We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel les Deux Ponts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel les Deux Ponts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pierre-Perthuis
Auxonne, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed elsewhere but had dinner here, sitting outside on the patio under a full moon. This is one of the best dinners we've had in two years of traveling throughout France on an old barge. Only 10 km from touristy Vezelay, this was quintessential France, calm, sophisticated and high quality. The food goes beyond routine traditional French cuisine as the chef, from Paris, ventures into modern gastronomic methods. Although we come from a New England fishing town and pride ourselves on getting the world's freshest fish at home, the swordfish entree was unique and truly exquisite, sliced so thin as to be translucent. This is a special place, well worth a drive for the food alone. If the hotel offers the same quality and attention that the restaurant does, this would be a great place to stay. The restaurant, all we experienced here, was fantastic and offered a dinner experience to be savored and cherished.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarveyS674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent a weekend in this hotel. It's a nice hotel with very friendly owners. The dinners are very good and a lovely sight when you're eating outside. It's a nicy place to stay and enough to see in this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grossnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a perfect 5 days I just experienced during my stay at Les Deux Ponts.
Everything is in pure balance with each other and is executed very tastefully. Delicious food and whine (and Marc de Bourgogne), simple but very clean and comfortable rooms, a lovely terrace and a beautiful country side to explore. The ’typically French’ small river at a few minutes walking distance of the hotel, affords a small refreshing swim and French youngster to jump into it from high heights from the rocks to show their manhood. A balance that allowed me to come to a rest and to ‘open up' to my best friend again. A balance that is not in the face but allows what feels best for yourself, allows to take the time for yourself again and the people you are travelling with. And at last: This beautiful package is available for a very friendly price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthijs_van_Dijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, België
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

We have stayed twice in this small, charming hotel on the outskirts of the tiny village of Pierre-Perthuis. Not in March 2010, as stated above (I had to make a pick, in order to write this review, and this was as early as I could get) but in 2008 and 2009. Part of the historical novel I was writing at that time, was set in Pierre-Perthuis, so the location was ideal. Marianne is somewhat chaotic, but very helpful and friendly. Her enthousiasm makes you forget everything else. To me, she was fantastic: she helped me out with an old book on the history of the village and the area. Furthermore the hotel was exactly what one needs to find some peace. The rooms are simple, nothing fancy, but very clean (as is the bathroom). The beds are extremely comfortable, the nights are quiet. Philippe, Marianne's husband, is an excellent cook. His chocolate pie is to die for! It doesn't look very fancy either, but it's the best one I have ever tasted. On warm days you can have breakfast on the terrace, and on cold or rainy days you sit inside, gathered with the other guests around one big table. I love it there. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleentjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is an attractive country hotel, with modest rooms and a fine restaurant. The small village of Pierre Perthuis is a short distance from--indeed, within sight of--Vezelay. A stay in Pierre Perthuis , however, can persuade you that you are in a real French village, not one (like Vezelay) designed for tourists.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Les Deux Ponts is a small country hotel in Pierre-Perthuis just a couple miles south of Vezelay. The building sits on the road at the entrance to the small village. It is an old stone inn but the interior has been entirely renovated in a modern and efficient fashion. There is free parking across the road. Our room was small and quite simple but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also small but modern and efficient. We had a view of the great Vezeley basilica out our window. The place is run by a young couple who were very welcoming. Their English is limited but adequate. He is the cook and a good one. We had dinner at the hotel that night and the main course (pork cheeks) was excellent. At 53 Euros per person for half board, it was very good value and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

We ate here with friends on a balmy evening in 2008 after discovering les Deux Ponts while out cycling. Before we sat down to eat we asked to see some of the rooms and although very functional, were clean and nicely furnished. Outside the hotel is a large terrace area where you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner if the weather is warm enough, and there is a more formal restaurant inside for when it is not. We decided that if we came back to France in 2009 we would stay. So, as planned in August this year we stayed for 3 nights.
Philipe et Marianne are charming and friendly and the food that Philipe produces is of a very high standard. Breakfast was simple but delicious and served on the terrace, which gets the morning sun. We used les Deux Ponts as a base to cycle from each day as the surrounding countryside is so beautiful and there are many pretty villages to visit.
Marianne has a great sense of humour and makes you fell at home right away. My lasting memory is to see Marianne returning from picking wild flowers for the hotel early one morning, arriving with huge bunches of beautiful flowers that grow on the roadside.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre-Perthuis
2.8 mi away
Le Relais du Morvan
Le Relais du Morvan
#3 of 3 in Vezelay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
5.6 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Compostelle
Le Compostelle
#1 of 3 in Vezelay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.8 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#3 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Deux Ponts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Deux Ponts

Property: Hotel les Deux Ponts
Address: Route de Vezelay, 89450 Pierre-Perthuis, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Pierre-Perthuis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pierre-Perthuis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel les Deux Ponts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing