We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, breakfast & great hospitality”
Review of The Oystercatcher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Oystercatcher
Ranked #3 of 8 Rostrevor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oystercatcher. The room was spacious with modern decor. Our room also had the advantage of having it's own entrance from the side of the house. James, the owner, was warm and charming and made our stay memorable with his many stories. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The area surrounding Carlingford Lough is spectacular, the Mountains of Mourne are magnificent and staying at The Oystercatcher is ideal. It is so conveniently situated for the scenic coastal route and provides the visitor with all that could be required and more. James is the most welcoming host and very entertaining. He will provide you with whatever you request and his breakfasts are the best. We spent several days exploring the area - Annalong, Kilkeel, Newcastle are all very well worth a visit and a short drive from The Oystercatcher. Strangford Lough is also spectcular and should be seen. Conversation with James and other guests is part of the experience and well worthwhile. We will go again as soon as we can.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Val O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

GREAT. Warm welcome! Lovely house and rooms. We were looked after well. James is a very entertaining and outgoing person. We just enjoyed our early morning conversation. Hope it had been as much for him too. ELIANE + EDGAR, Switzerland

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eliane1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I visited the Oystercatcher this week with my partner and we were not disappointed. It's a very well appointed B&B with a fabulous owner James. The rooms have been put together with great thought, they are not your traditional 'floral landscape' that I have often found when staying in other bed and breakfasts. James is as charismatic an owner as you will find, he will make your lunch if heading out for the day or entertain you in the evening! I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaireGrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here with my friend and i have to admit ive never stayed in such a lovely b&b not only for its scenery but James the owner is so welcoming and funny. House was so comfy i wish i had stayed for a wk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joannehamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

There's nothing that I am not satisfied. Location, view, food, etc, are all in excellent quality.James, the owner, is very very kind and of course, versatile and knowledgeable. We three Chinese and one Irish enjoyed everything here and we had a wonderful bank holiday! The only pity I feel now is I forgot to touch the lovely MUSIC CAR in the backyard!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snow W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Slept here for 3 nights with my boyfriend, as a starting point to explore the beautiful Mourne Mountains. Exploring the wonderful environment (please go see Cloughmore 'The Big Stone' and Rostrevore Forest!) was as much fun as staying in the B&B and getting to know James.

James is a friendly guy who seems to want to make your stay as joyful as possible. He will advise you on great things to see nearby, as well as where to eat. Speaking about food: his breakfast is perfect! As are the sandwiches he can make you on special request - for example when you have to leave the B&B at 06:30 in the morning :-)

Oh, don't forget to try out the swing he just made on his roof terrace. We were the first guests who have tried it out - I feel honoured. The view from the swing is amazing and will be the finishing touch on your stay at the Oystercatcher.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosanne_Dubbeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rostrevor
10.5 mi away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rostrevor Inn
The Rostrevor Inn
#2 of 8 in Rostrevor
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Seaview Guesthouse
Seaview Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Rostrevor
87 reviews
0 mi away
The Sands B&B
The Sands B&B
#4 of 8 in Rostrevor
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oystercatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oystercatcher

Address: 2 Victoria Square, Rostrevor BT34 3EU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Rostrevor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rostrevor
Price Range: $76 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oystercatcher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Oystercatcher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oystercatcher Rostrevor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing