We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, but prices went a little bit to far”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vuglec Breg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vuglec Breg
Ranked #1 of 3 Krapina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great place, but prices went a little bit to far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were in this restaurant twice. It is really nice place, very tidy and comfortable. Staff is very nice and friendly, willing to assist in any moment.
Food is domestic and tasty, (they have really great bread) but we noticed that they really increased their prices.
Salad is from 20 to 25 kuna, piece of cake with ice-cream is 25 kuna, 20 kuna for pommes frites??
Well, that is really too much compared to other restaurants who are let's say a little classy than this one.
Nature around restaurant is really beautiful, lots of place to walk and play with children. They have tennis court and horses for riding.
They also have soya burgers for vegetarians.
We recommend this place, but it would be nicer if it was a little bit cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Custa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I visit vuglec Breg often. Its' a great place for holiday and rest from city and work. Great food and great service. You can take a walk the hills, play tennis or simply rest in one of old village houses. They also have a vinery with various wine sorts.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent much of our holiday in a car going from place to place and Vuglec Breg was the perfect place to go and unwind after long days spent in the busy cities.
It took us about 15 minutes from the toll road to reach Vuglec Breg and it was well signposted and very easy to find. It consists of 4 cottages (all of which are different) which have been carefully, sympathetically and beautifully reconstructed. The cottage was clean and simply decorated, but at the same time it was very cute and different to other places that we had stayed. Also, the landscape that surrounds the cottages is breathtaking and all you can see for miles is fields (which come with 3 cheeky little ponies) and rows of grapes in the vineyards.
As well as this all the staff were very friendly and happy to help in anyway that they could. We also ate in the restaurant which was on site and the food was good, and the staff recommended the speciality dishes that they had on offer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We use to stay here overnight on our holiday trip to Dalmatia and back. This place is a must fur this purpose. Only 10 minutes from highway, on top of a hill with vineyards. Few old village houses, carefully reconstructed by the owner (who was born in one of the houses), provide accommodation in clean rooms, which are simply furnished, but with great sense for detail. Restaurant with excellent food (all home made, this time we had excellent roasted veal) and friendly staff only add to the generally nice feeling. Wine tasting, renting bikes, hiking, tennis are the activities if you want to stay a day or two. And we still have to visit thermal spa some 5 km away. Reasonably priced, calm, clean, friendly, with excellent service, close to highway, and still so quiet. We will stop here every time on the way down to Dalmatia and back.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment in one of the old village houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edpePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wow - Croatia is really a gem! After the hustle and bustle of Dubrovnik a visit to the North of Croatia and the Zagorje was just what the Doctor ordered and this really was the highlight of our stay. Vuglec Breg is a little of a pickle to get to but it's well worth the efforts. A view fit for canvas, and an on-site restaurant which meant for a couple of days at least there was no need to leave other than for a stroll in the countryside. Drinking wine from the vines in the front garden whilst the sun went down was also a nice feeling. The rooms are rustic, but clean and modern but if you rate your stay on the presence of a Corby trouser press and complimentary biscuits, this is probably not the place for you and you've probably missed the point anyway.

Room Tip: The accommodation varies - we were in the cost Juna rooms - if you are worried on have a cat to swin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattymoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

At the end of our vacation in Croatia, we decided on a whim to have dinner at Vuglec Breg winery after seeing an ad for it in the area of Krapinske Toplice. The experience could not have been better! The food was exceptional, totally organic, and moderately priced. There were even vegetarian options available. The staff was very warm and friendly with genuine heartfelt hospitality. The meal started with a complimentary round of their homemade grappa and a goat cheese appetizer as an opener. The winery is situated high on a hill at the end of a winding road in the farm country of Zagorje, Croatia, not far from the towns of Krapina and Zabok. We sat on an outdoor terrace ringed by grape vines and below a thatched roof, overlooking the winery grounds, vineyard, and surrounding farms. I got an idea that this was a special place not long after we arrived when, while exploring the grounds, I came across a tiny hedgehog near the area where the agricultural equipment was kept. One of the vintners took it inside and fed it some milk before releasing it back into the brush! The kind, salt-of-the-earth, unpretentious people made the experience a special memory for us. At any rate, the mushroom and vegetable soups were healthy and hearty without being heavy or oily. The entree of pork cutlet with date sauce was delicious and very aromatic. As for the wines.... wow. Great! We three shared a bottle of white wine, Vuglec Breg's Chardonnay and it was light and delicious - not sweet and not too dry. It went well with the food and was refreshing on the warm summer day. After the meal we complimented the food and wine and asked about the process of how the wines were made on site. With that, Simonishe, one of the vintners, graciously invited us down to the wine cellar for a tour and for the next hour explained the whole process of grape to glass while opening bottle after bottle for tasting each wine that they made there, including their Muscat, which won in its class in an international wine competition in London earlier this year. The hospitality and kindness we received from beginning to end at Vuglec Breg made it the highlight of our trip to Croatia, which included the coastal cities like Zadar, Split, and Dubrovnik. So I guess you can understand how eager I was to write this review!

Details: Vuglec Breg is a winery, restaurant, and inn (B&B). It is family-operated with a friendly and welcoming staff and occupies a beautiful rustic setting ideal for either families (there were families there with small children that had plenty of room to run and play on the vineyard farm grounds) or the solo traveler seeking a unique experience. The local signage is good if you are using a rental car to get around. The restaurant-winery is about 10 minutes from the spa town (hot springs) of Krapinske Toplice and about 1 hour and 10 minutes from Zagreb. The staff are fluent in English and German. Wish I could add some photos here, as the landscape was breathtaking.

Room Tip: We had already booked rooms in another town before coming to Vuglec Breg, but wished we had stayed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

While working in Zagreb I went to visit Trakoscan Castle with one of my co-workers. After a nice tour and hike we went to eat at Vuglec Breg, in the hills above Krapina (I regret not visiting the Neanderthal museum there).

Anyway, we had a dinner that started with Zagorska soup and ended with some nice crispy strudel. In between, savory Mlinci (large noodles) and vegetables complimented the roast duck and lamb. Three different wines made at Vuglec Breg were also provided.

Before desert we were treated to a wine tasting by the proprietor. To me what was eye opening was the dry Muscat that he made. It had the fruity complexity of a Muscat, but without the sweetness. If only I could get that at home!

Were I going again I would probably stay a night or two at Vuglec Breg. The restored cabins look very prim and if the quality of the food is an indication of the establishment I'd sure like to try them while I visit the museum at Krapina.

Perhaps I am biased by working off and on in Zagreb over the course of a year, but such enjoyable experiences as I had at Vuglec Breg were welcome and notable. January 2011 was my last trip to Croatia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krapina
1.9 mi away
Toplice Hotel
Toplice Hotel
#2 of 2 in Krapinske Toplice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Magdalena
Villa Magdalena
#1 of 2 in Krapinske Toplice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.8 mi away
Terme Tuhelj Hotel Well
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hostel Poslon
Hostel Poslon
#2 of 2 in Krapina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostel & Caffe bar Barrock
3.1 mi away
Hostel Jedvaj
Hostel Jedvaj
#3 of 3 in Krapina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuglec Breg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuglec Breg

Property: Vuglec Breg
Address: Shkaricevo 151 | Lepajci, Krapina 49234, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Krapina-Zagorje County > Krapina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Krapina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vuglec Breg 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Vuglec Breg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing