We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic small hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Goa Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Utorda B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the new year period with our two older teenage boys and had a great time. The owners and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble... Ask for just about anything and they managed to obtain it for us as well as taking us to the local ATM when we needed to go. The rooms are fairly basic but with everything you really need - one had fridge and one didn't. Both our rooms had great AC as well as fans and TV. Showers had continuous hot water and the whole place is immaculately clean. We had pool/garden views and lovely balconies to sip our G&T's on in the late afternoons. The pool is small but adequate for cooling off in with plenty of sunchairs. The hotel restaurant serves excellent, well cooked food - all the food we ate there (both international and Goan) was superb. Their Goan prawn curry made with coconut was one of our favourites along with great tandoori chicken. The beach is less than 10 mins stroll away and is a small paradise with 3 good shacks to chill out at. All in all, we would highly recommend the hotel and will definitely book here when returning to Goa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank svm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

Following our 1st enjoyable stay at The Village Inn Hotel ,we decided to come back and see if it was still as good,we were not dissapointed .A new restaurant had been added ,and the food was superb,Although we enjoy the superd Goan dishes ,we settled for the tenderloin steak.It turned out to be the best steak(cooked to perfection-medium)we had eaten for a long time.
The staff are simply great and do everything possible to make your stay memorable.
We will be returning in November and look forward to seeing the owners Agnelo and Peter Diaz and all the staff again.
To sum up -a small family run hotel with well kept clean rooms and great food.
Ask for Milu(taxi) who will take you anywere in Goa at cheaper rates than those by the Park Hyett

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel which are quieter than those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dragonflymajor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We, a family of four, stayed here for four nights in the end of November and it was great! The Rooms have a good atmosphere and are very clean - I think even cleaner than ones at the Park Hyatt just next to it (!!). The hotel it self is also very nice... A beautiful garden with a small, but just big enough pool and two nice yellow-painted buildings, including a restaurant. The food at the restaurant, cooked by one of the owners, is VERY good and also cheap! The hotel is about 10 min. from the beach by foot... this can be considered a bit long, but exercise is good and if you ask they will drive you down;) Furthermore the service is exceptional! Both the owners and the others! The hotel also has its own taxi that will take you to Majorda or Colva for much less than the taxis by the Park Hyatt! All in all this hotel is a bargain for just 2500 INR a night, with a pool, clean rooms, exceptional service and great food!

We'll be coming back!

Hverven & Folkestad, Norway

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clara_hverven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I was looking for a nice and clean property for around 2.5k a night which I though should be easy at near end of the season in 2nd half of March in south of Goa. I was given a reference from some other hotel for this one which was bang on the border of village Arrosim and Utorda and almost next door to Park Hyatt resort. The owner asked for no upfront payment which was almost exceptional.

The rooms were clean and bed comfortable. Fridge and TV were new and service personal and quick. Pool was cleaned daily although I didn't take a dip in it. A smallish property but likeable nonetheless. At the time of writing this review, they did not have a credit card machine.

The beautiful beach of Utorda was around 8-10 minutes walk away. A little much for those like me who don't do much of walking back home :)

Room Tip: Non-road facing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

If you need a place to relax and get away from noisy, busy towns, you should try Utorda. At the Village Inn, we got the best and most friendly service we experienced on a 14 day roundtrip in the Goa region, for an affordable price even. It is run by a family who care about each other, and this is reflected in their care for their costumers - we felt at home. They helped us out on more than one occaision, whether it was learning how to put on a Saree or avoiding getting scammed in the airport.
The building is fairly new and has all facilities needed, and everything from kitchen to recepion to toilets is very clean. The white sandy beach is just a 5 min walk away and it is not overrun by salespeople. The hotel has a designated taxi-driver (ask for Milu), who will take you anywhere, wait for you while you are on sightseeing, pick you up from the other end of the state and keep yo good compani along the way.
We sincerely enjoyed our stay there, and would definitely stay there again if we return to Goa someday.
Best regards, Thomas and Anne Denmark
p.s your bananashakes rock!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel is pefect as a base for your trip to Goa. Is is new, clean, 10 min from airport, 10 min from beach moderate price. Friendly family owned.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anneli p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed at the Goa Village Inn Hotel in early December and was delighted with this new hotel.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and couldn,t do enough for us.
The room was aircondioned(a must) and very clean ,with a large walk in shower.The rooms overlooked the small but adequate swimming pool.
The hotel was siituated on the road leading to Majorda (5 minutes away) .Varca and Cavalossim were 30 minutes away .
The hotel was 10 minutes walk from the quite beaches of Utorda and Arosim but Agnelo(The owner) offered to take us everyday .
Agnelo was a great chef and would cook anything you fancied as well as a great range from the menu .
We travelled around in a local taxi driven by Milu (Agnelo,s uncle) and found some great restaurants- Martins Corner and Baltons were the best.
The only problem was having to come home but look forward to going back.
The rate for for the room was very cheap and great value.
Dragonfly Major

Room Tip: A room at the far side of the hotel would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dragonflymajor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
0.4 mi away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Heritage Village Resort & Spa Goa
0.9 mi away
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kenilworth Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa
0.6 mi away
Keegan Guest House
Keegan Guest House
#4 of 6 in Utorda
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goa Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goa Village Inn

Address: Fransisco Pereira, Utorda, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Utorda
Price Range: $56 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Goa Village Inn Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing