We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Ireland!”
Review of Springfield House

Springfield House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louisburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Springfield House
Ranked #4 of 5 Louisburgh B&B and Inns
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Ireland!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We came to visit our oldest daughter who is studying abroad in Louisburgh for the semester and she lined up this wonderful B&B. My husband and I had a nice room with a double bed and an extra single, and our youngest daughter had her own double bed room next to ours, each with our own bathrooms. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing, from traditional Irish (sausage, eggs, bacon, black pudding, breads, cereal, fruit and yogurt) to pancakes with all the trimmings. She also invited our oldest to come every morning to eat with us and spoiled us every evening with coffee and toffee bars. Claire is a wonderful hostess! She even drove us to Kylemore Abbey while our daughter was in class and spent the day with us sightseeing. Claire went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable, even getting up early on the day of our departure so that we could have a filling breakfast before leaving beautiful County Mayo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for a weekend with Claire, the owner. She is so welcoming and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble and we had the most relaxing stay of our trip. Claire told us all about the nearby sights and attractions and provided us with some local knowledge that made the stay so special.

The beds were very comfortable and the room had a lovely homely feel. The breakfast was amazing, fruits, yoghurts, breads, cereals and porridge or a fry or both if we felt like it.

I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to others, we can't wait to stay here again. Don't miss out on this gem in beautiful Mayo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Lovely, large, clean room room ... The host, Claire, with her twinkling eyes, warm smile and love of banter will keep you smiling and talking while she serves you tea, biscuits, toast and cookies after you arrive. The breakfast was grand ... fresh fruit, lots of REAL strong coffee (or tea), croissants, cereal of choice, fruit and THEN the cooked food tailored to choice. We are touring bicyclists and there was lots of safe storage for our bikes and gear. The next day, Claire drove another bicycling couple to Croagh Patrick to climb, stashed their gear all day, and then drove to pick them up ... all for no extra charge ... now hows's THAT for service??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaldAFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I were exploring the coast and needed a place to stay for just 1 night - 19th April.
It was about 5pm - so very short notice. We had tried the Ponderosa - and the lovely lady there could not take us, so phoned Clare who said 'Yes!'.
What a lovely welcome - Clare is warm and friendly and informative. We were given a pot of tea and coffee with biscuits. A fresh fire was lit in the lounge for us to relax and get warm! There were books and magazines for all tastes - several appropriate to Ireland history or touring.
The town centre was a short walk away and we went to Hudson's Pantry for our evening meal.
Our room was very clean and the bed spotless and SO comfortable!
We had a wonderful breakfast the next morning which kept us going for hours!
We would certainly recommend and stay again ...

Room Tip: We NEVER book - and only stay 1 night. Our 1st Landlady ever told us to always ask to check the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsAT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights being in the area for hillwalking. This is a traditional B&B, no Internet booking so I booked ‘olde style’ over the phone a few months in advance and reconfirmed when I was in Ireland. The B&B is quite easy to find on Westport Road leading into Louisburg, walking distance from town. There’s ample off road parking in front of the house.

I was welcomed by Clare in the lounge with tea and excellent home-made scones/bread, the open fire was blazing away and on all evening should you want to relax with a book or watch the digital TV channels. My room was on the ground floor, with double + single bed, not extremely spacious but comfortable with a small, clean en-suite (wc/washbasin/shower). There’s a TV in the room with local channels.

I enjoyed chatting to Clare in the lounge (more tea & scones) about Louisburg, local events, walks, attractions, etc., she’s a wonderful hostess.

Breakfast was plenty with fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, fresh coffee, Full Irish if you’re up to it.

I will most certainly stay again should I find myself in the area!

PS: an excellent base to climb Croagh Patrick or visit to Inishturk / Clare island (ferry from Roonah Quay).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilHil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The first time I called Clare Kenny - having seen the B and B in the Rough Guide - I realised this was a traditional kind of B and B: friendly, and with delicious home-baking.

Clare is also a mine of information about the area, and a stone's throw from the pubs and centre of Louisburgh.

I've now stayed two or three times and it has become a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gleamingspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed here for 4 days and had a wonderful time. The house is very well kept, clean, tidy and Claire, the hostess, is fantastic.

Claire recommended some great beaches for walks, some good day trips and every day she provided a great breakfast.

When we arrived we were shown to our room, which was ensuite and offered refreshments in the lounge. This was very welcome after our journey - Louisburgh is a bit of a trek but worth it.

The lounge area is very comfortable with a lovely open fire (which was blazing away). There is also a second seating area which is just off the main lounge so if you prefer to read a book or just would like a little 'me ' time this is the place to do it.

The B&B is within walking distance of the centre of Louisburgh, so we were able to stroll for 5 - 6 mins past the church, up the road and into one of the 'locals' for a drink. The town has a few places for a bite to eat also. We tried Hudsons Pantry and I would go back.

From Louisburgh we took at trip to Clifden, the drive through Doolough, Lenane and Kylemore is breathtaking.

We also went to Westport - plenty to do there and plenty of shops to spend your Euros in - they make it so easy!

Overall we had a very relaxing few days and that was in no small way down to Claire's welcome and hospitality.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laethanta_saoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisburgh
0.3 mi away
Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
Ponderosa Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 5 in Louisburgh
16 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bertra House B&B
Bertra House B&B
#15 of 70 in Westport
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
West View Hotel
West View Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louisburgh
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
3 Arches B&B
3 Arches B&B
#1 of 5 in Louisburgh
12 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cuaneen House
Cuaneen House
#2 of 5 in Louisburgh
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House

Property: Springfield House
Address: Springfield Westport Road, Louisburgh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Louisburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Louisburgh
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing