We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did this place get 5 star rating?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“How did this place get 5 star rating?”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel has potential: good pool, garden and uncrowded sandy beach. The room was spacious with sitting area, bedroom, walk-in dressing room and bathroom. However, the sitting room window was filthy, there were no clothes hangers or drawers/shelves for storing clothes (just a bench on which we had to pile everything) or drinking glasses (despite a mini bar) and the bed linen was dirty and had blood stains. When we reported this, there was a casual response of "We'll send someone". The duvet cover was changed but the dirty sheet was left on the bed! The management offered us another "lovely" room but it was the same room that another couple had moved from because it was dirty and the toilet flush didn't work! The view from our balcony was of fields cultivated by local farmers (delightful) but also of the roof of the adjoining accommodation block which was a repository for broken air conditioning units and rusted corrugated iron sheets. Service at all levels and staff training were poor (but we have to commend the excellent pool attendant). There seemed to be little understanding about the basic requirements for running a good hotel and looking after guests. The food was good but we did have to wait a very long time for masala dosas at breakfast because of inefficient and disorganised staffing. The masala chai was good. The hotel did have the advantage of being a short drive from the airport. We would not wish to return to this hotel. How did it get a 5 star rating?

Room Tip: Make sure the bedding is clean and the room is properly equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We did take all the correctives mentioned. Now we do wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    275
    125
    50
    66
See reviews for
319
200
17
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here in August 13 and must say a great hotel with superb location. The rooms have the view of the sea and its a walk away from the rooms block. Rooms are made like suites and each room has a Living Area and seperate bed room. Food is average however staff courtesy makes it up for the food.

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the beach. Try the spa here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGHRAVI76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

beach facing property with a cozy feel to the place. Service is decent but rooms are pretty small. Even the size of the suits is small. It has one small restaurant and a very small in-house bar. Overall, Not a value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking time to put your views across. We surely love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were there for 4 nights in November. Its a good location with the property almost on the beach. Howver, the location is away from a lot of action, but if you want quiet then its good. The service staff was also good but at times slow to respond. Only concern is the small rooms and I feel they have wasted a lot of space in a cut out balcony. There are no almirahs and the clothes have to be kept open and looks messy at times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yashmakharia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your valued comments. We surely take stock to come up better in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Where oh where to start.. Well, we arrived December 30th 2013. Shown to a room that was the furtherest from anything. Room 118 !! There is mould growing on the walls, the shower is filthy, and the room feels like it has not been aired in years.

After complaining about the filth, they sent someone to clean it. However this person was armed with a rag and water. No chemicals!!

The wi-fi didnt work, and took 2 days for soomeone to fix. The phone didnt work, and there is no jack-point, just a string of wires attaching the phone to the wall.

The food is sub-standard, and service almost non-existant. Asked for some french fries one afternoon, and despite 2 phone calls, and a visit to reception, they took 90 mins to arrive!!

I dont know who has ever given this hotel the high ratings, because it is tired, run down and the worst place I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Extremely sorry of your experience. We have taken all correctives to assure a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hotel, that says 5 Star definitely ain't one, while talking about Royal Orchid, Goa. Although we had Suites to stay in , the room was dirty, walls stained, crooked lamps, worn out furniture and the Food, pathetic. Breakfast, that is one meal that is provided by the hotel was over-priced ( if not complimentary) and not edible. I had scrambled eggs without any salt, Ugh! Anyhow the location was great, enjoyed the Uttorda beach and their little shacks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TushnaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We surely will act on your comments & come up better the next time. Thank you do keep in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Arrived 21/12/13 for a 12 night stay with my wife and daughter. This was to be a special holiday and because of this we booked a 5 star hotel to ensure this would be a holiday to remember. On our arrival, our first impression was good as we made our way past the fish pond to the reception area.
Unfortunately that was where it ended. All the seating in the reception area were stained and the floor looked as though hadn't been cleaned for some time. We were greeted with a glass (dirty) of juice. We were then met by a lady who stated that we would need to pay £390.00 for Xmas and new year gala (bear in mind we had not checked in yet). We declined to pay this, as we had already made arrangements for both of these dates. We were then told it was mandatory to pay this ( although we showed her our booking voucher, which had no mention of these gala's). She began to become quite aggressive , and after travelling for 24 hours we reluctantly paid for this.
We were then shown our suite. All rooms were absolutely filthy, along with furniture, glasses etc. We complained and were then shown an additional 3 rooms, all of which were in the same state. We asked to speak with the manager in respect to this situation and was advised we would be upgraded to a royal suite. At 9.00pm we were shown this room and again it was dirty. We were advised that the suite would be cleaned the next day. By this time we were so tired we reluctantly agreed.
After having breakfast in the restaurant (again filthy) we sat by the pool and noticed the cleaners had arrived at our room.
On our return to our room it had been cleaned to some extent.
We decided that we would make the best of a bad situation. We spent all our time away from the hotel (only spending the minimum time possible there).
On Xmas day morning my wife woke up with a rash from bed bugs. We stripped the beds and could not believe what was to unfold. The sheets were all marked and the mattress was the most disgusting site we have came across, covered with urine stains. We also noticed that on drying ourselves after a shower that the towels were brown. We filled a glass with the water from the shower water and it was dark brown. We decided to run the bath water and low and behold it again was brown.
We demanded to see the manager but was told he was unavailable. I spoke with the same lady who had met us on our arrival and skedaddle her to come to our room as we needed to show her our findings. After 10 minutes she came to our room and on showing her the sheeting and mattress we asked if she would sleep in such conditions (we are still waiting for her reply !!!!!)
We had no alternative but find other accommodation.
On our check out I was advised the manager would be available to speak with the following morning.
We returned to speak with the manager the following day and surprise surprise he was unavailable.
Having paid £2000.00 for this hotel, our treatment and the state of hotel was disgusting.
Please never ever ever ever contemplate visiting this hotel. Many hostels are far better.
N.B. We never came across any other european's, only Indians in the hotel.

Room Tip: Do no even contemplate visiting this so called hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VCSoares, General Manager at Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Sorry for all that is said. But we have done the best possible, which you are aware but not mentioned. I personally met you & even upgraded you to royal suite with plunge pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utorda
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,515 reviews
5.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,956 reviews
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Planet Hollywood Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa

Property: Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa
Address: Uttorda Beach | Salcette, Utorda 403713, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Utorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Utorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa...... Serene Seashore/Coastline.....Luxurious well maintained lawns......Petit cute gardens.....Water bodies with live Koi fish,lilios,lotus,orchids & anthuriums.....Tempting clear blue pool.....Remember we are on the beach,not at the beach..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Beach Resort And Spa, Goa
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa Hotel Utorda
Royal Orchid Beach Resort & Spa, Goa Utorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing