We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 10 nights in December 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here with my parents(both above 70) and my sister from the 20th to the 30th of December 2012. Overall we had a lovely stay - made special by the staff(except some at the reception) and the location.

We booked our Bed and Breakfast package by directly speaking with Ketan from the hotel. He was professional and offered us a good deal for 8 days(which we later extended to 10). I requested for interconnected rooms with some special arrangements for my mother who has arthritis. I was pleasantly surprised that these were wholly arranged for when we arrived. The hotel is not a high rise and is designed keeping in mind the needs of the elderly and the differently abled.

Upon arrival at the airport we were greeted warmly by Kenilworth staff and taken to the hotel in an air-conditioned taxi. The rooms were spacious, well appointed. However, one of the bathrooms had a terrible smell, however, this was attended to promptly.

The hotel is located in south goa and is away from most of the noisy, crowded beaches of the north. The beach is just outside the hotel and is lovely with white sands. The water is not rough and ideal for swimming. The beach also has water sports facilities like para gliding, jet skiing, etc.

Facilities at the hotel that we really enjoyed were the swimming pool and Tennis. Since both my sister and I had played a lot of tennis when we were younger, we really enjoyed our time at the well managed synthetic court. Rashaad, the in-house pro was always willing to accompany us to the court and took good care of us.

The breakfast and the food quality were good throughout our stay. Special requests were always fulfilled (these even included special food on religious occasions). I must thank the executive chef and chef Yugal for their help in this regard.

Service at the restaurant was exceptional - Waiters such as Pankaj, Julius, Mizzy were friendly, attentive and took extra effort to make our stay enjoyable. We had several chances to interact with them and never did they once stop short of delighting us. We found managers such as Rohit and Theresa very warm and friendly as well.

The only reason that this hotel did not get an excellent rating is due to the attitude of the reception staff. I had one incident where I dealt with Malcolm(the front office manager) and Josaline. I found their attitude strangely hostile. Hope they realize that they are at the reception and usually the first to interact with the guests.

Some suggestions to visitors -
- The resort has excellent facilities for kids, elders. Overall a great family resort. It is not a party place.
- It has excellent facilities like a lovely pool with water polo, slides and a sunken bar, very nice tennis and basketball courts, indoor pool and a spa. Expect to spend a majority of your time at the resort like we did.
- Use the cycles available to bike on the beach - great experience.

Some suggestions/requests to the hotel -
- provide free internet. This shouldn't cost you much and will add to customer delight.
- keep the pool area opened till 10 PM. Its only opened till 7.
- dont charge for playing pool
- Somehow ensure that the waiters keep up the good work and the guys at the reception improve in their attitude.

Prem Arora

Room Tip: Ge rooms on the first floor facing the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PKArora_0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Arora,

Thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable experience with us. Also, we are delighted to know that your interaction with our staff made your stay delightful. We, at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa, believe that every guest is unique and ensure that their needs are catered to at the earliest. However, we did note that your stay was punctuated by behavior of the staff at front desk. We regret the inconvenience caused and will take corrective actions as soon as possible. We assure that such incident is an occasional occurrence and would not be repeated again.

Once again, thank you for writing this review. We hope to welcome you again at our property in Goa.

Best Regards
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
There are newer reviews for Kenilworth Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This wasn't my first time in this hotel. I like(ed) it just because of the nice and big swimming pool. But I will never go again. We had the airport transfer included in the package. Instead of Toyota Innova, bus was waiting for us,but an old and noisy bus with no a/c. On the way to the hotel driver stopped once,because bus couldn't ride properly. He called somebody,waited a while and we continued our unpleasant journey. I was really sick when we came to the hotel. When I told to the reception staff they were "surprised" when heard that we came by bus. I booked triple room,but they don't have triple room! We got double room with extra rollaway bed. But the extra bed wasn't in the room when we came.After my two calls,they brought the bed.I can't call that a bad .I couldn't even sit on it, so I went to the reception and told that we can't use that bed. They brought two mattresses and that was the bed . What a shame for the hotel.
-Rooms- not so clean,dust in every corner of the room, stains on the ceiling, small bugs on the wall and very bad smell all the time. I understand that there is a high humidity in Goa,but they can do something. There is no isolation, so you can hear the noise coming from the corridor or rooms nearby. The pillows are thick and uncomfortable for sleeping. The bathroom was ok and free 2 bottles a water a day.
- Restaurant- we had breakfast and dinner in the package. Both-very poor,the food and service.For the breakfast there is fruit, cereals,french toast,small pancakes,egs,butter ,marmelade, stale pastry and the rest is indian food . If you ask for the coffee(they don't ask you) you have to wait at least 10 minutes,because they have to go to the kitchen for the coffee.And finally,when you get your coffee,there is no spoon,or sugar .Always something missing. Another two minutes waiting or better to take yourself as everyone was doing. All foreign guests were taking cutlery, napkins, jams,etc from another tables.I told to Guest relations lady that she has the problem with the staff she just asked where is my table.She used to go around the tables and talk to people (most indians ,not us, foreigners). She never come again to me asking how is everything.
Dinner is very poor. Indian and only indian food. Maybe noodles are not. And that's it.There is no fruits for the dinner. Last night the waiter asked me do we want Naan (indian bread). Last two nights they didn't ask at all do we need something for drink.
-Pool- this is the only good thing in the hotel.Never crowded,the water is clean,the towels are clean and the pool staff is the only staff who work hard and are polite.Bar tender at the pool read the notes how to prepare the cocktail,so we waited and waited..
-The beach- hotel doesn't have sunbeds at the beach ; but two restaurants have their own sunbeds ,so we used them and had a drinks there with reasonable prices.
-Staff-unprofessional. We checked in with one day delay day because the airline (indian) cancelled our flight. Hotel charged us for the first night.I understand that, but they could offer something ,like 1 day extension with discounted price,or 1 free Christmas dinner; Sales reservation Manager said that he can't do anything, maybe fruit basket.
If you need relaxing holiday withouth being nervous, don't go there.
On the day of our departure, nobody greeted us or asked how was our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maldivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback. It was a pleasure to host your stay at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa. We deeply regret that this time our services did not meet your expectations. Your feedback enables us to work towards the shortcomings and improve our service standards to deliver maximum satisfaction to guests.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts that give us an opportunity to serve you better. We would love to host you on your future trips and assure you of the best in hospitality at all times.

Best Regards
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent 5 days of our honeymoon there and was very pleased with the hospitality of the staff there....they were at your service in the wink of the eye!!ambience was very eye pleasing......especially the pool side was very relaxing....room service was also very nice......the food was the best thing there with a great lot of varieties...We cherished the sweets there............beach was tidy and calm away from chaos...the live programmes at night added to the charm...overall an excellent experience...loooking forward to our next trip to goa..........

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prachi346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing us as your host on your recent trip.

Our property offers various accommodation options, mouth watering delights at multi-cuisine restaurants, spa retreats and leisure activities. The perfect blend of extravaganza with comfort proves to be an ultimate sojourn for every traveler. We strive to achieve perfection at providing quality services to our patrons and work towards making their stay comfortable and relaxed.

Again we thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to accommodate you on another enchanting stay in future.

Best Regards
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just spent five nights at Kenilworth and were extremely happy to have selected it. The hotel has excelled in design, comfort, location, and usually service.

The hotel is low-rise which adds to its charm with a beautiful lawn and fabulous swimming pool with pools for all ages. A great slide was very much enjoyed by all the kids (and some of the adults). The lobby area is tastefully decorated with small alcoves to spend time in that are covered but allow the breeze to reach you.

There were many kids at the resort, and it is indeed a very family-friendly resort. Many options for kids at the hotel.

Rooms were quite spacious and very well appointed. Quality of soaps, shampoos, etc. was very good, and other incidentals were also available. The beds and bedding were also very good.

The breakfasts were excellent with made to order eggs as well as dosais. There was also a good buffet with a range of Western and Indian dishes. We all at heartily. Service in the restaurant was very friendly at all times and the waiters were generally attentive. A little bit of training in some small areas could be helpful to truly professionalize their service, but these were small issues, and we were in general very happy with our dining experience. We made a suggestion that they add a children's menu to the main dining room menu (as they do in the room service menu) and they agreed to consider that.

The beach in front of the hotel is fantastic. Clean, white sand, with easy waves. Great for swimming, building sand castles, or long walks. No over commercialization as is found in North Goa. Several beach shacks on the beach near the hotel offered cheap lunch options for those who wanted to spend their time at the beach rather than return to the hotel.

We ate at some nearby local restaurants in the evening which we very much enjoyed as well.

Almost all staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and made our stay very pleasant. A couple of staff at reception could use a little additional training as well in responding to guests inquiries, but again this did not detract from our overall experience either. Guest relations was always very helpful.

We were most pleased with our stay and would recommend it heartily to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobbNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa during your recent visit to the city. It is an immense pleasure to receive such a wonderful review about our resort. We are happy to note that your stay with us was memorable and one of a kind. The services and amenities offered at our resort are benchmarked with international hospitality standards and we are glad that you found these as per your expectations.

It is great to hear that you liked our location near Uttorda Beach, the luxurious interiors and our hospitality. Moreover, your appreciation about our well appointed living spaces, recreational avenues and service has been well received. We have made a note of you suggestion about an exclusive kids menu.

Thank you once again for the review and recommending us to the travelers from around the world.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

After spending 3 nights at The Radisson in Agra and The Shangrila Eros in Delhi we had become accustomed to 5 Star appointments and service in India. Unfortunately our eager anticipation of a similar level of performance was dashed at The Kenilworth in Goa, where the tariff was more than double the others . Our initial impression was tarnished by a lack of greeting and non existent Reception. When someone finally took us up to our room, she had to be prompted to explain the layout and point out the facilities. Although the Entrance and Lobby were appropriately appointed, our Super Deluxe room was plain, bland, dated and 3 Star at best. The water pressure in the shower fluctuates from normal to a drip. Power regularly goes off. The majority of staff do not engage or smile or greet you. A shining contradiction to this was Rohit and I offered this feedback to both the Restaurant Manager and the Guest Relations Manager. But in the 6 days we spent here, we saw no improvement. The restaurant staff lack professionalism and proficiency. Orders have to be repeated several times and to multiple staff. It's 'amateur hour' with Reception staff with constant lack of communication and ineffectiveness. A tour entitlement was confirmed by one staff member, but when we tried to book it, the Manager wanted us to produce a voucher. Comedy capers then resulted between her and two of her staff, before finally the entitlement was confirmed and the tour realised. A difficulty with an iPad SIM was not resolved by the IT manager, who didn't even know how to use an iPad!! The whole place needs a damn good shakeup with its performance reflecting very poorly on Management and a woeful deficiency in training. The positives were the gym, the pool, the grounds, breakfast was always plentiful and fresh, and an excellently produced Christmas dinner function and above all Sanjay in the Gift shop, who provided great service, great range and good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa & also for your review, which encourages us in our endeavor to continue to do better to meet the high standards all our guests have come to expect of us. It is a pleasure to note you enjoyed our recreational services and the Christmas food spread.

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your stay here in Goa. We are investigating the concerns as per your observations and assure you that corrective actions will be taken, as applicable. We value your feedback and thank you for bringing these concerns to our notice.

Once again, we thank you for choosing us. We look forward to host you on your next trip with amended services and hospitality par excellence at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is a good choice - we fell in love especially with the garden and pool area. Every night there was a programm - local singers, dancers etc - and good but slightly overpriced buffet style of dinner. I did not try the gym. Nice breakfasts - both continental and Indian food (Indian food was consumable even for foregners). Very close from the sea - sunbeds are provided by the hotel. The water was extremely warm, but not clear - we spend more time in the hotel garden in the pool area. Room was nice and clear, but definitely a little bit used - it is a general problem of the whole hotel.

Few days we were annoyed by party coming from the neighbourhood resort, but I happened just twice in a week and they closed the party around midnight.

PS: I am not very sure about the 5* rating, especially when consider the quality of the room.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the right side (if you view the hotel from the beach to the reception) - there i...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PragueTravelerCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hi Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for letting us know about your experience at our resort in Goa. Without a doubt, Kenilworth Resort &spa, Goa is an exclusive and luxurious retreat with rooms bearing traditional Portuguese décor, enhanced further by state-of-the-art amenities. In addition to this, sumptuous cuisine and prompt customer service is something which make us stand apart. Owing to the testimonies from our guests, we take pride in our superlative services.

We value your comments very much as they encourage us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect from us. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused because of the party close by. We look forward to welcoming you once again in our resort!

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Clean, quiet, great location, great pools, great bars, great food and the kids loved it. Christmas Day was fantastic with a great mix of traditional and Indian food. Good entertainment. Loved it. The service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMHHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev S, General Manager at Kenilworth Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

At the very outset, we extend our heartfelt satisfaction about the fact that you celebrated Christmas with us. Kenilworth Resort & Spa is famous for seamless accommodation and food that is stunningly tempting and satiating. Hope you had the opportunity to try some of our freshest seafood and a variety of entertainment options during the Christmas celebrations.

We appreciate the feedback from your side and will definitely pass it down to the entire Kenilworth family. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,
Rajeev Sharma
General Manager
Kenilworth Resort and Spa, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
7.8 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
24.5 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
13.2 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenilworth Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenilworth Resort & Spa

Address: | PO Marjorda, Utorda 403713, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range: $118 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kenilworth Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is the perfect place for a tranquil retreat surrounded by the pristine beaches and exotic tropical beauty that Goa - the land of sun, sea and sand - is known for. The rooms of this 5-star property are beautifully designed to reflect the by-gone Portuguese era. Tradition seamlessly blends in with all the comforts of modern day luxury to make for a highly relaxing and comfortable stay. Step out on to a private balcony over-looking the Arabian Sea and the beautifully landscaped swimming pool. With impeccable service standards, water sport activities and luxurious spa treatments, The Kenilworth Beach Resort & Spa is a delight for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kenilworth Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenilworth Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Kenilworth Resort And Spa, Goa
Kenilworth Beach Hotel
Kenilworth Beach Salcette
Kenilworth Beach Resort Goa
Kenilworth Resort & Spa Goa/Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing