We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Hotel Staff!”
Review of Kemena Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kemena Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bintulu
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude Hotel Staff!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upon my arrival i was quite disappointed to find out there's no available power plug in the room. i was about to stay for a week or more at your hotel and i can't live without power source for my notebook, handphone etc. i'm asking politely for the extension MULTIPLES times until one of your staff (a male, supervisor i guess?) come to my room and gave me the power socket rudely as he shouted with the hard voice to me "itu pun nak berkira!!???" and act like a gangster...is that the manner of a hotel staff? i was so disappointed and decided to check out immediately! i can't believe he could say something like that to me while i never said rude word towards your staff nor rise my voice!. This is my 1st time experiencing such horrible attitude by a hotel staff.

Your hotel was my 1st choice whenever i come to Bintulu. Before, i did recommended to my colleagues, friends and family to stay at your hotel because of the good price and the improving facilities. And now, with that kind of attitude of your rude staff. I don't think i will stay there anymore and i won't recommend to any of my colleagues, friends and family as well.

My apologize if my request for the power extension is very hard to be fulfilled but that is not the license to be rude to your customer. Please educate your staff with manner!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kharol_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sabah
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Nowadays known as Kemena hotel and residence. This in an Old hotel but still good looks,only minor item such as old desk phone,table switch unoperable...nice location in middle of town,easily to find foods.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QamaHeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I always stayed here because it is my company choice. The last time I stayed, the hotel had been changed the management. The room is improve with the contemporary interior design. Quiet nice. The room is big and comfortable.

The hotel price is cheap. The breakfast is nice. Next to the hotel, there are 24hours 7-eleven. In front of the hotel, there is a indian restaurant.

The hotel situated at the old town. That area is less with local people. Local people did not go to that area anymore. Only a foreigner with the scary look. Indonesia, Philippines. It's suitable if you looking for cheap entertainment.

That area also not safe at night. Bintulu have a new town. But overall, this hotel is warm and nice, also big room for your family. ~!~

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytravellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This large hotel in the centre of Bintulu, had become run down under the previous ownership, however it has recently come under new management and the new owners have embarked on an ambitious program of refurbishment to bring it back to international standard.

The hotel boasts a cool and spacious lobby, an attracive coffee shop, a large dining room, a ballroom/conference room plus several other rooms suitable for seminars or smaller gatherings. The staff are smartly dressed, attentive, polite and efficient. Rooms that have been refurbished are bright, pleasant and comfortable.

It is fair to say that some of the bedrooms and hallways on floors that are still awaiting refurbishment reflect the previous poor standards of maintenance, but even these are kept clean, comfortable and are perfectly adequate if you dont mind the rather battered decor.

Beds are clean, firm and confortable. During my stay, I slept well and was not aware of any disturbance from either outside noise (the hotel stands on a busy street), or noise from other guests in corridors

Air conditioning keeps the rooms comfortable for western visitors who may be unaccustomed to the heat and humidity outside.

The hotel provides a variety of breakfast choices to suit most international tastes. Evening meals are available in the coffee shop and in the adjacent outdoor covered bar.

The rooftop swimming pool was undergoing maintenance during my stay but will certainly be a welcoming spot to cool off once it is back in commission. Meanwhile, the roof terrace offers some interesting views across the town.

I believe this is the only hotel in Bintulu with its own secure underground parking, which may be a consideration for those travelling by car.

The best that his hotel has to offer is very good. Clearly they are trying hard and while parts of it are still a work-in-progress, it's getting better.

I've rated the rooms as average only because they're something of a mixed-bag at the time of writing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeandDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The hotel service is terrible. I was attending the seminar held in the hotel while waiting for the seminar to start, I checked with the middle age conceige guy if I could borrow the newspaper beside him but I was asked to buy it outside the hotel simply because I was not a tourist. He is downright rude and unfriendly.
The toilet condition is bad. Some have been blocked for few days. Another incident is that my friend was locked inside the toilet on the ground floor. After failing to get help, she climbed up from the toilet cubical, which had caused her some cuts. She had complainted to the front desk but was not entertained. She was even told that there was no manager on duty that night. None of the hotel staff came to approach her even the following day. She was the hotel guest.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bintulu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintulu hotels
0.9 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel
ParkCity Everly Hotel
#8 of 16 in Bintulu
117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Promenade Hotel Bintulu
Promenade Hotel Bintulu
#1 of 16 in Bintulu
51 reviews
1.2 mi away
New World Suites
New World Suites
#2 of 16 in Bintulu
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jinhold Apartment Hotel Bintulu
0.9 mi away
Triple Tree Xpress Hotel
Triple Tree Xpress Hotel
#12 of 16 in Bintulu
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Greens Hotel & Suites
#9 of 16 in Bintulu
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemena Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemena Plaza Hotel

Property: Kemena Plaza Hotel
Address: 116 Taman Sri Dagang | Jln Abang Galau, Bintulu 97008, Malaysia (Formerly The Regency Plaza Hotel Bintulu)
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Bintulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bintulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kemena Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kemena Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing