We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Portico - CLOSED

Il Portico
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
332 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were expecting much more after reading the reviews. The food was very good - try the tuna steak! - but the restaurant was empty, and this was 9 pm in the middle of July! Even though we were quite a large group, eating in an empty room is a bit offputting. The restaurant was also quite stuffy. The service was friendly, but one order was misunderstood and had to be served later than the rest.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David011158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turacchia, Proprietario at Il Portico, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear sir, thank you for your review.
I can understand the importance of the athmosphere, and a crowded room it is maybe warmer the an empty one, but your dinner was during the week and Palazzolo is a small town of about 7000 people.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding with the order, maybe due to language issues.
By the way, we are happy that you enjoied our friendly service and our food.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected gem in Palazzolo Acreide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This owner chef is extremely talented and the whole dining experience was so good that we came back again two days later. Delicious food, imaginatively presented served in beautiful surroundings with excellent wines to complement. All very reasonably priced. Locally caught fish was what we wanted and we were amazed at the choice and variety of dishes on offer. We also sampled a pork dish which was very tender and tasty. The only problem was that we were too full to try the puddings! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely, original, inventive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Pleasure: A long afternoon with wonderful food in an elegant room, good wine choices, all in this little town in few guide books.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Superb location, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

it was just the two of us in this old, nobiliar palace, dining with exquisite food with local ingredients. Extremely recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fabrizioco_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
“Fantastic food, perfect service, relaxing atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

If you happen to travel to Palazzolo then you have to stop by at "il Portico": you can have a fantastic experience, tasting very good food with a perfect service.
The atmosphere is relaxing, Salvo (the owner and chef) will give you recommendations on the best plates and you'll go out fully satisfied.
I mostly recommend the wonderful appetizers (12 different plates for two people) which gives you the opportunity to try many local specialties.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salvatore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

Palazzolo Acreide, Province of Syracuse
Palazzolo Acreide, Province of Syracuse
 
Palazzolo Acreide, Province of Syracuse
Palazzolo Acreide, Province of Syracuse
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing