We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !!!! Food Not So Great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel was very clean and tidy our cleaning lady was great. If you ever go there remember Emily and tip here Big she was great to us. Never had a cleaning person so friendly in canada in Mexico yes it was a nice to know they are here to sereve us at a hotel you dont pay 300 bucks a night for. The pool was very nice a little chilly but good once your body temp droped to the level of the pool. Food was not that great have had better at buffets. Talking to alot of people they said the food is Hit and miss kinda thing. Hopefully next time it will be a hit. I agree with other reviews its not 20 mins from winnipeg 20 minutes is East Selkirk more like 35.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodtimesroll4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 222 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2009

For $58/night it's probably the best deal in Canada! Good sized modern room, large TV, casino and pool. It's not really that close to the beach (15-20 minutes from Grand Beach) but everyone there would have taken a car anyways. Service was good too. We had a great stay here.
I agree with the other guy that food was not very good, but we ate late and alot of stuff looked like it was sitting out for awhile. Everyone we've spoke to says the seafood buffet on Thursdays is excellent. We will have to try that one day.
Why do they advertise 20 minutes north of Winnipeg? You'd have to drive about 150 km/hour to make that time! 35 minutes is more realistic.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueHooligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Me and my niece decided we'd go to the casino to play slots, and figured because we were their already we would try out the buffet. I'm telling you that is the worst meal i've ever had, and if i was an employee their i would have been disgusted on having to cut and serve their meat. The only good tasting item out of that whole meal was the chocolate ice cream, and the tea now that doesn't say to much for the buffet. Providing the hotel is so beautiful, the employees should take way more pride in their meals they prepare then what they do. I would never go back for any meals their nor would i recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnipegBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We had a great stay at the South Beach Casino and Resort Hotel. The staff was very attentive and courteous. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. The pool was awesome. We enjoyed the casino action. The price was a bargain and everything was so clean! Definitely recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RollandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amorgos55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,204 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price Range: $75 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, Blue Dolphin Lounge and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and roulette tables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury
South Beach Casino And Resort Manitoba/Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing