We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MODERN AND CLEAN”
Review of Lake Geneva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lake Geneva Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Versoix
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“MODERN AND CLEAN”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

this new hotel (opened three months ago ) has a few teething problems but shows excellent prospects. Make sure you upgrade to a room with full view of the lake, and you will be woken up by the sun rising over the lake and mountains. Parking ( paying ) is very convenient and you can catch the lift straight to your floor ( handy when you have some luggage ). There is a Coop next door where you can buy good quality foodstuff ( sandwich, salads etc...) but there is also a good restaurant ( albeit noisy ) on the premises. If you want to go out in the evening make sure to see the jetty at Versoix and you can have good Japanese food at a restaurant along the lake. All this is available from walking distance of the hotel. You can catch the train to Geneva ( recommended because traffic in Geneva is painful ) from the station next door to the hotel.

Room Tip: be careful some rooms have no lake views, some partial views only. when I booked online there was co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    121
    34
    16
    11
See reviews for
56
84
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was suggested by a former classmate who resides in Versoix. We came to attend the 7th World Reunion of the International School of Geneva which took place on June 12-15, 2014.
This review is based on my direct experience, and I offer some comments and suggestions.
We arrived by rented car. Although the hotel is on he main road, signs were not clear. One has to go into the underground parking for Coop; hotel parking is at level -4.
At check-in, we were given 1 magnetic card (we should have demanded 2). The card is needed to get up the elevator, to open the door to the room, and card must be placed in a receptacle to turn on the room lights. We figured this out, as front desk staff gave no preliminary instructions and no orientation.
WiFi is available, but one has to use the Username and Password written in printed bond paper in the room. Password was incorrect; password given over the phone by the front desk was incorrect; wife went downstairs (with the magnetic card/key to be able to use the elevator) and left me in the dark, in order to get the correct Password from the front desk person. Whoever wrote the Password on the bond paper transposed upper case and lower case, and the system was case-sensitive. Human error somewhere.
This hotel is not air conditioned: room thermostat registered 25.6 degrees C. No instructions on how to adjust the temperature. After another phone call to the front desk, somebody came after 10PM to show us how to adjust the thermostat: by design, it can only provide +/-3 degrees of change. We were "informed" that the building had to be constructed according to Ecological Requirements. During our entire stay, the coolest registered temperature was 24.3 degrees C, after we tried to reset the temperature several times. We did not sleep well, in spite of having the tiny window open to allow some breeze from the lake. The room did not have a controllable fan.
Next morning, we were told that breakfast was not included: big buffet breakfast was SFr. 24, or "express" breakfast was SFr. 10. We declined, and walked down the road just past the Coop to a Tea Room where we had 2 cappuccinos and 2 croissants for almost SFr. 10.
It was time to go to town. We got in the car, and discovered that our parking card would not work at the gate to leave Level-4. I reversed down the ramp, avoided two posts at the curve at the bottom, turned around and parked, so I could run up to the front desk. Nobody told us that the front desk had to validate the parking card in order for one to get out.
Hotel charges SFr. 24 for parking per day, whether you keep the car for 24 hours or 5 hours in he parking spot.

What are the positive attributes of this hotel? 1. It's new; 2. it's clean; 3. Versoix is a convenient 12 minutes by train to Cornavin, or a fairly easy drive to Geneva. This hotel may be OK for a brief business traveler trip.
What are some shortcomings? 1. High tech loaded with glitches; 2. Hotel staff not adequately trained: I could recognize the pitch from management on how to address client complaints, but management seems unresponsive or may be incapable of implementing necessary changes.
I was told that this hotel opened only last March, and front desk staff claim that the hotel was at capacity. If true, it would be a very commendable situation to be fully booked after only 3 months in business. But if they do not fix these little problems, this hotel deserves to fail.
Based on our recent experiences, I can not recommend this hotel to anybody. And the thought of debugging this place on my own Swiss Francs is very annoying.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and the hotel had only been open for 3 months. The staff are all very pleasant and do a good job. There is free WiFi and a supermarket below the hotel if you have forgotten anything, also it is a 2 min walk from the train station. However the hotel needs some opening tweeks - for instance you cannot adjust the air conditioning temperature in your room and it is set far too high so you are forced to open your window which is fine except for the building site at the back of the hotel which started work (drilling) at 7am and the main road to Geneva out the front. The food is vastly overpriced with breakfast at 20CHF for some pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit. The view is nice over the lake and Geneva is only 15 mins away. I think the hotel will be great once the little bugs are ironed out.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank irwm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a new hotel. It opened to public in March 2014. Unfortunately, it's very rough around the edges, with obvious organisation and coordination issues. I've had to stay here twice, as there are no other similar lodging options in Versoix. The first time I had booked my room with breakfast included through a partner agency, but when I arrived I was surprised to find that breakfast was to be paid separately at a whopping 19 CHF price tag. It's absolutely overpriced given the measly amount of variety they have: a few Danish pastries, a bowl of apples, some cheese and cold meat, and coffee. All rooms are fitted with Air Conditioner, but it's not adjustable and the temperature is absolutely inaccurate. It stated 22 C but it was damn hot, around 28 C. I reported this to the staff, and they were unable to help.

The second time around I ordered a superior room, as they were out of standard ones. According to their website, this room features "bow window which extends outward" with "beautiful views only Lake Geneva". Well, surprise surprise, apparently they placed me in the only Superior room which is worse than a Standard, as it's smaller and has a tiny window not even facing the Lake. After bothering myself with arguing with the hotel manager, I got upgraded to a deluxe room, but I felt like they were doing me a favour. I actually had to show them the room description on their own website. A horrible experience.

Ah, and if all this wasn't enough, the receptionist has forgotten TWICE to give me the free traveller card that Geneva City offers to visitors. When I ask for it they tell me that they don't give it out unless the guest explicitly demands it. This is totally absurd because if I'm only a visitor, how am I supposed to know that the City offers such cards?!

BTW - if you are in a hurry to check out, do so the night before. It can take up to 20 minutes like it my case (where all I did was pay with a credit card and ask for an invoice).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank raulvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
399 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The Hotel Lake Geneva is located on the road along Lake Geneva which leads from Geneva to Lausanne. The hotel opened in March 2014. The rooms are soberly furnished with a seating area by the window. The beds are comfortable, however it is noted it consist of split mattresses, leaving a gap in the middle of the bed. The bathroom has a bathtub instead of a shower cabin. Facilities include flat-screen TV and a safe. The Internet connection is free of charge. Two small bottles of shower gel and shampoo are the only extras. Some standard equipment are cruelly lacking, such as a kettle for coffee or tea making, a refrigerator, the usual bottle of water or a sponge for shoeshine. Rooms overlooking the Lake give a beautiful view. By fine weather the Mont Blanc can be seen in the distance.
Booking portals offer only overnights without breakfast. The price for the meagre display of breakfast items is grossly overcharged, standing at CHF 19.-. There are fresh Danish pastries, coffee and juice, alternately there's either sliced ham or a variety of cheese. Only once were fresh fruits available. Hot food or eggs are missing completely.
The employees are attentive. Free parking is available in the basement of the Coop centre. As customary in Geneva free use of public transports is offered. The train leaves every half hour to Geneva central station. The ride takes 20 minutes.
On the sea promenade or in the village are many restaurants serving rather expensive food. We are in Switzerland, but for the light hunger, supplies can be bought from Coop supermarket below the hotel.
The sparse offer, no gym, a lean breakfast and the secluded location of Geneva does not make this hotel my first choice. Recommendation is given only because the hotel is new and the services should improve after the first months.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is very new therefore a lot of improvements before it has made enough of a statement that can put itself on the map.

Good points
The view makes this hotel!! my room had amazing views of the lake and the alps although i expect you would only get this if you are placed in a room at the front or maybe the right hand side of the hotel. I woke up to a sunrise that was majestic. the room has a calmness that is only disturbed by the distilled sound of the lake or a few tweeting birds - fantastic.

The quality of the room furniture I must admit is Ikea standard although the bed and bedding are excellent quality. there is a smart TV in the room and good amount of lighting to be controlled.

Bad points
The rooms had basic facilities, but we were assured this was because they had only been open for 5 weeks. I had no mini bar/ fridge, no coffee making facilities or extra pillows, slippers or gown- i.e. things you would expect in standard hotels.
Breakfast was very continental i.e limited selection of ham, cheese and croissant (my worst nightmare as i like a hearty breakfast)
The hotel entrance is not easily located and pretty dodgy, especially at night as lighting is minimal.
There is quite a bit of construction work going on in the area but i heard no noise - bonus. its just looks unsightly.

Despite these minor hiccups, I am sure in a few months this hotel will be thriving, they intend to have a terrace restaurants which also provide views. In comparison to other hotels, they are not quite there yet, but I will be definitely going back to stay when it is finished.

Room Tip: When booking i would suggest trying to secure a room at the front. I stayed in room 370, it looks li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessCeleste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

the hotel is 15 minutes away from the airport, 2 minutes away from the train.
rooms are so nice with great view to the lake, staff very friendly and provide all needed info. there is a shopping mall in the same building of the hotel.
the staff of the breakfast serving are always nice and welcoming but breakfast could be richer

Room Tip: make sure your room is facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mazenhosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versoix
0.9 mi away
Geneve Cottage
Geneve Cottage
#2 of 2 in Versoix
58 reviews
3.8 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
477 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
ibis Geneve Centre Nations
4.2 mi away
Eden Hotel Geneva
Eden Hotel Geneva
#10 of 105 in Geneva
409 reviews
5.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Geneva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Geneva Hotel

Property: Lake Geneva Hotel
Address: Route de Suisse 79, Versoix, Geneva 1029, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Versoix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Versoix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Geneva Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HRS, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Geneva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Geneva Hotel Versoix, Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing