We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nature's Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Myself and brother have just left Wild Spirit after 4 wonderful nights in this "Special place"
We loved everything about it and although it may not be everyone's paradise if you want to completely get off the beaten track and forget about the "Real world" Then this escape is meant for you!
Ola, Jaryd and Michaela were all so warm and helpful during our stay and at night the place was transformed by fires and light music not forgetting the smells of wonderful home cooked food and fire dancing!!
We both totally lost ourselves here and I spent 2 mornings in the Yoga room in total silence which is hard to find while traveling down the coast of South Africa!
Staying on the farm was wonderful and the walk to the waterfall was great plus there were many animals around including a very cute puppy called Topaz! The cleaning ladies made sure our room was spotless and the kitchen was also sufficient for self catering backpackers!
The staff didn't mind taking us on early morning shuttles to Tenikwa and the Elephant sanctuary and our sunrise walk with Cheetahs is an experience that both of us will cherish forever! Also if you book the morning Elephant trunk in hand walk you get %50 discount!
This place is what its name reads "Wild" and with lots of spirit!!
I advise you take take a break from life and stay in this haven here in the Crags, South Africa.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay special
Steve and Paul

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    43
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
69
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stopped by the Wild Spirit Lodge in January 2012 on my way from CT to Jburg on the Baz Bus. My intention was only to stay two nights and then head on as I wanted to see as much as possible of the places I missed heading the other way during the weeks earlier, but the energy and beauty of the place along with the kind, open and helpful people, both staff and guests, made it almost impossible to leave. I ended up staying ten days and had to fly up to Johannesburg to catch my flight home, not regretting a single moment staying in one place so long.
The food provided in the evenings was outstanding, the self catering was as good as any I encountered in SA (or anywhere else) and the scenery was fantastic. As I slept in my own tent I cannot comment on the rooms though, but I found all communal spaces including bathrooms to be quite clean.
It is a bit off the beaten track so not the optimal place if you want to go on lots of sightseeing/activities and don't have your own transportation, but as a place to hang out, kick back, read books, go for walks, swim in secluded rock pools under waterfalls in the jungle and just enjoy the company of some amazing people, I reckon it's second to none. The kind of place you visit for a few days that can easily turn in to your entire vacation, but that you will never regret. Obviously not everyone's cup of tea, but if it's your kind of beverage, you'll be hard put to find anything like it in SA (and few places elsewhere). I cannot recommend it enough, and look very much forward to visiting again. This time without a deadline.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrobatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had no idea how amazing this place was until we arrived. It's great value. You are situated in the middle of the forest. Eco friendly. Bar is so cool made out of trees etc. I felt at home at once. Staff were friendly and helpful. They did not try to sell us any trips but when asked advised on all the free things to do! Including a 4 hour hike with a free shuttle. Easy to navigate and they supplied the maps. Only thing I regret is not staying there longer! Miss that place and i would come back to SA solely to visit them again! Andy and Kate

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fully7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Right in the tsitsikama nature reserve,so peacefull and quite. we enjoyed our time.
Also the staff was extrimly nice and helpfull.
The rooms are clean and you can watch the sunrising over the tsitsikama moutains from your bed!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

It began over the phone with an accommodating attitude; 'three's a bit of a crowd for Gum Tree Cottgae, but the bed is big!" So I made the reservation. Indeed the bed was enormous, but not quite as big as the view from the room out east across the forest, towards the mountains and the early morning sunrise my 8 year old daughter woke me to see. Her brother, who elected to sleep on a matress on the floor, slept on exhausted by an afternoon of exploring the forest, climbing trees and building tree-houses. It was only hunger that brought them back early evening to find me lazing on the deck, a cold beer in my hand. It was easy to russle up a quick meal for them in the well equipped back-packers' kitchen, but I ate dinner with the other guests out on the deck. Do not miss out on Jenny's cooking if you like real food. Breakfast too is a treat of home made muselis, breads, jams and if you have the appetite for it, eggs cooked to order. Tea and coffee is available anytime, free. But most of all, it was the hospitality that made us reluctant to leave. Cliche as it may sound, we felt like old friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

i loved the stay at willd spirit! we have been traveling south africa almost 2 months- and this place is something refreshingly different. It is in the middle of the forest, with many short walks leaving from the lodge- great for extra time in the evening/early morning/between other activities. This is deffinately the spot for eco- aware people- and staying here makes you feel part of an ecological farm: recyceling and more, horses, chicken, dogs and cats. good healthy very localy grown food and meals, and beatifull design from recycled and local material everywhere. they have this deck overlooking the forest where there is always great music and something nice to eat (dont miss out on the faboulous 70% chocolate treats that adrian makes)
the only con is being a bit farther from the beach- its a 15 min drive to the village of nature valley, but than agaun, its closer as a base to do stuff around tsitsikama. also- the farm stall down the road from them has excellant food- not to be missed.
all in all- staying there felt like being part of this friendly family that runs the place- and the whole setting and envirement is very relaxing and nicely designed.,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miryam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is located in a beautiful, secluded area with various scenic hikes right out the door. The staff where extremely helpful and friendly. They were always happy to chat at the bar of go on a hike with you in their time off. The dorm accommodations were above average, but there is no reason to spend too much time in your room with all the fun things to do outside. Wildspirit is also very eco-friendly and is constantly looking for ways to reduce, reuse, and recycle. Lastly, and most importantly, the home cooked meals are amazing(and healthy).
I would highly recommend wildspirit to anyone. Also anyone who may have given this establishment poor reviews most likely hates most things and should be ignored.

Room Tip: stay in the dorms and make a new friend
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nature's Valley
21.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.1 mi away
Face Tranquility B&B
Face Tranquility B&B
#2 of 3 in Nature's Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lily Pond Country Lodge
Lily Pond Country Lodge
#2 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
4.6 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers

Property: Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Address: R102 Nature's Valley Road, Nature's Valley 6602, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Nature's Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nature's Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Spirit Backpackers Lodge is a well-loved, laid-back and friendly family-run business situated on Khoinania farm in The Crags. Located right on the western tip of the Tsitsikamma National Park, it is literally in the heart of the Garden Route, between Plettenberg Bay and Storm's River. Close to Nature's Valley beach and lagoon this eco-friendly open-minded backpackers is surrounded by indigenous forests with blissful views over the valleys and mountains - the ultimate place to come and relax. Accommodation ranges from simple and lovely private en-suite family and double rooms, to ready-made Safari tents, bunk free dorms and simple off the grid camp sites for budget travellers looking for a quiet place to rest their souls. The beautifully sculpted Driftwood Boma and Tree-house deck are great places to soak up the sun and contemplate the peace of your surroundings whilst meeting new people, or cuddle up in the cosy Log cabin with the cats, dogs and a fire on rainy days. Everyday enjoy yummy nutritious dinners and breakfasts, lovingly prepared with fresh local ingredients. Alternative and sustainable energy designs, creative spaces and organic gardens are dotted around this magical 18-hectare farm. Activities on the farm include swimming in the rock pools of a private 80m Waterfall, or taking a short walk through the indigenous forest to visit the majestic Yellowwood tree. Alternatively, you can get your hands dirty in the gardens, learn a new craft from one of the many skilled staff members, or relax in a tree-house with horses grazing nearby. If you manage to tear yourself away from the beauty of the lodge then there are various animal sanctuaries nearby including elephants, big cats, birds and monkeys, as well as local horse-rides and a great farm stall to pick up some lunch. Nearby Nature's Valley is ideal for nature lovers with walks and hikes in all directions, and is one of the most pristine beaches on the Garden Route. The lagoon down there is also spectacular for swimming, kayaking, and bird-watching. Adrenaline and adventure activities such as the world's highest Bungy jump, Africanyon river adventures, and Tsitsikamma treetop canopy tours are nearby. The come home, relax with sun-downers on the deck, and spend an evening under the stars talking to interesting travellers around the fire whilst the team prepare a delicious home-made dinner with fresh produce from the organic gardens. See their website for more info on facilities, services and the wide range of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Spirit Lodge And Backpackers South Africa/Garden Route

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing