We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Pedro de Timote
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay here. We've been to private estancias/campo's (rural houses) of friends in the past and always had a good time (riding horses, etc.). We've been to Uruguay many times so know the country well and what standards to expect.

Good:
- The location is great and the drive through the country side provides a good picture of the real Uruguay.
- The buildings and estate are authentic and with beautiful grounds - exuding some of the splendor of the past of this estate.
- Staff were all very friendly and accommodating - and flexible with requests.
- The horseback riding is great
- There's wifi
- You can fish nearby and that's fun.

Bad:
- The rooms are awful and have not been updated in years/decades. The bathroom fixtures seemed about 40 years or more old and there was no water pressure at all (we were required to take showers in the pool building). There was no desk/table to place anything and the closets were so old they were falling apart/windows couldn't close properly. Shampoo in tiny plastic bags. No water bottles in the room. plastering paint. The carpet is a faded brown color. You get the idea - most youth hostels have better quality rooms.
- The number of activities was very limited. no specific activities for kids that had any rural component (e.g. walks, milking cows, visiting the barn, seeing baby lambs/goats). No folklore. They had hay rides, a lecture, music (good), 2 horseback rides a day (good) and that was basically it.
- There is basically only one gaucho running around (the real deal) but that isn't enough for such a large property and to create the sense that you are on the campo. I know they only have horses and no cows - but why not have a couple of gauchos running around, entertaining guests, explaining the gaucho life. The horse rides are good - but again - one gaucho for the entire group.
- Food was a big disappointment. No eggs for breakfast - though the rest was good enough (coffee was good). Lunch and dinner were basically the same set of salads and one or two different mains. I was looking forward to Parilla but they only did this once for lunch (it was good) - which is a shame as they could've easily prepared a dish on the parilla each night. For New Years dinner they had no parilla either which is hard to believe in Uruguay! Instead they brought out cold suckling pig prepared earlier. Dinner on an estancia without the smell of wood burning is just a sad. Teatime consisted of dry biscottis and a few cookies (nothing else). My kids ate hardly anything.
- The only place where you can order a drink/coke/water is the restaurant. Why not at minimum have a few fridges with soda in the various building with an honor system.

San Pedro de Timote is missing many components that create a real rural experience and ambiance.

Clearly there has been a lack of investment and management. San Pedro de Timote has recently been sold (for the third time in 3 years) so you might want to try it after the new owners have made significant investments.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Erik567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for San Pedro de Timote
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Spent 5 nights hear in November with 3 friends and had an amazing time. Never been on a horse but managed to trot and loved the morning and afternoon rides - very sociable and good fun. The food was amazing and facilities excellent. Would highly recommend for a relaxing break particularly if you like the personal touch,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and absolutely loved this place, very historical buildings. Went on horse trek was great fun and enjoyed the warm swim in the indoor pool afterwards. all the facilities vere very good. restaurant meals were really well presented and we enjoyed some excellent meals. The rooms are in an older style but were all clean and tidy rustic would describe some of them. A truly peaceful place only noise was from the birds We would definately reccomend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CassieLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This traditional Uruguayan estancia has some wonderful old Jesuit architecture, however up close the hotel has not been maintained well. It is about a 2+ hour drive from Montevideo through the rural interior of Uruguay. There are several common rooms – an interesting old library, sitting rooms and game rooms – but the upholstery is dusty and worn out, game pieces are missing, the ping pong table is cracked and the balls are old and don’t bounce. The tennis courts are not useable because they are so cracked and the net is torn nearly off. The standard rooms are fairly large, but very dark. They could be much improved with some new lighting, comfortable chairs and modern duvets instead of old bedspreads. (Note, the room photos on their web site must be the superior rooms; these are not the standard rooms.) Being in the country, the feel of the rooms is rustic (of course, no televisions or other technology). My in-laws had a frog in their bathroom. There are three swimming pools – two outdoor and one indoor, which were all nice and many children were enjoying the indoor pool during our stay. The lounge chairs around the pool are also in need of new cushions. Two horseback rides are offered per day and included in the price of your stay, offering tours around the property for beginner level riders and families, with information about the property’s history given in Spanish. I don’t believe many of the staff speak English, so this could be a challenge if no one in your group speaks Spanish. Meals and snacks are served at set time periods each day with ample food (and food is included in the price). If you want a drink in between meal times, you can manage to track someone down, but there is not constant bar or restaurant service. There are some outdoor tables and benches, but, again, more comfortable outdoor seating would be nice for enjoying the views of the countryside and the sunset or just reading a book. We spent three nights at San Pedro, and it was at least 1 night too long. I tried making a reservation by the email address on their web site, but no one ever responded, so I eventually had to call (fortunately I live in Uruguay). If you are looking for a quiet, rustic stay with some horseback riding and maybe a pool for the kids, this may be a good option. In my opinion, the prices are a bit high considering the quality at the moment. With some cosmetic renovations, this place could really be wonderful.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are dark and dreary; it may be worth it to upgrade.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Three weeks at this hotel has given me the opportunity to really appreciate all it has to offer. The staff, restaurant and the activities were outstanding. If you wish to experience the history of a Uruguayan property and have all your needs catered for at the same time...this is the place.
Families, couples or singles. The buffet meals are outstanding. Keep in mind it is an experience to stay here. Its not a modern, sterile, 5-star hotel - but a place to walk, ride a horse, relax and appreciate the countryside. The historic chapel is open at all times, and a member of staff who has lived here all his life, shares his memories while he guides you around the property and then take you horse riding. Loved it..

Room Tip: Larger rooms are in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Accommodations need to be improved. Hot water was poor and not warm enough. Central heating was not working. However the hotel staff provided an electrical heater to compensate. Additionally they offered to light up the fire place. Room which I stayed was not adequately soundproofed. Other than that the landscape and staff were great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank berotoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

We spent a very relaxing 2 nights here. Gabriela proved to be a great manager and host, dealing with our last minute room change requests with no qualms at all and helped with impromptu afternoon tea, as well as other requests. From the start we felt like her guests not clients. The rooms in the main house were massive and very quiet. The rooms in the "out-houses" looked good as well though we did not stay here. There really is only horse-rising to do in the morning and afternoon (except pool lounge, read etc.) and Beto the gaucho let us roam all over the place, canter, gallop, whatever, whilst he walked with the beginners. The countryside of Uruguay can be very flat but the views around the farm were lovely. Note that there are no hard helmets for riding. Beto also has a fire going outside in the morning before riding, which was a real treat at the start of the day. The food was good - I do not eat meat so brought my own fish. Coming from London, we were also blown away with seeing the milky way and stars at night. I agree that the farm does look a bit unloved - the pool areas are not plush or swanky. But apparently a new Spanish owner has come on board and when we were there they were repairing the roof, building a new annex/pool - which might be open to guests - not sure - refurbishing/building was also being carried out on the new dining area etc.. In summary - a bit of old stately Uruguay with great staff and horses.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florida
29.5 mi away
Estancia Hosteria El Ceibo
171.6 mi away
Salinas del Almiron Resort Termal
0.0 mi away
Hosteria Estancia La Paz
Hosteria Estancia La Paz
#1 of 5 in Paysandu
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pedro de Timote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedro de Timote

Address: Km. 142 de la Ruta 7 | Cerro Colorado, Florida 94000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Florida Department > Florida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florida
Price Range: $154 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Pedro de Timote 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your San Pedro de Timote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro De Timote Hotel Florida
San Pedro De Timote Uruguay/Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing