We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to spend here!”
Review of Zeebop by the Sea

Zeebop by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Utorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $120 - $6,000
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Be prepared to spend here!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We came here towards the end of the season for lunch on a Saturday in mid-May, and it was less than 1/3 full even at it's peak. Yet the waiter's seemed a bit disappointed to have us order `only' a snapper fillet (with butter-garlic sauce, Rs 320 - not cheap by Indian standards) for me, a plate of fries for my 4 year old, and a pancake and banana lassi for my vegetarian wife. We were told `Is that all? What about the main course?' Clearly the well-heeled waiters were expecting us to eat more seafood (the fish was not enough) and even ordering a virgin colada and a bloody mary did not raise their spirits. They seemed much more keen on keeping the party of 20 people eating crab and lobsters happy. Having said this, the setting is divine - the beach in front one of the best in the world! I will definitely come back, with the intention to eat a lot of seafood, but would be hesitant to recommend this place to people who wish to have a light lunch!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 100CountriesNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    291
    86
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

To start off with - excellent location and well maintained. I decided to take my folks for a quite afternoon lunch which I succeeded in. At first we got complete attention from the staff, about 3-4 attending to us at the same time. As our dishes started to come in, we found strands of hair in one of the dishes and as well on the starter plate, which was to be honest quite disgusting. Gradually as we started to order the main course we saw the staff disappearing and literally had to call out to them towards the end of our meal. Service got slack.
However very reasonably priced, and decent choice of alcoholic drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skymaiden009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing, fun filled time amidst great ambiance.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good food, ambiance, service and well maintained. Brilliant view of the shore and for a shack the best bathrooms ever! Would defiantly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antoniodcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margao, India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lunch with family & friends”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent ambiance! We chose a table facing the beach and the sea...service was great. Quick and efficient staff...Well done...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNGoa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well to be honest there is no room as Zeebop is a beach shack right on the longest beach in Goa. But the view is of the beach and the waves.

The tables sit on the beach and you can abandon your shoes and enjoy feeling the sand between your toes. The sun is kept at bay by palm thatch but if you want to catch the sun's rays the waiters can move a table for you.

Service is attentive and managed by several very competent supervisors.

Select an item from the menu or ask to see the fresh fish, lobsters and crab. Pay according to weight and market rates. Whilst we always enjoy Zeebop, on this visit we were a little disappointed.

We enjoyed the prawns Piri Piri but the prawns were a little light on. Our lobster butter garlic, chilli was dry and the lobster overcooked. However, we will give Zeebop another try and hopefully things will be back on track again.

Licensed with reasonably priced wine and beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susiethefloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeebop by the Sea also viewed

Betalbatim, Salcette
Cavelossim, South Goa District
 
Majorda, South Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Vagator, North Goa District
Cansaulim, South Goa District
 

Been to Zeebop by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing