We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful luxury gem”
Review of Furnirussi Tenuta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furnirussi Tenuta
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Serrano
Certificate of Excellence
austria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“peaceful luxury gem”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a almost a five-star-experience - with a few flaws.
First, the rooms: wonderful, modern, minimalistic, classy, elegant and very spacious rooms with private patios including sunchairs and table with chairs in the back.
bathroom is a bit small compared to the rest of the room, also, the toilette is not in a separate room which could have easily been planned, as the place is completely newly built.
Biggest drawback in the room: if you have a neighbour, you'll hear him: When in the bathroom, you hear all the bathroom noises, when the bathroom door is closed, you still hear talking. Again, as the place is newly built, soundproof walls should have been considered.
At the time we stayed there, only four of the 20so rooms were booked, so the noise level could have been easily avoided, would they have let one room empty in between and we wouldn't have noticed.
The grounds: beautiful gardens, enormous lake-like pool, we have never seen a bigger one anywhere, and we travel a lot. It's amazing to swim in, grounds and pool are kept absolutely clean at all times. wonderful to relax; as well as the lounge inside.
Breakfast: besides a small fruit plate, two mini-croissants and a slice of ham, which are served immediately, everything is a la carte - which is usually fine, only here the staff is not organized at all. If you order eggs, fruits, cheese and cuts, they let you wait for 20 minutes or so (again, only four rooms booked at that time) to then serve everything at the same time. Only if you ask, you can get prosciutto, cheese, etc., WHILE the kitchen prepares the eggs.
If the place is really full, this system will not work out.

The place is in the middle of south Apulian nowhere, you have to take the car for everything; which was fine for us. You just should now ahead, that there's nothing around in walking distance.
Overall: The grounds and rooms have total potential of a real five-star-luxury experience, the service flaws at breakfast and the noise level in the rooms are a downside.

Room Tip: If not fully booked, ask that the adjoining room is empty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    36
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
126
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarschot, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in may 2013, and it was a wonderful experience.
The rooms are very big and fresh, and the beds are exceptionaly good.
The staff is very friendly, with special thanks to Roberta who took me to the doctor.
Breakfast is a la carte, and very very good.
The restaurant is expensive, but if you like good food like we do you will get an experience you will never forget: every dish is to die for. I will never forget the sashimi, the spagotto and mellanzane. Really a place for foodies and well worth all the money.
There is a very big swimming pool and a wellness, but we didn't use it.
The masseria is located in a big fig plantation where you get all the peace and quietness you'll need when you're on vacation, and some bigger cities like Lecce, Gallipolli and Otranto are near by.
So if you want a holliday with lots of peace, sun, and excellent food, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you get the suites, you will get a great view over the plantation when you'll take a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent a couple of days at Furni Russi this summer.
I highly recommend it for travelers who are looking forward to relax in privacy, eat amazingly well and receive a warm 'salentino' service.
The location is breathtaking, the facilities really catch the simplicity of the area but with an exquisite touch.

I will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianaNarciso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

First of all, i'd like to thanks the team that welcomed us, very professional, delivering us the real 5 stars hotel service quality.

The quality of food preparation is outstanding...we have tasted a great blend between salento's traditional food with modernity touch.

Moreover, rooms are extremely clean and very detailed oriented in the design.

The "point fort" of Furnirussi is the "lagoon" which provided us extremely relaxed moments during our stay.

I also suggest the Spa treatment and the cocktail at the bar ( very well made).

We ll come back, thank you to everyone.

Great holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thierry0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serrano
6.6 mi away
Tenuta Centoporte
Tenuta Centoporte
#8 of 39 in Otranto
349 reviews
6.0 mi away
Masseria Muzza Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
La Fiermontina - Urban Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Palazzo Ducale Venturi - Luxury Relais & Wellness
Palazzo Ducale Venturi - Luxury ...
#1 of 1 in Minervino di Lecce
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanlu Hotel
Sanlu Hotel
#1 of 2 in Serrano
456 reviews
12.1 mi away
Acaya Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnirussi Tenuta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnirussi Tenuta

Property: Furnirussi Tenuta
Address: Contrada Giammanigli | Strada Comunale Scine 29, 73026 Serrano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Serrano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Serrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Furnirussi Tenuta 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnirussi Tenuta is located in Serrano, in the heart of the Grecia Salentina, surrounded by the biggest organic fig plantation in Europe: 4500 trees on 20 hectars. A resort in Puglia where the perfumes and colours of the mediterranean countryside are a basic part of the atmosphere, at only 12 km from Otranto. Furnirussi has got 24 Junior Suite equipped with all luxury comforts. The bedrooms on the ground floor create a delicious court, embellished by a rich Mediterranean vegetation. This resort in Puglia has also two elegant Suite Superior with terrace of 70 mq, large bathrooms, cromotherapy showers, panoramic bathtubs. In the lobby, an elegant chimney made of pietra leccese, welcomes guests in an ambience which enforces the precious design of the estate. Furnirussi Tenuta offers to its guests a high quality restaurant service, through the preparation of fresh products, 0 km, organic and seasonal fruits cultivated within the Furnirussi estate and important fine dishes prepared by the master chef. Moreover the resort in puglia has an exclusive SPA with massage rooms, Kneipp bath, Jacuzzi and Hammam build within the calcareous stone. Outside, the swimming pool with biodesign technology, which seems a lake, is surrounded by a tiny camphor wood and is perfectly integrated with the surrounding landscape. The ideal place where enjoy the bright sun of Salento, in the silence of the countryside, for the total wellness of body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furnirussi Tenuta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnirussi Tenuta Italy/Serrano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing