We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Camp De Base

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Namche Bazaar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Camp De Base
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We did the Gokyo trek with our 8 year old triplets and stayed here on the way up and on the way down.
We stayed in the more expensive rooms upstairs on the way up, with the en suite bathrooms. It was a bit of a stretch for our tiny budget, but well worth it. Hot showers at all hours, warm sunny rooms, soft beds, lovely views of Namche and a convenient location did wonders for our morale!
On the way back we stayed in the older ensuite rooms, which were a little gloomy and had some issues with leaking taps etc but were very, very cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for.
The staff do not expect you to eat every meal in their restaurant (as we'd found elsewhere in Namche) and basically leave you alone, which is what we wanted.
Having tried 1 other place for 2 nights in Namche and having had a good look around before choosing this one, I'd say it was definitely one of the best value places to stay, and with the least hassle.
Finally, the breakfasts were really lovely, and came quickly which is important when you are keen to be off walking and are already late...!

Room Tip: Worth paying more for the upstairs en suite if you need a break from basic accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS6JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had been to the Gokyo trek this month (October 2013). On our way to Gokyo, we stayed at Hotel Camp de base at Namche Bazaar. We stayed there 2 nights. We came in when it was raining (and it continued to do so for the next 48 hours). During this stay, I would rate this hotel as 'fair' - nothing nice to write home about nor anything really bad. But then, the hotel was not full and possibly they wanted our clientele. To be fair, I will say that we did not have any issue with coming back here - as our needs were pretty much simple. We wanted a roof above, a warm place and reasonably okay food - all of which we got.

On our return trip, we had to stay one night in Namche and our guide booked us again at this same hotel. This time, our experience was completely opposite. The owner had told us that it would cost us Rs. 350 for a shower. We told him that we had got a shower at much higher places like Machhermo at 200 and 250. So, we told him that unless he was ready to give it to us for Rs. 250, we would not have a shower and would wait for a shower in Phakding, where we could get it for much less. He said that he would give it at 300 and we refused and we let it go at that. We did not fight or argue about this - but just made it clear that we will wait till the next day when we were to reach Phakding.

The hotel was completely full this time. There was no place to sit for dinner in the dining room. We waited at the side for a couple of hours before we got a table. We could see that he was getting worked up because of the crowd. People were playing cards and holding up the table. We did not object - because we could very well understand.

During dinner, we told him to fill up our water bottles (good grade plastic bottles) with warm water for drinking. After dinner when we were about to leave, we still did not get our bottles back, so one of our team went and reminded the people in the kitchen about the water. To our utter disbelief, they got us our bottles back - completely twisted and out of shape,

We went to the counter to ask the owner. He got upset with us, saying that they always have boiling water and that others had given him metallic bottles and because of this, one of the waiters had spilt some water on the floor and it had spoilt his floor. We told him that we had been requesting 'warm water' all along during the trek and never once did this happen. He was not ready to listen to us and was getting angry with us instead. We told him that his waiter should have understood that these are plastic bottles and obviously won't hold boiling water! However, he was getting angrier by the minute. We just let it go and told him that we needed water to drink and for our medicines, so we would like to buy a couple of bottles of water.

He said "I don't want to sell you any water. You drink out of that bottle that you have got". This really got us angry. We told him once again, without raising our voices - that he could charge us for the water, but we did need water as we had to take medicines. It was past 10 pm and we could not possibly get water elsewhere. He flatly refused and said that he would not sell us water, even if we gave him money.

We just walked out.

Next morning, we told our guide that we would not like to have breakfast at this hotel because we did not want to see that guy again. Now the owner's wife took over and said that since we had given our order the previous night, they had made it. We had asked breakfast to be served at 7 am and we let them know at 6.30 am itself that we were not interested. However, she said that it was already prepared. We asked her as to why they wanted to give us breakfast now, when they did not want to give us water the previous night? She said that they had run out of water - and gave us some story about how that was the last bottle remaining etc. We could see stacks of bottles inside and obviously they did not want to let their business go.

If we had walked out, the guide, poor chap, would have had to pay. So, we had our breakfast and let the place. We told him that - 'he should not forget that internet is a powerful medium and that most of his clientele depended on it'. However, we saw that he was beyond that.

So, one thing is for sure - I would never ever go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadekodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We (three adults and two small kids) stayed twice at the Camp de Base during our Everest Base Camp trek in April 2013.

The owner and staff are exceptionally friendly, the food is great and the rooms even better (great view over the town). Also, the location within Namche is perfect. Close enough to walk into the "center" in a minute ... but far enough outside to not hear the (often loud) music coming from the bars.

We'd stay here again and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TueFlieger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

To put this review in context: I have personally stayed at Hotel Camp De Base in Namche Bazaar in the Nepal Himalays over the past 15 years on about 100 separate occasions and nearly 400 bed nights. I have taken 50 different groups on the Everest Base Camp and Gokyo treks with up to 14 people in each group and booked more than of 600 bed nights for guests. I have visited Namche in the depths of winter when everything including water systems were frozen and in the middle of the rainy season when torrential rains flooded paths.

This hotel is exceptional. The rooms are warm, rates are competitive and the food exceptional. The lounge environment caters for all differ nationalities and this hotel treats all Nepali staff with the highest respect. Hot water is abundant, laundry services are great (done in-house) and organic veggies are standard. The views from hotel windows are stunning and the hotel is set back from the noise of some occasional parties. From the hotel you can see the main Namche Gompa and that's a wonderful sight.

The hosts are great people, warm and accommodating In the true Sherpa tradition and their social work throughout the khumbu is a true reflection of this.

I totally and unconditionally recommend this hotel Camp De Base in Namche Bazaar. It's a true half way home for those climbing or simply exploring the Himalays.

On the odd occasion some of my clients have suffered from altitude or fatigue and the hosts at Camo De Base have looked after those clients as their own. This to me, amongst all the wonderful hotels in Nmache, is my deal breaker, to have this sort of support for guests is more than a hotel, it's a home away from home. And that's what I feel about Camp De Base, the hosts are my family and the hotel is my second home.

There are many hotels in Namche, and they are excellent, but I confess I haven't tried them. For me, when you are on a good thing, stick to it, and for me, Camp De Base is a really good thing and I've stuck to it for more than 15 years and 50 trips.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the new block is nice. Downstairs is cosy. Dormitory is also new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Innerwealth_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Namche Bazaar
0.1 mi away
Panorama Lodge and Restaurant
Panorama Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 17 in Namche Bazaar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Namche
Hotel Namche
#2 of 9 in Namche Bazaar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.2 mi away
Yeti Mountain Home Namche
Yeti Mountain Home Namche
#4 of 17 in Namche Bazaar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Yeti Mountain Home Monjo
Yeti Mountain Home Monjo
#10 of 39 in Khumbu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.8 mi away
Yeti Mountain Home Lukla
4.5 mi away
Yeti Mountain Home Phakding
Yeti Mountain Home Phakding
#2 of 4 in Sagarmatha National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camp De Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camp De Base

Property: Hotel Camp De Base
Address: Namche Bazaar, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Eastern Region > Sagarmatha Zone > Khumbu > Namche Bazaar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Namche Bazaar
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing