We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor services”
Review of Bandos Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bandos Maldives
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely poor services”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

While the facilities in the resort are good, the service is extremely poor. Must say all staff have been trained well to smile. But it is decline for almost everything you request, albeit with a smile. If at all you get the requested service it is after a long wait and persistence. It is the same level of service from reception, to breakfast, to restaurants, to lounge,….

I will never stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    702
    180
    54
    41
See reviews for
609
899
74
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Bandos resort is ideal place to relax and swim in crystal water beach. you can see so many multicoloured fishes around you its a wonderful sensation. the hotel is ideal for families with kids. the hotel offers a wide range of activities ti enjoy your stay. The staff is kind and the service in all restaurants is good but could improve.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Francisca2012T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We came to Bandos after traveling to India & Sri Lanka and it was the right thing to do. This is as close to paradise as anywhere I've been. The two story thatched roof bungalow we stayed in had an outdoor bathroom and jacuzzi that were totally private. The service was great and the snorkeling was fantastic. The air and water temperatures were perfect. The high speed boat ride to and from the island was exhilarating and set the tone for an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: Our two story thatched roof bungalow was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_Moodswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The natural beauty of this island is astounding! I was lucky enough to complete my open water diving course here, which was one of the best things I've ever done in my life. The reef is amazing, with thousands of fish, turtles (come right up close to the shore) black tip and white tip reef sharks (wasn't scary at all, they just happily swim past) and lots of rays. Food was brilliant, lovely restaurant staff. Loads to do as well as diving and snorkelling like banana boats paragliding and trips to the small island nearby. I cannot rate this island any better! I can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Livi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We came to Bandos at the end of our Sri Lankan adventure, exhilarating speed boat trip from airport to Bandos, great accommodation, very clean and well organised and delightful service especially in watersports and restaurant. Snorkelling on house reef magical, and dolphins trip spectacular, perfect for families probably not ideal just for couples!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just returned from a superb stay where we booked a deluxe room for 2 adults and 2 children, I was surprised by the size of the room and its facilities, superb and more than adequate for the 4 of us. Wifi was slightly on and off in the room but not that you need much wifi here. The only negative that I would say is on the all inclusive you are limited to drinks, the white wine is sweet and the red wine tastes like blackcurrant, so if you do like your wine then go for the half board or full board option. The New Years Eve gala dinner was beyond anything that we expected, the effort that the staff went to was brilliant, so much food, so much choice along with entertainment and fireworks, great way to start 2014. Even though the Island was fully booked, you still had lots of space and it never felt crowded. The spa is overpriced but then you are in the Maldives. All of the staff that we met went out of there way with smiles and service and couldnt of been more helpful.
The house reef and snorkeling were brilliant, the baby sharks swam into shallow waters and around your feet, you could see turtles and all kinds of fish. The water sports center were helpful with a good choice of activities along with the dive school who were great.
I would definitely return to Bandos again, the buffet meals had alot of choice and if you didnt want the food there then you could go to the Thai or other restaurant and get a discount.
Highly recommended and many thanks for an enjoyable and relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are in a great position for the main restaurant - we stayed in room 290 which was beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lolaciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Bandos Resort and Spa in a Jacuzzi Beach Villa Mid December for 4nights. We loved the outside bathroom with hot tub. The room was spotless and well situated for various watersports rental, diving and sundowner bar/cafe. It's situated a few metres back from the beautiful beach. The Island of Bandos is surrounded by a fabulous coral reef. My children and I spent most of our days snorkeling different areas of the reef and exploring the island by kayak. Food, staff and service were all good.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Beach Villa 150 - close to beach, watersports rental, dive centre and sundowner bar. A perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMAUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandos
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,695 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,402 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,239 reviews
4.6 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malahini Kuda Bandos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandos Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandos Maldives

Property: Bandos Maldives
Address: (Formerly Bandos Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Bandos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bandos Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not wishing to rest on the laurels of our existing achievements, Bandos Maldives had in the past year undertaken a major refurbishment project with the intention of transforming ourselves into a hotel that is truly reflective of the times. Careful consideration however, was given at all times to ensure that the old-world refinement for which the island has a reputation remained uncompromised. Under the project, major facelifts have been given to the front desk, lobby areas, shops, restaurants and bars and have furthermore commissioned a new swimming pool and additional accommodation facilities all of which perfectly blend with the island's tropical splendour and give visitors a taste of the Maldivian aesthetic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandos Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandos Island Hotel Bandos
Bandos Island Resort Maldives
Bandos Island Maldives
Bandos Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing