We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nature's Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Bramsche, Germany
2 reviews
“What an amazing experience”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Just Wow!!! I extended my initial stay of one day to five days... And not by accident :) The setting is absolutely stunning, the nature breathtaking, my first Yoga experience - wouldn't want to miss it!!! The people surrounding you - friendly, warm hearted, inspiring. Drinking tea out of a jar, something totally new to me but a great idea to recycle easily. To put it all into a nutshell - an unexpected pleasure :) Thank You!!!
Björn

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern_Holtze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    43
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
69
60
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

a beautiful place to visit with grand sights to see and lovely walks to do... except if it's raining. camping in what amounts to a horse paddock is unnerving if you aren't a horsey person and aren't used to such large beasts jogging up to you for treats... again it gets pretty flooded when raining.

the hangout areas are great tho and mega warm n cozy for rainy days. food's over-priced (if you aren't converting from a strong foreign currency) but the self catering kitchen is great.

many earthy hippie folk hanging about create an interesting atmosphere, maybe more volunteers than guests but warm and welcoming.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yolande D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpiritBP, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi Yolande!

Thank you for your lovely comments about our place.
With regards the campsite, we are in our rainy season, and as such the ground-water table is very high, which means that when it rains a lot, the water takes a long time to absorb into the ground. Unfortunately this can result in a very wet camping experience! Next time you visit us, please let us know while you are still here if you are dissatisfied, because a plan can always be made! (such as helping you move your tent to higher ground or a grassier area).
Thank you for bringing my attention to the horses, I will look into fencing off the campsite to make it more relaxing. I'm sorry that it made you feel uncomfortable.
Regarding our meals, we understand of course that our humble South African rand does not go particularly far. However, we put a lot of care into preparing our home-made meals so that they are interesting, balanced, and healthy by sourcing all of our fresh produce and meat from local, organic, ethical, free-range farmers. Also, taking into account that we work on a "help yourself to as much as you want and come back for seconds" basis, we we feel that R60 (for vegetarian) and R75 (for meat) is fair.

Hope to see you guys again in the future, please let me know if you would like to chat further :) Happy travels! Ola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here with my Girlfriend for 3 nights as part of our round the world trip and it turned out to be the best place we stayed the entire year!! We stayed in the Bee Keepers Cottage which was beautiful. The views were fantastic.

Make sure you do the small treks around the area as it is stunningly beautiful.

The staff went out of their way to make you feel like one of the family and the communal suppers were delicious. Singing for your supper is a great idea and along with the fire poi and drum circle it was unbeatable.

The fact that the Bunjy is only a short drive away is an extra bonus.

I hope to return one day soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bee Keepers Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's a great backpackers we decided two times to stay longer. The vibe is amazing and the staff are mostly voluntaries and very helpful with everything. It's located very nicely in the forest but you won't feel bored, because there are on the old farm already so many things to do and you can reach the national park easily to do great hiking trips there.
In the evenings they make drum cycles or dress up parties.
The rooms were clean, the only thing that was not perfect was the kitchen which was kind of smelly and not that nice to cook, but they offer dinner every night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpiritBP, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review, I am so pleased to read that you had a great time here. Thank you for your feedback regarding our self catering kitchen, we are actually in the process of moving our kitchen at the moment to make it easier and more enjoyable for our guests. :)

Thank you for visiting the Wild Spirit and we would love to see you hear again :)

Kind Regards,

Ola and The Wild Spirit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My hubby and I started doing the backpackers thing late last year and we have stayed in some great places but THIS has come out tops and I'll be amazed if we ever find somewhere as gorgeous as Wild Spirit. It has this magical feel to it like you have stepped into the pages of a story book full of woodland creatures and if a fairy or pixie came darting passed I wouldn't have been surprised. Fabulous people, great food, the cleanest room and bathroom ever (we stayed in an en-suite), a waterfall a mere 30 min walk from the gardens of the backpackers. I could go on and on but seriously you must go there and see for yourself!
P.S the swimming pool wasn't terrible, just empty due to water restrictions over the Summer, I can't seem to un-highlight the silly dots in the ratings!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimandRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpiritBP, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am thrilled to read you had such a magical experience with us. :)

Thanks again and please don't forget to visit us in the future!

Hopefully see you again soon,

Ola and the Wild Spirit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've been here twice now, once in 2009 and another time in 2013. I can safely say I'd happily return for a third time. The whole atmosphere in the hostel is very chilled and a lovely place to relax. The staff are all very friendly and always down for conversation. There is plenty to do in the area, including a few scenic walks which the staff will happily assist you with on information. I'd recommend this place for anyone, from backpackers, to families and groups of people. I stayed in dorms and they were incredibly clean, with little noise which ensured a peaceful rest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpiritBP, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased to read that you had such a great time here and we would love to have you for a 3rd time! :) Don't forget to visit us again in the future!

Kind Regards,
;
Ola and the Wild Spirit Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Coming from the direction of Durban, heading for Cape Town this place was a touch hard to find, but certainly worth our perseverance. Very well located to some sensational walks. The one to the nearby waterfall was short but well worth it. The all day hike which takes on a secluded bay was the best I have been on-had all the elements-views, jungle, beach, rock climbing, and a touch of danger :) Nice. Food was great. Had lots of dogs and cats to keep you company. Horse riding also available. A private park was nearby with some hand reared cheetahs. Worth going to if you want to pat a cheetah.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpiritBP, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read you had a good time here and enjoyed all the things Wild Spirit has to offer. I really hope to see you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Ola and the Wild Spirit Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nature's Valley
21.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
861 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
166 reviews
3.1 mi away
Face Tranquility B&B
Face Tranquility B&B
#2 of 3 in Nature's Valley
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
20.8 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers

Property: Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Nature's Valley 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Nature's Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nature's Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Spirit Backpackers Lodge is a well-loved, laid-back and friendly family-run business situated on Khoinania farm in The Crags. Located right on the western tip of the Tsitsikamma National Park, it is literally in the heart of the Garden Route, between Plettenberg Bay and Storm's River. Close to Nature's Valley beach and lagoon this eco-friendly open-minded backpackers is surrounded by indigenous forests with blissful views over the valleys and mountains - the ultimate place to come and relax. Accommodation ranges from simple and lovely private en-suite family and double rooms, to ready-made Safari tents, bunk free dorms and simple off the grid camp sites for budget travellers looking for a quiet place to rest their souls. The beautifully sculpted Driftwood Boma and Tree-house deck are great places to soak up the sun and contemplate the peace of your surroundings whilst meeting new people, or cuddle up in the cosy Log cabin with the cats, dogs and a fire on rainy days. Everyday enjoy yummy nutritious dinners and breakfasts, lovingly prepared with fresh local ingredients. Alternative and sustainable energy designs, creative spaces and organic gardens are dotted around this magical 18-hectare farm. Activities on the farm include swimming in the rock pools of a private 80m Waterfall, or taking a short walk through the indigenous forest to visit the majestic Yellowwood tree. Alternatively, you can get your hands dirty in the gardens, learn a new craft from one of the many skilled staff members, or relax in a tree-house with horses grazing nearby. If you manage to tear yourself away from the beauty of the lodge then there are various animal sanctuaries nearby including elephants, big cats, birds and monkeys, as well as local horse-rides and a great farm stall to pick up some lunch. Nearby Nature's Valley is ideal for nature lovers with walks and hikes in all directions, and is one of the most pristine beaches on the Garden Route. The lagoon down there is also spectacular for swimming, kayaking, and bird-watching. Adrenaline and adventure activities such as the world's highest Bungy jump, Africanyon river adventures, and Tsitsikamma treetop canopy tours are nearby. The come home, relax with sun-downers on the deck, and spend an evening under the stars talking to interesting travellers around the fire whilst the team prepare a delicious home-made dinner with fresh produce from the organic gardens. See their website for more info on facilities, services and the wide range of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Spirit Lodge And Backpackers South Africa/Garden Route

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing