We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun at casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Beach Casino and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only drove up for the day to check out the casino - it was very nice, lots of my favourite slot machines. It wasn't that crowded, even on a Saturday - could always get a machine I liked. The no smoking is great, makes it much more enjoyable. We also tried the Saturday prime rib buffet - it was delicious. Not a huge buffet, but the salads and side dishes were nice and the prime rib was excellent - perfectly medium rare. We also enjoyed the selection of pies for dessert, especially the pecan. We joined the players club 50 +, and even got a discount on the buffet, which was already reasonably priced, and some free slot play. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Will certainly make the trip back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted to stay here due it's close proximity to Grand Beach. Hotel is very clean and well kept. Food in restaurant was good and reasonable priced as well. At $77/night it was a great deal to stay here and saved us driving back to Winnipeg from Grand Beach. The downside if you are travelling with family is this is a casino hotel, nothing else to do in the immediate area except gamble. We knew that and were fine with it, just don't stay here expecting to find a lot to do other then swimming for the kids.

that said it was a great deal and good location for travelling further north to the beaches.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Smootchiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The pool was excellent, the food was very good. The place was spotless: i found the grounds clean and was able to get a hike in before supper. Prices were great and I enjoyed the shopping room off the casino! The morning waitress's were excellent as I seen them the most:)

Room Tip: Bring your jogging shoes, there is a good distance around the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna2_2182162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We started out to just spend a few hours at the casino, but........!!
The first thing that we noticed was how clean the whole place was. The public washrooms were spotless. Attendant s were super polite and helpful.
In passing one of the restaurant ads we spotted a "Steer&Beer" special for $9.00. Hmmm, sounded good. Room rate for a Saturday was $89, so decided to stay. Meal was great, lots of good food. Room was lovely and again spotless. Husband did very well in casino. Breakfast next morning was half price for seniors. Excellent buffet. Gas station across road below street price and attendant super nice. Great side trip. Will go again.

Room Tip: Not much to see but bush and lake in far distance. Maybe not right by elevator on weekends when lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRs2Bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very well maintained, nicely decorated, clean, great value on weekdays. Each room has a fridge and microwave which is handy for snacks (which I recommend bringing along, as the snack bar is overpriced and the restaurant at the gas station across the street is greasy.) Nice warm pool with cool lights. No hot tub or slide, though. Take a day trip to Grand Beach (30-45 min north) and stay here for the night if you don't like to camp.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHBH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have stayed here several times & have used the stay & play packages both just for casino and for golf. We have also come for Birthdays and for anniversaries. We have always found the rooms to be very clean and comfortable. It would be nice to have a microwave in the rooms as well as the fridges.
We have found the beds very comfortable. The food is good in the resturant, menu or buffet. We were there May 16 & 17th for my husband's birthday and for golfing.
Even though they have cancelled the free breakfast with room we felt with the buy $25 get $10 & the get one buffet free bonuses you get with the room that it cuts the cost of the room to an acceptable amt..
Free soft drinks,water,coffee or tea plus free bottled water at both the casino, hotel & a bar where you can buy an acoholic beverage is great. A nice array of machines to play.
All in all a very pleasant experience... we will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Friendly people we always,always have the best stay and time with our family getaway ....we stay here alot since they opened ...very friendly place ,,entertainment is free and great...free beverages like pop and water ,,,,food is very good especially steak night ..points that you recieve when you play can be used towards rooms and meals or cash back ...we use ours alot towards rooms ..

Room Tip: try it you'll love it ! the grand suites are awesome ,,,i believe we stayed in every room possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janis w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scanterbury
24.6 mi away
Lakeview Resort & Conference Centre
19.3 mi away
Canalta Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
50 reviews
25.1 mi away
No photo provided
Viking Inn
#3 of 3 in Gimli
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
21.7 mi away
Superior Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Casino and Resort

Address: One Ocean Drive | Box 777, Scanterbury, Manitoba R0E 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Scanterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scanterbury
Price Range: $72 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Beach Casino and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 minutes north of Winnipeg on Highway 59, South Beach Casino & Resort is the perfect location for a getaway. We have a variety of stay packages and great rates. Committed to providing “Affordable Luxury,” our 95 room art-deco hotel offers opulent Deluxe Guestrooms, Junior Suites and Grand Suite accommodations. Enjoy our tropical style pool, Mango's Restaurant, Blue Dolphin Lounge and the gaming excitement at our South Beach Casino, featuring 600 slot machines, table games and roulette tables ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your South Beach Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Scanterbury
South Beach Casino And Resort Manitoba/Scanterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing