We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local restaurant!”

Nature's Valley Restaurant
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chilled and homey vibe with delicious food. Great English breakfast, awesome pizzas and I had one of the best fridge cheesecakes I've ever had. Great place with great service

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jasonvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to chill and have a bite to eat and drink. Beach a few meters away. Manager made us laugh a lot

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank DarrenB2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

What a DUMP!!!!! Once you are in it is difficult to leave - your arms stick to the tacky table and have to be surgically removed. I asked for the table to be cleaned and the only staff member on duty wiped it with a wet cloth but only succeeded in spreading the dirt a bit more. A restaurant you can lose weight in - they forget to bring your food despite being the first guests of the day. When your eventually arrives you will want to eat with your fingers because of dirty cutlery. The ones supplied still had breakfast bacon fat and egg yolk on them - not only a single knife or fork, but four of each. My tour group of eleven were the first in and the last to be served after more guests arrived about ten minutes after we did. One waitress only and eventually some gentleman lent a hand. I have no idea whether he was the owner or manager, he tried his best to stay out of sight, so he was not of much use. Some of our meals eventually became take aways. You have seen the last of me and my tour groups.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aloedeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin S, Owner at Nature's Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

In response
1).You right you were the first group of patrons that morning! but the second group to order !! the second group that arrived as you were being seated ( an Otter Hiking Group ) had pre-ordered their food before arriving at the restaurant ..

2) It is our policy that the waitress must inform patrons if there is a large table ahead of them and
to give the patron an indication of the waiting period The waitress did not inform your group of the potential wait time
, ..
3). Your group was split across two tables and the waitress was initially under the impression that you were two independent groups, so the order went into the kitchen as two separate groups (orders ) and not one group of 11 that explains why there was delay in food arriving between the two tables

4):We take hygiene very seriously.. each morning our tables are cleaned with an anti bacterial/ disinfectant formula which tends to leave a slightly oily residue on the table tops and thereafter cleaned after each meal (and not Dirt as you mention )

5). I was very concerned when hearing about the cutlery incident but on further inspecting the cutlery in question the marks were not as you say food particulars but metal discoloration . which I agree is also not acceptable

6). The gentleman you mention as" staying out of sight" ,after expressing your issues to him , actual went to the kitchen to fast track your groups meal ..

7) Your larger group on the separate table to yours ,on leaving expressed their satisfaction of the meal and service and tipped the waitress generously..

8) if you had communicated to us beforehand that you were on a tight schedule we would have tried to have accommodated you group timorously as we have done with many tour groups in the past..however we understand your frustration ,but not for walking out without paying for your personal meal !


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019

We were a couple of friends and we came to order a pizza for takeaway.

While waiting for our Pizza we were chilling around the fireplace because it was quite cold outside. Our pizza already arrived and we decided to just stand a little bit longer at the fire when we heard one guy (he was a bit younger,had grey hair,and had a haircut with a little bit more hair at the back then at the front) saying " A take-away is a take-away" we deducted from his comment that he indirectly meant that "since you guys already recieved your order ,please leave now".

We then went for a smoke break outside the restaurant and we decided to go back ,when we entered we first stood by the fire just to warm up because i mean it's cold outside.So while standing there for a little while another guy( he was older ,had glasses on and was bald) asked us with an attitude what do we want ,like we are a bunch of bad guy's,his attitude shifted the whole atmosphere for us,we wanted to order some drinks and eat our pizza that we ordered for takeaway a few minutes ago but because of this guy's attitude we decided to just leave this place.

To the management you have to learn to embrace all your customers and nor treat them on the basis of how they look.

I'm definitely not coming back to this place.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank markk97667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin S, Owner at Nature's Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

What you failed to mention in the above comment was that you were the boy- friends of my waitress staff and that you were loitering around waiting for one them to finish her shift and blocking the fireplace and the restaurant entrance for other potential patrons, and when approached you were "very vague" with your response !! and as the owner of a licencee premises I or my management have the full legal right to approach any patron where by their behavior or actions interferes with my staff ,patrons or the running of the business . In future I suggest that if you have an issue with your girlfriends employer that you "man up" and discuss the issues face to face with them !! and not hide behind an internet forum !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

We stopped in for a quick snack .We had to call the waitress over , her attitude made it quite clear she didn't wish to be disturbed. We ordered drinks and had to call her back to order food , she was grumpy and has a few argument s with other staff .We ordered a cheese and tomato sandwich and a tuna bruschetta with onion . After 25 m we went to ask where our food was - when it came the chips were disgusting and the presentation shocking . Another waitress had thumped a box down with utensils
The food was really poor, there appeared be a manager/owner who was pottering around . Anyone going there should seek a reasonable place
We were charged R 9.50 for a few raw onion strips

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank grahame943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin S, Manager at Nature's Valley Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

We encourage our patrons to place any complaints to management at time of meal ,this way we can resolve any problems immediately , as there is no excuse for the service you received and the individuals concerned have been dealt with ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature's Valley Restaurant also viewed

Nature's Valley, Western Cape
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Nature's Valley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing