We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel President Solin
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Everything. Room was clean, spacious and well furnished with nice view.
Staff was more than helpful and English was perfect. Building and lobby were spotless and the architecture, was splendid.
Breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel President Solin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 264 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

On our recent road trip along Croatia coast line we went to this hotel without booking. They charged us more than what internet price on booking.com. After a long day travel we were tired and want to sleep early. Then we found the sink is leaking heavily. We called service at 8 Pm but this 5 star hotel no handy man working at this time. The hotel offer us switching to another room. We are tired and already unpacked, and no energy to do it. Then hotel refuse to any other compensation.
This 5 star hotel also does not have coffee maker in room so you cannot make a hot tea or coffee. The breakfast is normal as other 3 star hotel, nothing special. The room we had on the top floor attic room with tilt ceiling bump our head several times.

We are on the road for two weeks and only this hotel gave us unhappy experience.
It is not worth what you pay for. Stay away it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks on an all-in Saga holiday. The room was lovely with a view of Gospin Otok island. Little things are beginning to slip, though. Maintenance is not good if anything is loose or broken. The beds were very comfortable and were changed almost evry day, it seemed. The standard of cleanliness is superb.

I don't know how anybody can complain about the Saga bar not being replenished immediately - it was all in, for goodness sake and it was plentiful.

The staff were all wonderful.

The bath sides were very high and difficult for anybody with mobility problems. Anti slip mats should be standard, even though a request brought one immediately. One lady had a nasty accident.

The food was plentiful and I shouldn't complain, but fish, turkey, chicken and pork twice a day, meal after meal, always overcooked by the buffet heaters got a bit monotonous. Lovley omelettes and pancakes made to order and great breakfasts. I loved the salads, but the previous meal's uneaten meat was always there in the "meat salad".

The conservatory, not very old, leaked like a sieve and the builders should be called back. At one stage we had towels on the floor and a deluge onto the saga teabags and coffee! The indoor swimming pool was OK, but already neglected which seems to be par for the course.

The reason that I gave a poor for location is not the immediate environs of the hotel, but the area which one has to travel through to get anywhere. Communist housing blocks and post-communist derelict industry, graffiti, bad roads and footpaths need attention if this part of Croatia is to increase its tourist potential. Also, many attractions are closed on Sundays as we found in Kastella.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madamemerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, lovely room. Front desk staff was charming. Read other reviews and must remind you that you are not in the USA = no 220 in bathroom, many tubs have high sides, buffet breakfasts are all about the same in tourist hotels. This one is clean, public areas are comfortable, recently decorated, does not smell old nor does it look worn. Yes, could be closer to Split's waterfront and you need taxi to get there.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank vbflgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights before flying back to UK from Split. It is more of a business hotel than a holiday hotel. A very opulent and grand foyer with chandeliers and sweeping staircase, dark mahogany furniture and large rooms. Three nights was long enough and we pity those staying longer. The buffet food in the dining room is very boring and cold, the fancy spa baths are too high for older people to climb in and out of and there is no separate shower. The outside swimming pools are closed and in dire need of cleaning out, not sure if they have been used at all this year. One of them is very green and dirty with broken wooden bridges over the water. Looks like someone a long time ago had some very grand ideas of a fancy pool but it all went wrong ! See my pictures !
We certainly wouldn't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a Titan trip, and from the previous reviews posted we entered with some trepidation.
The hotel is the sum of 2 parts, with really excellent accommodation that almost lived up to 5*.
The catering was not good and closer to 3*. The restaurant was understaffed, with buffet items not replenished, the food at dinner was uninspiring.( Possibly non group diners may have been luckier). Breakfast was OK
As has been said, bar prices were high, but the local bar,just opposite was really friendly and good. The pool was not clean but the rest of the hotel and rooms spotless.
Location for us was fine, as we travelled by coach, but possibly not so good with your own transport.
I would liked to have rated higher as the rooms deserve but the management must get to grips with the catering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnny061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Much has been written about this hotel both positive and negative,so, I will try to add points not made so far.
Depending on how you end up here,single traveler or group travel will dictate to some degree those opinions given.
The 5* rating is probably due to the facilities,eg,three pools,Gym,sauna etc rack up the rate even though two of the pools seem never to have been maintained and are seldom in use. group travel rooms do not have the same Toiletries,often appear to be at the front of the Hotel {Be aware that the church on the park will ring a toll of bell's .....30/50....at 5am each morning!!! we sleep with doors open so it alarmed us thinking we were being invaded!!}.........

The old world style is quite lovely,it is spotless through out,the staff are 5* {Thank you Tea Sushjar for your help with the Kitten i rescued} but should you be with say saga,it seems that a degree of restriction applies to what you can do or where you go.

The price of wine etc at both the bar and in the restraunt is quite hi so I would suggest that the small bar out and to the left of the main entrance is a very good option. Lidl supermarket is only a minute or so away for those who like a glass of wine or spirit in the room.

I liked the hotel a lot,sadly it has illusions of grandeur so if Trip had a 'Good' section it would be that....5* sadly it is not.

Room Tip: Do not be tempted with a park facing room if you like to leave the door to the balcony open,5am 30/5...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solin
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.8 mi away
Hotel Salona Palace
Hotel Salona Palace
#2 of 3 in Solin
33 reviews
2.5 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#21 of 56 in Split
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dioklecijan Hotel & Residence
3.1 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#11 of 56 in Split
226 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Lemongarden
Hotel Lemongarden
#1 of 1 in Sutivan
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President Solin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Solin

Address: Ulica Petra Kreshimira IV 11, Solin 21210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Solin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solin
Price Range: $127 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Solin 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel President Solin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing