We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short walks with amazing views”
Review of Kamikochi

Kamikochi
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Short walks with amazing views”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Kamikochi has longer hikes available, but for day trippers, there are about a half-dozen easy walks up and down the main valley with mountain and lake views. Buses and cars are strictly controlled, so the crowds are limited, but the main paths can still get a little crowded, so recommend coming in the afternoon and staying overnight so you can enjoy the evening and morning with low crowds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    138
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've seen some great sights around the world but Kamikochi park is truly stunning. The views of the mountains are amazing! We stayed at Takayama and the park was an easy day trip (via a bus). On the way back we even stopped at Hirayu Onsen to visit the Hirayu-no-mori onsen for a couple hours which was fun too. All in all a great day trip from Takayama.

Helpful?
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Flat hiking trails in the forest with view on the Japan Alps”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I'm not a climber so i just take the flat hiking trails in the forest, very nice & well kept path from Taisho Ike down to Kappabashi then to Myojin Pond back to Kappabashi, took me around 3.5hrs to finish the walk, with multiple cases being chased by lots of (really a huge crowd of it) mosquitoes. Propose those who wanna go during Aug & Sep to wear parkas and long pants & equip with mosquitoes repellants....but overall a pleasant walk in the forest is always nice but a pity i didn't get to see any monkeys

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALAYSIA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Sacred”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Me and my friend only stay night at Kamonjigoya lodge, but this NP is simply breathtaking-the people,park,view and even the river water is inviting us to repeat a second visit!

the visitor centre provides useful tips, although we did not plan to climb, no harm getting some advise for safety purpose. Most local climbers are so friendly along the track from bus station to Kamonjigoya. There's many children throwing stones at the riverbank, I joined in the fun and got excited in the game! The environment is so harmonious that we didn't felt our legs aching due to the long hike(my friend had had a sore toe 2days ago due to too much walking)

The crowd at Kappabashi made us slow down our pace and pick a seat on the bench, enjoying 350Y cone ice-cream, chilly! The toilet is so well maintained but the tab water is icy cold, not many people drop 100Y into the money box, so we decided to 'donate" 50Y.

Upon reaching Myojinkan, I went in to enquire about the lodging price, in case they offer a cheaper rate;the lady was unable to understand english, so we waited for the owner instead. After 10min he started explaining on the room condition, but ignore my request when asked to show us the room. Funny though, since he keep emphasing they have the best value accomodation within this area!

We would really like to convey our deepest gratitude towards the team in Kamonjigoya(they don't have a English proficient staff) due to the hospitality and wonderful experience.
It's a shame we are not equipped with climbing gears, it would definitely leave a lasting and memorable impact in our lives.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank THAM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“beautiful if somewhat overmanaged mountain resort”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This very beautiful mountain resort attracts a LOT of tourists in the summer. Hotels are pricey if you want to stay in Kamikochi, which you have to reach by bus or taxi. (It's cheaper, though not as nice, to stay at Sawando, which is basically the parking lot for Kamikochi, and you could stay at some nearby resort like Norikura and come for the day by bus). Kamikochi is not that big so two days her is pretty much maximum; one day would probably be enough for most people. The trails are all over-maintained giving it a bit of a Disneyland feeling at times, and they are nearly all flat, so those in need of hard core mountain climbing may want to look elsewhere. Nicest for older people and families.
They make a big deal about Japan's British Alpine pioneer Walter Weston here, but if Weston were alive today, he'd cry if he saw how difficult it is to travel on foot between towns, now that tunnels and highways have replaced the roads he once traveled on foot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TrippyEdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamikochi also viewed

Kamikochi, Nagano Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 
Kamikochi, Nagano Prefecture
Matsumoto, Nagano Prefecture
 

Been to Kamikochi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing