We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This lovely cottage helped to make our stay so...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kilbroney Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen Dining Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Kitchen Dining
Hall
Lounge
Kitchen
Living Room
Lounge
Hall
Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Power Shower
View From Front
Fairy Glen
Carlingford Lough
View from Cloughmore Stone, Kilbroney Forest Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rostrevor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bron O
1 review
“This lovely cottage helped to make our stay so enjoyable”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was beautifully furnished, spacious, clean and well equipped. The view from the front room of the mountains was a welcome sight when we got up in the morning. The picnic area at the back looked onto gently sloping meadows and was very quiet and peaceful. The shower was very easy to use with constant water at a comfortable temperature. The cottage is in a very bonny part of the country and the area has some of the friendliest people (even compared to our home county of Yorkshire).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
226hawkey...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, Just Like Home”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Four of us have just spent a very comfortable five days in Kilbroney Cottage, although there is plenty of room for six, with three good size bedrooms and a good size dining kitchen with all mod con's. The welcome parcel, wine, milk, butter etc., was a nice touch and much appreciated.
The beds we slept in were comfortable as was the one our friends used. There are two lounges, each with comfortable suites. One lounge has a TV and DVD player, the other is for relaxing in or for a quiet read.
An excellent bathroom with a powerful shower and lots of hot water and it was nice to have plenty of towels provided, (which is not always the case in holiday rentals).
There are great views from the front of the house, overlooking the Mournes and Carlingford Loch, whilst the back garden, with patio furniture, looks up across fields where sheep and cattle graze, occasionally paying us a visit.
The cottage is in a peaceful location, within walking distance of Rostrevor Square, 5 to 10 minutes, but far enough to be away so as not to be bothered by any village noise.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Kilbroney Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane1912...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and 6 friends stayed at kilbroney cottage for a weekend break. It has 3 good sized bedrooms (2 twins and a double) with very comfortable mattresses for an excellent night's sleep. The large bathroom had a powerful walk-in shower and plenty of hot water. Good heating system and everything for self-catering in the kitchen. Aiden the owner left us wine, milk, cheese and butter - very thoughtful. There is good parking in the driveway, an excellent patio with furniture - overall the cottage proved excellent accommodation. Location is good and it is walking distance to the fairy glen or into Rostrevor, though uphill on the way back. I have no hesitation recommending this bungalow. Thankyou Aiden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: It does not have a separate dining room, though it does seat 6 in the kitchen.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillstree...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“just like before home from home fantastic in all aspects car space comfort clean and the most comfy beds ever”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This has been our second visit at the kilbroney and its so lovely plenty of space a shower to die for and comfy beds great views and quite everything is there what you need , also near warrwarren point 5 mins in a car and walking distance into rostrevor, just lovely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds and shower
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian7790
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding at Narrowwater Castle, couldn't fault at all perfect location and views, very well equipped and a fantastic shower, would recommend and we'll certainly be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWest...
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walk in the front door and you're at home - it's magic.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just spent nine weeks in Kilbroney Cottage - and we really don't know how to put in words how much we've enjoyed it. It wasn't a nine week holiday, but it could have been. Living along the road in Warrenpoint we had to move out of our house while we had some remedial works done - and we just could not have chosen a better place to stay. It's not exactly down to any one aspect - it can only be the sum of the parts that makes it so magical, dare I say so romantic!
There's the beautiful views from the front, with a tantalising glimpse of Carlingford Lough. There's real old-fashioned fields with hedges and an interesting assortment of sheep and cows out the back - and stay in the Spring, and you'll be rewarded with the sight of the newly born calves and lambs. Plus the rabbits bounding up the hill when you get up in the morning! Get a sunny afternoon and you won't want to go any further than the back garden - it's that relaxing. We could go on - two cosy lounges, an easy to live with kitchen, a lovely walk in shower to refresh - and the most comfortable bed to end the day in. Rostrevor town is an easy drive, or for the energetic - a great downhill walk out and a stiff uphill walk back. There's all you need down there - we particularly recommend Paula's Fish & Chips; freshly cooked, piping hot and great value for money.
Thank you Kilbroney Cottage.
We'd love to be back - any day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of a bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Themoorec...
1 review
“Perfect place for a family holiday”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Had a really lovely stay here, beautiful scenery. Kids loved the rabbits in the mornings. Really clean and well maintained inside the house feels like home with everything you need and more. Excellent shower comfy memory foam beds and a great owner who had the essentials in the fridge and the heat on to warm the house. Also was nice that the owner put up some Christmas decorations to make our stay even more memorable as we went to santa's cottage not far from it. Will definatly be back as we all really enjoyed it and didn't want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing