We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in lovely mournes village of Rostrevor”
Review of Mourne Wood B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rostrevor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mourne Wood B & B
Ranked #7 of 8 Rostrevor B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ended up in Mournewood after a last minute search for accomodation in the sleepy village of Rostrevor. We were there for a family get-together and how lucky we were! The location was perfect - lovely local views and a just short walk from the village centre.

Our host Siobhan was very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was delicious - organic produce, eggs from her sisters farm and the scrummy fruit salad and seeded bread are both worth a special mention... as was the very unexpected but delicious fruit and nut cake Siobhan delivered to the room with tea just after we arrived.

A perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

I'm very glad that you enjoyed our Mourne Wood breakfast and I hope that you get the opportunity to visit again soon.
You may also be interested to hear that my 86 year old Father has just started keeping hens. His eggs are the biggest and brownest that I have ever seen and it is good to know that we have an alternative/additional supply if ever my sisters's hens decide on a work to rule.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Mourne Wood B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Mourne Wood B&B is a hidden gem in a beautiful area of the North of Ireland. This is Irish hospitality at its finest and I would strongly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to experience a relaxing break. Siobhan is a first class hostess who cooks the most amazing breakfasts and nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and have the most amazing views of the nearby glen and forest area,really beautiful scenery to wake up to. There is a great history attached to the area of which Siobhan is very knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Mourne Wood and left feeling very relaxed. I could not recommend this B&B highly enough; it is first class accommodation in a first class area. Definitely not one to miss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B. As a very new venture we rely very much on guest feedback. Its very encouraging to know that we are on the right track but there's always room for improvement.
During your stay you mentioned that you had an interest in old graveyards. As you know Mourne Wood B&B is very close to the ruins of the 5th century church of St Bronach and Kilbroney old graveyard.
Knotty Ash Cemetery and the Crag (1737) are also worth a visit and we look forward to seeing you again when you have more time to explore.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend as were were going to a wedding in nearby Warrenpoint, Siobhan was the most welcoming of hosts and kept us going for the two days with an brilliant fry up. The beds are nice and cosy, the cost was value for money and I would highly recommend staying here if you are in this beautiful area of Ireland! JB

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JamesB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for my first ever review. The new Rostrevor Mountain Bike trails that you were able to see from your bedroom window, are now opened and they are widely acknowledged as being "World Class".
As you and your friends are interested in mountain biking we would look forward to welcoming you back to Mourne Wood.
Siobhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AFBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank risa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mournewood, Owner at Mourne Wood B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rostrevor hotels
1.0 mi away
The Sands B&B
The Sands B&B
#4 of 8 in Rostrevor
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rostrevor Inn
The Rostrevor Inn
#2 of 8 in Rostrevor
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oystercatcher
The Oystercatcher
#3 of 8 in Rostrevor
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Rostrevor
85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
East Coast Glamping
East Coast Glamping
#3 of 3 in Rostrevor
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourne Wood B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourne Wood B & B

Address: 19 Mourne Wood | Kilbroney Road, Rostrevor BT34 3GG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Rostrevor
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rostrevor
Price Range: $41 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mourne Wood B&B is situated in the picturesque village of Rostrevor, nestled beneath the Mourne Mountains on the eastern shores of Carlingford Lough. Here you will experience the genuine warmth of Irish hospitality. Mourne Wood B&B provides great value accommodation with a flexible and friendly service.....And an amazing breakfast which will set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mourne Wood B & B Rostrevor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing