We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No credit cards???? Ridiculous....”
Review of Hotel Mirni Kutak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirni Kutak
Ranked #3 of 5 Otocac B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The fact that they don't accept credit cards is really disturbing, they have the device but for some absurd reasons it never seemed to work when we were there. Unfortunately,we found out too late and were forced to go downtown to collect money from a bank. One other customer got quite mad at them for the same reason. The owner is a good guy but doesn't speak english so you have to rely on his daughter (ok) or his young son (that's the real problem) who makes mistakes with exchange rates and tries to fool you with his fake good manners. Major disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pygargus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 36 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a base for a day in the Plitvice national park (which we can highly recommend). It turned out to be a 45 minute drive, but the drive was nice so no problem.

The hotel itself must be typical for the region, meaning many rooms, huge restaurant (250 seats!), catering for all sorts of probably local occasions. Furniture is not flashy or trendy, but a somewhat typical collection of dark wood and leather, but comfortable enough. The room was not the best we ever had; the bed was simple with a foam mattrass and I rate my sleep at 7/10, (OK, not excellent), but we did have air-conditioning and a TV with sufficient channels to allow some zapping.

The spa was nice; a small indoor pool with jacuzzi to allow some cooling down after a day of hiking; outside of the spa was a terrace with some deck chairs to get some evening sun. The sauna was small, but comfortable. We had the place to ourselves and if you pay in cash you can use the spa for free.

Highlight of our two-night stay was the restaurant. The menu offers an enormous choice (must be 100+ items on there), ranging from lots of different meat dishes to (mostly sweet water) fish and everything we tried was well-prepared and of good quality and very very affordable. Everything was clearly freshly prepared. The service was extremely friendly, warm as well as efficient.

Don't expect four star facilities, but if you are looking for a touch of local atmosphere, true hospitality, excellent food and a bit of adventure, we can recommend this place. We had fun and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

"Hotel with a swimming pool, whirlpool, air conditioning, great restaurant with local and international cuisine, inviting rooms, blah, blah blah, the list of it's self glorification goes on. The very tiny swimming pool, no bigger than 3 x 6 meters at the very most, cost nearly an additional 6 EUR per hour per person so we didn't bother. The rooms were big or at least we got a big one but it didn't even have a proper bed. I don't class a few planks of wood bolted together with a piece of foam over the top of a board, a bed. It was rock hard and impossible to sleep on. Luckily we had air matrasses with us which we had to use on both beds in the room. There was NO airconditioning in the rooms, it's only downstairs in the main rooms and their claim of it is deliberately misleading or if it did exist, it's permanantly switched off to the rooms. The restaurant menu consisted mainly of various four-legged animals on a spit, the international cuisine thing was a bit of a mystery but maybe that was the Heinz Mushroom Soup out of a tin covered that angle. Oh and roasted chicken was actually chicken burgers. All in all the restaurant combined with the equally poor show breakfast was pretty ropey. The WIFI was good and pretty fast but only available next to reception but they have tables there with power sockets. The layout of the building isn't ideal for WIFI.

For the money we paid to stay there, we stayed in far superior hotels in Croatia in better locations for around the same price and certainly quite a few euros should be lobbed of it. Interestingly too, the sign outside states it's a four star hotel (?????) There's a sticker over one of the stars (?????) The staff were very nice but I did feel that it was an "I saw you coming" senario.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilah2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank la_nikita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank 851SilviaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftronz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otocac hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Park Exclusive
Hotel Park Exclusive
#4 of 5 in Otocac
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zvonimir
Hotel Zvonimir
#2 of 5 in Otocac
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
House Buric
#4 of 13 in Otocac
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apartman Miramare
Apartman Miramare
#5 of 13 in Otocac
1 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Gacka
Hotel Gacka
#1 of 5 in Otocac
32 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rooms Markovic
Rooms Markovic
#6 of 13 in Otocac
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirni Kutak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirni Kutak

Address: Gornja Dubrava 63 | Gornja Dubrava 63, Otocac 53220, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Lika-Senj County > Otocac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Otocac
Price Range: $45 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirni Kutak 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Familly hotel with familly atmosphere. Sourounding at quiet, fresh and natural air just 1.5km from noice town and 5km from highway A1 Zagreb-Split, Exit 10, Otočac.. Tipical and comfortable hotel with 3 stars for relax in the tranquil, nice and comfort rooms.Our restourant offers Croatian kichen, with awards for 100 leaders restourant in Croatia. For recreation and relax your self, offers recreation swimingpool with under water massage and Finland sauna with volcanic rocks.All rooms have air-conditioning, heating, mini-bar, Telephone, Tv. TV-SAT, free WI FI conection, Wc with shower tub or bath tub in the room, hairdryer, etc..We are just 55 from National park Plitvice Lakes and in the heart of Gacka valley wich is the Best position for Fly fishing - Trout.Our service on reception will be glad to gave you flyers and explain you road or to recommand a places wich you can visit during the time in hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mirni Kutak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing