We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place to anchor with life again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel les Deux Ponts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pierre-Perthuis
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a place to anchor with life again”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a perfect 5 days I just experienced during my stay at Les Deux Ponts.
Everything is in pure balance with each other and is executed very tastefully. Delicious food and whine (and Marc de Bourgogne), simple but very clean and comfortable rooms, a lovely terrace and a beautiful country side to explore. The ’typically French’ small river at a few minutes walking distance of the hotel, affords a small refreshing swim and French youngster to jump into it from high heights from the rocks to show their manhood. A balance that allowed me to come to a rest and to ‘open up' to my best friend again. A balance that is not in the face but allows what feels best for yourself, allows to take the time for yourself again and the people you are travelling with. And at last: This beautiful package is available for a very friendly price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthijs_van_Dijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gent, België
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We have stayed twice in this small, charming hotel on the outskirts of the tiny village of Pierre-Perthuis. Not in March 2010, as stated above (I had to make a pick, in order to write this review, and this was as early as I could get) but in 2008 and 2009. Part of the historical novel I was writing at that time, was set in Pierre-Perthuis, so the location was ideal. Marianne is somewhat chaotic, but very helpful and friendly. Her enthousiasm makes you forget everything else. To me, she was fantastic: she helped me out with an old book on the history of the village and the area. Furthermore the hotel was exactly what one needs to find some peace. The rooms are simple, nothing fancy, but very clean (as is the bathroom). The beds are extremely comfortable, the nights are quiet. Philippe, Marianne's husband, is an excellent cook. His chocolate pie is to die for! It doesn't look very fancy either, but it's the best one I have ever tasted. On warm days you can have breakfast on the terrace, and on cold or rainy days you sit inside, gathered with the other guests around one big table. I love it there. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleentjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is an attractive country hotel, with modest rooms and a fine restaurant. The small village of Pierre Perthuis is a short distance from--indeed, within sight of--Vezelay. A stay in Pierre Perthuis , however, can persuade you that you are in a real French village, not one (like Vezelay) designed for tourists.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Les Deux Ponts is a small country hotel in Pierre-Perthuis just a couple miles south of Vezelay. The building sits on the road at the entrance to the small village. It is an old stone inn but the interior has been entirely renovated in a modern and efficient fashion. There is free parking across the road. Our room was small and quite simple but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also small but modern and efficient. We had a view of the great Vezeley basilica out our window. The place is run by a young couple who were very welcoming. Their English is limited but adequate. He is the cook and a good one. We had dinner at the hotel that night and the main course (pork cheeks) was excellent. At 53 Euros per person for half board, it was very good value and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We ate here with friends on a balmy evening in 2008 after discovering les Deux Ponts while out cycling. Before we sat down to eat we asked to see some of the rooms and although very functional, were clean and nicely furnished. Outside the hotel is a large terrace area where you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner if the weather is warm enough, and there is a more formal restaurant inside for when it is not. We decided that if we came back to France in 2009 we would stay. So, as planned in August this year we stayed for 3 nights.
Philipe et Marianne are charming and friendly and the food that Philipe produces is of a very high standard. Breakfast was simple but delicious and served on the terrace, which gets the morning sun. We used les Deux Ponts as a base to cycle from each day as the surrounding countryside is so beautiful and there are many pretty villages to visit.
Marianne has a great sense of humour and makes you fell at home right away. My lasting memory is to see Marianne returning from picking wild flowers for the hotel early one morning, arriving with huge bunches of beautiful flowers that grow on the roadside.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We originally found an intriguing but fleeting mention of this small hotel/ restaurant when reading (here on Tripadvisor) of other, more touristy hotels in nearby Vezelay. We were looking for a place that is somewhat quiet, not very expensive, where we would be less likely to be surrounded by fellow Americans, and offering high quality dining. We were not disappointed by this little establishment, where we met up with friends (and young children) from Paris, and stayed two nights in November 2007.

It’s run by a young couple, Philippe et Marianne Bartheau, who themselves have two small children. He’s the Chef, and she runs the hotel and front room /bar & breakfast area -- which turns into a gathering place for locals at times of the day. (It must be said, however, there is no competing public place in this tiny village in which to gather.)

When we were there – it was Armistice day (11/11) -- the whole village turned out for the traditional morning service at the local war monument (see photo, including the mayor, wearing a dashing sash) -- and then most returned to the hotel for drinks and conversation.

Marianne is originally from the Netherlands, and as usual, that means she speaks excellent English. (The hotel’s Web site, however, is in French only.) She strikes us – pleasantly -- as a strong-minded woman.

The restaurant’s décor is stylish in a minimalist way. Philippe’s cooking is excellent (he’s previously worked in the south of France, on cruise ships, and in Los Angeles). The bathrooms and bedrooms are clean and modern but quite austere (see photo), and when we were there -- it was cold with a bit of rain -- they were somewhat chilly as well.

We’d like to return in warmer weather, but still it was very pleasant to linger by the fire in the downstairs sitting room (see photo).

-- Jake (http://parisandbeyondinfrance.blogspot.com )

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PByF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

What an oasis. Stayed here on night four of a four-day bike trip through Burgundy -- the hotel is on a little blip in the road ~10km from Vezelay. The hotel has been entirely redone, and, although simple, everything was clean, new (if a bit Ikea-ish re: furnishings) and nice. No TV. There's a nice terrace out front where we had apertifs as well as dinner. The food was great -- sophisticated French fare -- and the chef was happy to prepare a vegan meal for one of my biking companions. The only downside: skimpy breakfast consisting of bread (croissants) and coffee/tea/juice.

The staff was super nice and accommodating, allowing us to leave our bikes at the hotel when we left so that the bike rental place in Beaune could come pick them up. No hassle whatesoever.

Recommended.

  • Liked — Clean, new rooms, amazing views, comfortable terrace, restaurant/dinner
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierre-Perthuis
5.6 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
2.2 mi away
Hotel Crispol
Hotel Crispol
#2 of 2 in Saint-Pere
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Le Compostelle
Le Compostelle
#2 of 3 in Vezelay
136 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Relais du Morvan
Le Relais du Morvan
#3 of 3 in Vezelay
98 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Deux Ponts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Deux Ponts

Property: Hotel les Deux Ponts
Address: Route de Vezelay, 89450 Pierre-Perthuis, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Pierre-Perthuis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pierre-Perthuis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel les Deux Ponts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing