We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Island!”
Review of Bandos Maldives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandos Maldives
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We chose this hotel as it was close to the main airport and we were able to chose B&B insted of all inclsuvie.

the food avialble at night was excellent, lots of local dishes and international food all takeN over the water by candle light.

The beaches were amazing and a spa bungalow is to die for but the other rooms are simple but large and clean.

you can do as little or as much as you like and there are plenty of excursions.

this place was lovely and less couply so perfect for me and a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK_travel_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,161 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2011

The place itself is amazing..! But the hotel had really disappoint me big time beside than the food quality which really poor and the service mind of the staff that i would say at zero level...I feel like they have no passion in what they are doing...
The thing that concern me the most is that,the last 2 days of our stay,we were sitting and enjoying the sun in the late afternoon,suddenly there are a group of guy( I think they worked for hotel but they are not wearing uniform..) ..They start taking the beach chair one by one from the beach ,drag them into the sea where the people are snorkling and the kids are playing sand..They used the bleach( as i walked up to them and see it for myself..) and wash up with sea water...!!!!! I wonder if the management know about this?????...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Yadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Beautiful white sand..clear blue ocean..the place is a dreamland. We stayed at the jacuzzi beach villa and the first thought that came into mind was that the money we paid was worth it. The private jacuzzi is one of the best point of the villa..u can easily enjoy an evening in the jacuzzi with a bottle of wine. Food is good not excellent but the scenic beauty covers all the 'not excellent points'. The sand bar is a good place for evening leisure..the karaoke night was quite fun. The day trips organized by the resort were also good specially the snorkeling trip and the island hopping. Breakfast is complimentary but its 'ok', however the lunch and dinner buffet menu's are great , so whoever is planing to go to bandos, go on a bull board basis. All in all a very great experience, didnt feel like coming back..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shivika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We spent two and half days at Bandos after a diving safari at the Maldives.
The beach was clean and an isolated spot was easily found. We had a great time watching the baby black-tip- sharks. Snorkeling was also very good, saw at least one shark every time!!! The trick is to find the side of the island that is not windy.
We enjoyed the seabreeze resturant (great Tom-Yum soup).
We stayed at the jaccuzi beach villa which wa nic but we didn't feel it was worth the extra pay. In addition, the standard rooms are closer to the beach.
Also, the island is not isolated and we didn't the feeling we are on a special deserted island, as it is close to Male. (However, the place is quite.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Or_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Beaches have been my favorite ever since and so Maldives was the honeymoon destination for us. Mesmerizing crystal clear blue beaches with white sand, the most suitable place to visit if you want to spend a lonely time with your mate.
We selected Bandos island based on one of our close friends review and also other peoples review on trip advisor, and I would say it was the right decision....

The island resort was very beautiful surrounded by crystal clear beach all around. We selected a standard type room based on our budget. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. We were also given a complimentary wine and fruit basket for our honeymoon.

The overall pace of the island is very relaxed. Lazy morning with very good food at breakfast buffet. Then you can go and laze around near the beach and jump into water to do some water activities.

The resort has facilities and equipments for all kind of water sports like snorkelling, scuba diving etc. Since I did not know swimming so I just tried snorkelling by getting the required equipments for the resort. And I must admit, it was the experience of life time to see beautiful fishes swimming near your and to touch corals and experience nature beauty. It was just divine.

Many kind of paid excursions are also organised by the resort all through the day. We went for the Dolphin cruise, where they would take you to the center of the ocean and then call dolpins by whistling. You wont believe we saw lots and lots of lovely dolphins jumping to the sound of whistle near our steamer.

In the nights it's just lovely to roam around the beautiful island. Also every night live shows or musical functions will be goin on which you can attend.

All and all it was an amazing trip and stay at the island and while returning it was very painful to leave the island and return back :)

For more reviews of the trip check out my blog:
http://stylebees.com/honeymoon-paradise-maldives/2097

Swati

Room Tip: For good deal book room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stylebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at Bandos from the 18th to the 25th April and I count myself as a hard to please customer so when I read all the comments before going, I really wanted to see for myself.

Every part of this holiday was perfect and we all enjoyed ourselves immensely (children 9 months, age 4 and 5). The staff are all friendly and try their best to do what is requested. Please note there is language barriers and the speed of service is similar to the island's pace, very relaxed and no time pressure.

The room was lovely, perfect for our family of 5, large enough to still have our own space (the master bed had a lovely curtains round it). The beach was 3 second stroll away, this was the same for all the accommodation on the island. The beach was amazing, everything you can imagine. The water was as warm as bath water and see through blue. The shade from the trees was perfect for the kids to dig sand castles under in the heat of the day. Being this close to the beach was such a treat, we went there after breakfast for a quick dip or in the evening when the sun was setting.

The pool was great, very very clean. The hotel had very high standards of hygiene and the water was amazingly clean. The swim up bar which I had feared (having been to other hotel all inclusives where people just sit and drink alcohol all day and you just know they are weeing into the pool) was actually very clean with more of a family feel to it. I had a lovely cup of tea under the shade area and there were bubbles jacuzzi style so you know the water was circulating!

Tried diving for the first time and our instructor could not have been a better teacher, very calm. I have a slight fear of sharks (Jaws!) so I mentioned I may panic if I saw one and he put me at ease straight away by joking that they would start nibbling straight away. They don't even notice you are there and are amazing creatures. The fish variety was fantastic, every tropical fish you see in Aquariums is here.

Entertainment was excellent. There is a kids club and you don't even have to book in advance, so this makes it very flexible to use. All the ladies at the kids club were extremely professional and spoke better English than I do and they really were motivated to keep the kids happy. We booked specific babysitting for our 9 month old for a couple of sessions and were really confident about using this service too.

Evening entertainment was really fun and differed each night. Personal favourites were the Crab racing (hermit crabs with numbers painted on them) and Karaoke. Loved the the traditional Maldivian dancing too, such a wonderful dance and they invited guest up to give it a go. On Easter Sunday they had a brilliant Kids party early on with a magician.

Food and drink. The food was delicious, most especially all the local curry's. We were only B and B so sampled all the other restaurants. Our favourite for a romantic dinner was the Harbour. The Naan bread was amazing and the Chicken Tikka masala extremely tasty. All this while watching flying fish in the distance and seeing sharks swim up under the jetty you are eating at.

Spa was very nice too.

All in all, sorry for dragging on...a top place...go if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CloisterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

A resort catering for families as well as honeymooners. The service and staff were excellent . House reef and water visibility is amazing. Short trip from Male Airport by boat and we will go back again. If you are considering this resort don't read the negative reviews Food choice is excellent not all curry as reported by others, and the only rude people we met were tourists.

Room Tip: All rooms are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandos
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,842 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,797 reviews
4.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
6,331 reviews
11 mi away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,762 reviews
7.2 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandos Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandos Maldives

Address: (Formerly Bandos Island Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Bandos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandos
Price Range: $237 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bandos Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not wishing to rest on the laurels of our existing achievements, Bandos Maldives had in the past year undertaken a major refurbishment project with the intention of transforming ourselves into a hotel that is truly reflective of the times. Careful consideration however, was given at all times to ensure that the old-world refinement for which the island has a reputation remained uncompromised. Under the project, major facelifts have been given to the front desk, lobby areas, shops, restaurants and bars and have furthermore commissioned a new swimming pool and additional accommodation facilities all of which perfectly blend with the island's tropical splendour and give visitors a taste of the Maldivian aesthetic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bandos Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandos Island Hotel Bandos
Bandos Island Resort Maldives
Bandos Island Maldives
Bandos Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing