We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique combination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fuisse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine la Source des Fees
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

With our three nights at La Source des Fees, we completed what has been over several years a circumnavigation of the perimeter of France and its central regions. Of all the places we have visited and loved, if I could pick only one to which to return, this would be it. Fuisse is a small town surrounded on all sides by vineyards. A short walk up to high ground in any direction takes you to panoramic views that stretch to the horizon. It is so quiet and free from traffic that you feel you have stepped back into another century, but within 10 minutes you can reach the autoroute, and via that route Beaune is on hour away and Dijon an hour and a half. From the Cote d'Or you can the drift back south on small roads through the legendary wine villages of Burgundy, and if you wish, continue past Fuisse into the Beaujolais region.

Your hosts and owners at La Source des Fees are Gerald, Philippe, and Thierry. Their "day job" is their vineyards, one of which stretches right to the back yard of the lodging. The house with five bedrooms dates from the 1600's, but has been lovingly modernized without losing its character. All rooms and bedrooms are spacious and peaceful. Despite their busy days, one of the hosts is always available to look after your needs, and answer all your questions. Their suggestions for day trips will take you to locations you might never have considered. Walking routes are plentiful and well mapped. Our favorite was a climb of the Rocher de Solutre.

Breakfast is plentiful and delicious, but the real treat ( and bargain) is dinner cooked by Florence. She arrives an hour in advance and with ingredients hand picked that day, and then turns them into magic served family style. From starter to dessert, it is all wonderful.

On the evening of your arrival, your visit includes a tasting of the wines of La Source des Fees. The term "tasting" does not do it justice. The three bottles are opened and left before you to empty, if you can. Their Pouilly Fuisse and Saint Veran are distinctive, delightful, and quite reasonable.

It is an enchanted place with warm hearted and welcoming people who will remind you came to France and how good life can be if you slow down and savor what it has to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTWNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our second trip to La Source and again a very good experience. Our first visit was in september and I was a bit concerned about the heating now because it was minus 2 and the building is a very old one ( although very good renovated)...
But it was extremely comfortable in the house - not only because of the lovely fireplace in the kitchen-and, as other reviews say, the house is very nice decorated in typical modern french style and has a cozy atmosphere. Rooms clean and comfortable, a good size too ( we stayed in the rooms, not in a suite), beds good, bathroom good, nice towels, but only soap, no shampoo or shower-gel. Winetasting at 19.00 with the Pouilly-Fuissé wines of the property. Dinner was to be honest not as good as the first time, but still very nice and the lady in the kitchen ( Florence) is superfriendly. Menu and wines for a very reasonable price.This time it was Gérald who gave us a warm welcome, speaking good English too.
Breakfast in classical French style, but very good quality. Applejuice( organic) and very good coffee and tea.
O.K.,the price is a bit high, but you are in Burgundy with the famous and beautiful vineyards around you (and Fuissé is a very nice little village..)! Do you need more?

NB For us no problem, but just to let you know: this property allows pets.

Room Tip: For the elderly or disabled people: choose a room on a lower level, there are a lot of a bit unequal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I were truly amazed with the customer service, excellent food, and truly beautiful and peaceful surroundings! We spent a few days in Paris and then hopped on the train to Lyon where we rented a car and drove about an hour to this beautiful vinyeyard

Room Tip: We stayed in the room overlooking the vineyard and loved it. Very quiet, spacious and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Recently we went to France for a short trip. On our way to the south our first stop was at La Source for only one night. The B & B is situated in the little village of Fuissé and the vineyards are only a few meters away. We had Chambre La Fontaine which was in the attic. Nice decorated room and very clean. Very charming house. Philippe and Thierry were both very very friendly and helpful hosts! We enjoyed the winetasting at the property; a very good start of our holidays. Afterwards we enjoyed the 'table d'hôte', very good typical French food, presented with a smile and also with the wines from their own vineyard for a very reasonable price. Breakfast French style with delicious applejuice.We thought the bed could be a bit more comfortable ( softer..). Also bring your own shampoo, conditioner etc. because the choice is limited. Parking is just in front of the house. A very enjoyable stop-over and a good start to discover the Burgundy and Beaujolais vineyards.....

Room Tip: Take care for the elderly and disabled; some difficult stairs when you select a room at higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We made a stopover for a night and were left wishing we had planned more time here. The residence has been beautifully restored, incorporating very modern elements that give the centuries-old farmhouse a beautiful mix of old and new. Situated at the edge of a charming village and surrounded by vast vineyards, the location itself is stunning as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The B & B itself is gorgeous. A beautifully renovated house that has preserved the old structure and flair, furnished with an eclectic mix of all things French and Swedish (hello, Ikea!), and then outside this beautiful garden at the base of the vineyards, with places to sit and enjoy a glass of Source des Fees Pouilly Fuisse or Saint Veran. The B&B is located right in the village of Fuisse, where you can do wine tastings at local producers (we went to a Vinoteque near Chateau Fuisse and did a tasting with a charming young woman who looked like Marion Cotillard). Lunch options were pretty slim, probably because it was the Sunday after Bastille Day and everything was pretty much closed, but we weren't bothered and had some cheese and saucisson to go with the wine. The guys who manage the estate and the house are super friendly and they have a young chef there preparing dinners in the evening all by herself, everything we ate was very good. They tend to seat all the guests at the same table, which can be a bit awkward at first, but when we were there we had some really interesting conversations with a couple of very nice Belgian and Danish people, which we maybe hadn't done if sat at separate tables. The breakfast is French, with croissants, coffee and apple juice - everything good quality and yummy, and probably fulfilling if you don't crave savoury things for breakfast like I do :-) So overall, we loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karin_romania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent environment, very nicely decorated rooms, the guest house stuff extremely helpful and kind. I would definitely recommend it for a wine tasting tour in bourgoundy area. I really appreciated the fact that they charged us a bottle of wine that we ordered at the lobby of the guest house the same price they sold it at their cave!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elpiniki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuisse
1.7 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
#1 of 2 in Saint-Verand
290 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
262 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Moulin du Gastronome
Le Moulin du Gastronome
#1 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
608 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
4.2 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 30 in Macon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine la Source des Fees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine la Source des Fees

Address: 122 Route du May | Au bourg, 71960 Fuisse, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Fuisse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Fuisse
Price Range: $135 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house and wine produceur ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domaine La Source Des Fees Fuisse, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing