on the right track. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Goa.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here with my parents(both above 70) and my sister from the 20th to the 30th of December 2012. Overall we had a lovely stay - made special by the staff(except some at the reception) and the location.

We booked our Bed and Breakfast package by directly speaking with Ketan from the hotel. He was professional and offered us a good deal for 8 days(which we later extended to 10). I requested for interconnected rooms with some special arrangements for my mother who has arthritis. I was pleasantly surprised that these were wholly arranged for when we arrived. The hotel is not a high rise and is designed keeping in mind the needs of the elderly and the differently abled.

Upon arrival at the airport we were greeted warmly by Kenilworth staff and taken to the hotel in an air-conditioned taxi. The rooms were spacious, well appointed. However, one of the bathrooms had a terrible smell, however, this was attended to promptly.

The hotel is located in south goa and is away from most of the noisy, crowded beaches of the north. The beach is just outside the hotel and is lovely with white sands. The water is not rough and ideal for swimming. The beach also has water sports facilities like para gliding, jet skiing, etc.

Facilities at the hotel that we really enjoyed were the swimming pool and Tennis. Since both my sister and I had played a lot of tennis when we were younger, we really enjoyed our time at the well managed synthetic court. Rashaad, the in-house pro was always willing to accompany us to the court and took good care of us.

The breakfast and the food quality were good throughout our stay. Special requests were always fulfilled (these even included special food on religious occasions). I must thank the executive chef and chef Yugal for their help in this regard.

Service at the restaurant was exceptional - Waiters such as Pankaj, Julius, Mizzy were friendly, attentive and took extra effort to make our stay enjoyable. We had several chances to interact with them and never did they once stop short of delighting us. We found managers such as Rohit and Theresa very warm and friendly as well.

The only reason that this hotel did not get an excellent rating is due to the attitude of the reception staff. I had one incident where I dealt with Malcolm(the front office manager) and Josaline. I found their attitude strangely hostile. Hope they realize that they are at the reception and usually the first to interact with the guests.

Some suggestions to visitors -
- The resort has excellent facilities for kids, elders. Overall a great family resort. It is not a party place.
- It has excellent facilities like a lovely pool with water polo, slides and a sunken bar, very nice tennis and basketball courts, indoor pool and a spa. Expect to spend a majority of your time at the resort like we did.
- Use the cycles available to bike on the beach - great experience.

Some suggestions/requests to the hotel -
- provide free internet. This shouldn't cost you much and will add to customer delight.
- keep the pool area opened till 10 PM. Its only opened till 7.
- dont charge for playing pool
- Somehow ensure that the waiters keep up the good work and the guys at the reception improve in their attitude.

Prem Arora

Room Tip: Ge rooms on the first floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PKArora_0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Arora,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable experience with us. Also, we are delighted to know that your interaction with our staff made your stay delightful. We, at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa, believe that every guest is unique and ensure that their needs are catered to at the earliest. However, we did note that your stay was punctuated by behavior of the staff at front desk. We regret the inconvenience caused and will take corrective actions as soon as possible. We assure that such incident is an occasional occurrence and would not be repeated again.

Once again, thank you for writing this review. We hope to welcome you again at our property in Goa.

Best Regards
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This wasn't my first time in this hotel. I like(ed) it just because of the nice and big swimming pool. But I will never go again. We had the airport transfer included in the package. Instead of Toyota Innova, bus was waiting for us,but an old and noisy bus with no a/c. On the way to the hotel driver stopped once,because bus couldn't ride properly. He called somebody,waited a while and we continued our unpleasant journey. I was really sick when we came to the hotel. When I told to the reception staff they were "surprised" when heard that we came by bus. I booked triple room,but they don't have triple room! We got double room with extra rollaway bed. But the extra bed wasn't in the room when we came.After my two calls,they brought the bed.I can't call that a bad .I couldn't even sit on it, so I went to the reception and told that we can't use that bed. They brought two mattresses and that was the bed . What a shame for the hotel.
-Rooms- not so clean,dust in every corner of the room, stains on the ceiling, small bugs on the wall and very bad smell all the time. I understand that there is a high humidity in Goa,but they can do something. There is no isolation, so you can hear the noise coming from the corridor or rooms nearby. The pillows are thick and uncomfortable for sleeping. The bathroom was ok and free 2 bottles a water a day.
- Restaurant- we had breakfast and dinner in the package. Both-very poor,the food and service.For the breakfast there is fruit, cereals,french toast,small pancakes,egs,butter ,marmelade, stale pastry and the rest is indian food . If you ask for the coffee(they don't ask you) you have to wait at least 10 minutes,because they have to go to the kitchen for the coffee.And finally,when you get your coffee,there is no spoon,or sugar .Always something missing. Another two minutes waiting or better to take yourself as everyone was doing. All foreign guests were taking cutlery, napkins, jams,etc from another tables.I told to Guest relations lady that she has the problem with the staff she just asked where is my table.She used to go around the tables and talk to people (most indians ,not us, foreigners). She never come again to me asking how is everything.
Dinner is very poor. Indian and only indian food. Maybe noodles are not. And that's it.There is no fruits for the dinner. Last night the waiter asked me do we want Naan (indian bread). Last two nights they didn't ask at all do we need something for drink.
-Pool- this is the only good thing in the hotel.Never crowded,the water is clean,the towels are clean and the pool staff is the only staff who work hard and are polite.Bar tender at the pool read the notes how to prepare the cocktail,so we waited and waited..
-The beach- hotel doesn't have sunbeds at the beach ; but two restaurants have their own sunbeds ,so we used them and had a drinks there with reasonable prices.
-Staff-unprofessional. We checked in with one day delay day because the airline (indian) cancelled our flight. Hotel charged us for the first night.I understand that, but they could offer something ,like 1 day extension with discounted price,or 1 free Christmas dinner; Sales reservation Manager said that he can't do anything, maybe fruit basket.
If you need relaxing holiday withouth being nervous, don't go there.
On the day of our departure, nobody greeted us or asked how was our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maldivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to host your stay at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa. We deeply regret that this time our services did not meet your expectations. Your feedback enables us to work towards the shortcomings and improve our service standards to deliver maximum satisfaction to guests.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts that give us an opportunity to serve you better. We would love to host you on your future trips and assure you of the best in hospitality at all times.

Best Regards
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
0.1 mi away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 37 in Salcette District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
16.5 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Property: Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Address: | PO Marjorda, Utorda 403713, India
Location: India > Goa > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenilworth Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat surrounded by the pristine beaches and exotic tropical beauty that Goa - the land of sun, sea and sand - is known for. The rooms of this 5-star property are beautifully designed to reflect the by-gone Portuguese era. Tradition seamlessly blends in with all the comforts of modern day luxury to make for a highly relaxing and comfortable stay. Step out on to a private balcony over-looking the Arabian Sea and the beautifully landscaped swimming pool. With impeccable service standards, water sport activities and luxurious spa treatments, The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is a delight for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kenilworth Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Kenilworth Resort And Spa, Goa
Kenilworth Beach Hotel
Kenilworth Beach Salcette
Kenilworth Beach Resort Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa/Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing