We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
54
5
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
54
5
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free wifi yak steak ensuite toilet the owner hot shower laundry service amazing hotel highly recommend this lodge top floor battery charging high altitude excellent food per night stayed here for nights mom himalayas devices
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 62 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2018

My entire experience here was frustrating and sour.

We are aware that many times, foreigners just want to be polite and have a peaceful holiday, therefore they let negative incidents go without complaining. But we decided to stand up for what we believe is right, someone has to tell the ugly truth sometimes and be responsible to other travelers.

Upon arriving at the room in Khangri Hotel, the lady barked at us rudely telling us we HAD to buy breakfast and dinner there, or else incur a penalty. Later, after enquiring about this policy and why it was hidden from the booking website we were told that it was in practice in every hotel in Namche and the EBC trek. We soon found out that this was not true, since it literally took us 5 minutes to find a hotel that didn’t have such a policy.

After a 30 min walk around town in search of food and a brief correspondence with the booking website, we returned to Khangri Hotel. At this point things became very personal for the owner and he embarked on a wild spree of accusations in order to try and secure our money. First, he accused us of “stealing the only key they had to the room” (=going for a 30 minute walk with the key in our pocket), so we had to pay him.
We argued that this was not reasonable, so next he came up with: “you made the beds dirty, so you have to pay for the cleaning fee”. This was another lie. (I am still puzzled as to how he decided the room was so dirty without having "the only key" to gain access). We made it clear again that we would not give him money based on false accusations. Basically we were witness to a fulmination of lies and insults. It was around this time that it became a little bit personal for us too. All the while we kept our cool, smiling politely and "respecting the local culture" as best we could, up to the point of willingly acquiescing to blatant extortion.

After a lengthy debate, the owner eventually agreed to release us from the charges. But the moral charges seemed to be etched into his heart. For the next 2 days in Namche, every time I passed by his shop he greeted me with evil eyes and refused to talk to me. It must be stated that the problem I had was not about the money itself; it was the principle of advertising something at one price then (by means of dishonesty) surprising guests with a different price upon arrival. We were happy to pay MORE money at another hotel because their pricing scheme was transparent.

While travelling you may encounter different kinds of locals: Some are warm and welcoming (they want to show you their culture and hospitality and it is always a pleasure to interact with them as guests) but then, you have the ones that see you as a walking ATM because you are a foreigner, that feel entitled to abuse you and then get angry when you don’t allow them. The owner continually berated us later for being disrespectful and "cheap", but there’s nothing cheaper than trying to accuse people of something they did not do to get 5 USD out of them as a consolation prize (bogus "cleaning fees"). We support local economy, but not dirty business models.

Locals deserve respect, but so do we as guests. Expecting transparency is only interpreted as “lack of respect” by someone that wanted to be abusive and could not get away with it. We don’t want to ruin anyone’s reputation, we want other travelers to be aware and careful so they don’t have to go through what we have been through.

PS: one month on and we still haven't received our promised refund.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Richie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2018

We made a reservation via Booking.com, once we arrived we realized they apply a policy that is common on the EBC trail: if you don't have all your meals at the hotel, they charge you at least twice as much for the room. We understand and respect that this is an agreement made by the community, but we also believe these conditions should be explained on Booking.com to potential customers instead of giving them the surprise once they're already at the front door, so we decided to cancel our reservation.

The man that works at the shop was quite snarky when we complained but after Booking also got involved and made it clear that the hotel couldn't charge this since it wasn't stated on the website he finally agreed to a free cancellation. A few days later I discovered on my bank statement that my credit card was still charged for the room without my consent. I have been waiting for a reimbursement for almost a month now, even if the hotel told Booking that it was already processed.

We are deeply dissapointed at the dishonesty the man we spoke to showed with no remorse, just shaking his head and smirking when we explained why we disagreed like we were wrong for expecting transparency. Even after he admitted that he has faced similar situations with other customers before... clearly no lessons learned there. He even tried to charge us "a cleaning fee" for putting our bags on the beds for a few minutes stating "we had made the beds dirty" (we didn't).

It just seems like all they want is your money and they will only be nice to you if they get it. Never again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank PriM108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawangsherpa, Owner at Hotel Khangri, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2018

You had a reservation from booking.com and it was a non-refundable one. Your card was pre-authorized before the arrival. Please check with your bank statement about the date it was charged. It was charged couple of days ago before the dispute happened.
What a cheap people you guys are crying out for 14$ only.We had already reimbursed the amount long time back and you are still complaining about it. You guys stole our hotel key and ran off without informing us and when we told that we would charge your card for theft of key, than only you came back to your senses. We even shifted the date of your reservation due to the cancellation of your flight or else you had no reservation with us on the dispute dates. There was no charge for the modification of the dates. Not thankful at all. Its better that our country don't welcome cheap travelers like you.

Please keep in mind if you like traveling, at least learn to respect the local people and its culture. Its not as in you country, this is someone else native country.
A very bad experience for the first time in our hotel. We have been operating our hotel since 18 years and never had to deal with immature and rude people like you guys. You have visited our country as a tourist and you think you are above all because you are a foreigner. Lack of respect for the local people and using verbal abuse on us. Just because you did not like our policy you want to ruin our reputation by writing a bad review in trip advisor. I guess this review won't affect much to us as one bad review wouldn't hurt other several excellent reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here on route to EBC. The family that own it are lovely and friendly. The place is nice and cosy. The dining room is nice and warm and has lot's of tables to choose from. There is extensive menu and the food is very nice (massive portions).
We stayed in a deluxe room on the top floor. The floor had carpet, we had a clean duvet and pillow. It was that and clean that we didn't use our sleeping bag!! The view out of the window was amaising. We even had a private bathroom with toilet paper! The room was so clean, flip flops provided to walk round the room. Walking boots were to be kept outside the room.
For an additional cost (500) you could have a hot shower. We even had our own clean bath towel in the delux room.
We also used the laundry service (100 + per item). We handed it in in the afternoon and it was ready the next morning.
There is also WiFi available.
The mother of the family knits hats and socks ( to raise money for their adoptive son to go to school), they were great when we continued up the trail.
We enjoyed staying here so much we looked forward to staying there on our journey back down ( it kept us going).
Definitely the best place we stayed , not just in Namche but on the whole EBC trail.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank LauraWV11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawangsherpa, Owner at Hotel Khangri, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and a wonderful review. Hope to see you on the way back down. Have a safe and great trek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018

Lovely home cooked meals. Very warm rooms facing the city. After staying elsewhere in Namche this hotel was brilliantly cosy. Towels also smelt clean.
No VAT applied. Free battery charging & unlimited free wifi (included in the price).
Sheets actually fit the bed. The room we had was spacious and had an ensuite toilet. About US$15 a night. Showers are separate.
Run by the friendliest family who also run the equipment store beneath the Hotel.
Small hotel with small dining room.
Would definitely stay there next time.

Room tip: Room facing the valley or the front of hotel are the warmest.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Madeitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Wonderful staff and delicious food. Warm and sunny rooms with great view. Upscale standard compared to other hotels in Namche. Big bathroom for hot shower. Its a family run hotel and the mom cooks very well. Free wifi and charging facilities. Everest burger highly recommended!

Room tip: The upper the better
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evelyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawangsherpa, Owner at Hotel Khangri, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews