We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mourne Wood B & B
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rostrevor
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Loughview(Warrenpoint)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Spelga House(Hilltown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Heath Hall(Kilkeel)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
32
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 33 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wanted to enjoy an activity weekend but with some or all of the home comforts
and certainly acheived all we set out to do.Trail Bikeing/Hikeing and the obligatory
Pub Culture. Best nights sleep in ages in comfy beds.Breakfast to die for and welcome
second to none.
Will definately be back and would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gormandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good night's sleep after your busy day, (must have been the linen sheets! )
You mentioned that you were an avid music fan so just wanted to let you know that The Blues on the Bay festival will be in nearby Warrenpoint from 24th -26th May.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is much appreciated.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ended up in Mournewood after a last minute search for accomodation in the sleepy village of Rostrevor. We were there for a family get-together and how lucky we were! The location was perfect - lovely local views and a just short walk from the village centre.

Our host Siobhan was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious - organic produce, eggs from her sisters farm and the scrummy fruit salad and seeded bread are both worth a special mention... as was the very unexpected but delicious fruit and nut cake Siobhan delivered to the room with tea just after we arrived.

A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

I'm very glad that you enjoyed our Mourne Wood breakfast and I hope that you get the opportunity to visit again soon.
You may also be interested to hear that my 86 year old Father has just started keeping hens. His eggs are the biggest and brownest that I have ever seen and it is good to know that we have an alternative/additional supply if ever my sisters's hens decide on a work to rule.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Mourne Wood B&B is a hidden gem in a beautiful area of the North of Ireland. This is Irish hospitality at its finest and I would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to experience a relaxing break. Siobhan is a first class hostess who cooks the most amazing breakfasts and nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and have the most amazing views of the nearby glen and forest area,really beautiful scenery to wake up to. There is a great history attached to the area of which Siobhan is very knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mourne Wood and left feeling very relaxed. I could not recommend this B&B highly enough; it is first class accommodation in a first class area. Definitely not one to miss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B. As a very new venture we rely very much on guest feedback. Its very encouraging to know that we are on the right track but there's always room for improvement.
During your stay you mentioned that you had an interest in old graveyards. As you know Mourne Wood B&B is very close to the ruins of the 5th century church of St Bronach and Kilbroney old graveyard.
Knotty Ash Cemetery and the Crag (1737) are also worth a visit and we look forward to seeing you again when you have more time to explore.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend as were were going to a wedding in nearby Warrenpoint, Siobhan was the most welcoming of hosts and kept us going for the two days with an brilliant fry up. The beds are nice and cosy, the cost was value for money and I would highly recommend staying here if you are in this beautiful area of Ireland! JB

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JamesB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for my first ever review. The new Rostrevor Mountain Bike trails that you were able to see from your bedroom window, are now opened and they are widely acknowledged as being "World Class".
As you and your friends are interested in mountain biking we would look forward to welcoming you back to Mourne Wood.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews