We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced boutique B & B style accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Face Tranquility B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff. Free WiFi. Room clean but very small -nowhere to place suitcases consequently tripping over them every time you move around the room. Bathroom clean, and well equipped. No air conditioning and because close to beach clothing and bedding clammy due to high humidity. Breakfast included in price, but apart from yogurt fruit cocktail it is poor. Eggs like leather and service poor - coffee indifferent and toast awful - more like a rusk. Evening meal OK - wine overpriced. No phone in room. Room had a verandah, but open to the elements and therefore of little use. Verandah not secure - no lockable door. Insufficient secure car parking. In summary a pleasant three night stay with sufficient irritants to make another visit doubtful.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c, General Manager at Face Tranquility B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Aubrey

Thanks for the review and we have noted your irritants. We have installed privacy screens on the verandas so it feels more secure and cosy In all rooms now we have installed luggage racks to keep your cases out of the living area.

Although not all guests can park in our driveway we have not had any security issues in 12 years of operation with cars parked outside. Natures Valley is pretty much crime free thanks to its unique location and security patrols.

Hope you do come back to see us and review chef''s new egg pan.

All the best and Happy Travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 130 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

This place is one of my favorite places in the world. The staff are awesome, the owner is great and the chef should be a judge on Masterchef! That good. Definitely reccomend this secret to anyone looking for what you call a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YassGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark c, General Manager at Face Tranquility B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks Yass Sorry for the belated response to your kind words. Also congratulations once again on your engagement on the beach here outside the Lodge you both looked fantastic.

The bubbly is on ice for your next visit !

Best wishes


Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. In our opinion the rather disappointing views are unfair. It is true that if (like us) you have a downstairs room you can hear those walking about upstairs. But the rooms were clean and everything worked well. The breakfast was fine. We did not try the swimming pool but the hot jacuzzi was great. Although we did not have supper it was available provided you booked it before 4pm. We were there for 2 nights and had supper in the pub next door. It is a very evocative area, close to the beach with excellent walking.

We were made very welcome by the staff and (as I write this) they are sending back some clothes I foolishly left behind. It was an unusual experience which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night before hiking the Otter Trail and were rather disappointed with our experience. I was tempted to score the establishment as "Poor" rather than "Average"; but it actually sits at around about "Poor and a half" !!

First the good - the room and establishment as a whole are very pretty and have all the facilities that you would need for an overnight stay and we were very impressed. The en-suite was clean with plenty of hot water and the Lodge has a Swimming Pool and a Jacuzzi too. The garden is well laid out and very neat and pretty. Checking in was quick and easy and we were given a tour of the facilities by the manageress.

Now the bad - we stayed in one of the two upstairs rooms and could hear EVERYTHING that our neighbours said, even though the people were not loud at all. The normal TV sound and their talking voices came through the wall as if it was non-existent. There was also a door or a window somewhere that creaked and slammed throughout the night even though there wasn't a wind. Lastly, we had to leave earlier than the scheduled breakfast start of 08h30 in the morning and were promised a packed breakfast instead, which was to have been ready for 07h45. When it was time for us to leave, not only was there NO packed breakfast but the manageress was also nowhere to be found. We actually passed her on our way out of Natures Valley as she had been collecting the staff; but her reason for the lack of a packed breakfast was that the gas had run out. I’m not sure whether that was meant to be comforting for us or whether it was a warning to the other guests that they were about to get a cold breakfast.

Overall our experience was not a very “Tranquil” one and I will surely look for different accommodation if I were ever in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stranger_and_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed 2 nights out of what should have been 5. Descriptions seriously over hyped. Not least that there was no longer a restaurant and it was a long drive to the nearest decent one. This was our lowest point on what had been a great holiday to South Africa. Do not go there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Very sad to say that this B&B simply does not deliver its promises.
Tranquillity can only be had id you have a room upstairs bbecause the building was apparently built on a tight budget and is also cramped.
We had tenants above us and when they walked around it woke us up every time.
If you have a room toward the main garden you will not hear the ocean but only the water fountain.
Beware of the budget room ( if you can call it that way ) on the back side because you will hear the ocean but also the dryer noises because you are next to the laundry room.
The jacuzzi has no jets, the pool is unheated and none of the 2 have chlorine in it; I would not want to take a sample of that water, thus to me they where unusable.
The rooms have been furnished nicely and with luxury in mind but all in all is is just too much money for what it is.
The staff is nice but has an attitude as if they run a 5 star establishment while in fact they only have 3 from the south African tourist Commission.
We stayed for 3 weeks in South Africa at many B&B, the ones that measure up to the Tranquillity Lodge cost about 60 % of what you pay here.
We wanted to stay 6 nights and wound up leaving the nest day drove towards Plettenburg Bay and on the next beach, archrock we found a place with a room 3 times the size with FULL ocean view ( all of Natures Valley is behind a big dune ) patio with class railing our own BBQ and payed you guessed it 60% of the Budget room at the tranquillity lodge. Its your money and your decision but it is simply not worth the money.

Room Tip: Go to the next bay called archrock and get accomodation there ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelrewiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

During the preparations for a road trip down the Garden Route we came across Tranquility Lodge. The advertised awards, Best Honeymoon Destination, was the deciding point on the establishment. Our stay however was not close to what I would call an award winning venue. Although the lodge was adequately decorated and looked after, the greatest disappointment came in the rooms. The beds were very uncomfortable and in general no where near worthy of the four star rating and definitely not that of the five star pricing. The beach is Beyond beautiful though and a must see for any beach lover. I would strongly advise anyone to reconsider booking at Tranquility Lodge... what you get compared to what you are expecting at a grossly inflated rate is just disappointing .

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BronwynStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nature's Valley
18.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
951 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
580 reviews
17.1 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Misty Mountain Reserve
Misty Mountain Reserve
#3 of 5 in Tsitsikamma National Park
282 reviews
4.5 mi away
Trogon House and Forest Spa
5.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 72 in Plettenberg Bay
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Face Tranquility B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Face Tranquility B&B

Address: 130 St Michael's Avenue | Garden Route, Nature's Valley 6602, South Africa (Formerly Tranquility Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Nature's Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nature's Valley
Price Range: $85 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Face Tranquility B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FACE the beauty that is Tranquility B&B in the heart of natures valley,South Africa - where the ocean & forest meet in magnificent splendor & nature seeps into your soul. Luxury B&B accommodation includes seven double en-suite rooms, one of which is our "honeymoon" or "penthouse" suite. We have 2 Superior Twin/King rooms also located on the upper floor. Our Standard rooms are located downstairs. All our rooms include a delicious breakfast to complete the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Face Tranquility B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Face Tranquility B&B South Africa/Garden Route

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing