We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Pompei Il Fauno
Ranked #1 of 6 Scafati B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Above and Beyond...”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Il Fauno B&B, Scafati far outweighed our expectations. Both myself and my travel partner enjoyed our stay and both felt safe and welcomed. The host, Eduardo and his mother helped us with directions and recommendations of local eateries and attractions, nothing was too much of an effort. Our room was cleaned daily and there was always and abundance and assortment of yummy food for breakfast.
I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicLogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks Nicole & Sharleen to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality, the room, the breakfast of the Fauno :)) . We hope to see you again soon.
B & B Il Fauno, a great place to visit Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento and the Amalfi coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    45
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
63
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We wanted to see Pompei and Mt. Vesuvius and after hearing less than great things about spending too much time in Naples, we decided to stay at B&B Pompei Il Fauno. Scafati is a small suburb not far from the Pompei archaeological site (Pompei "Scavi").

We have no regrets about our choice and had a very pleasant stay at B&B Il Fauno. Eduardo from B&B Il Fauno was very helpful and runs the bed and breakfast from his parents home. He seems to have thought of everything to make the stay more enjoyable and easier for a traveler. He picked us up from the train station with our bags (the station is only a 10 minute walk from the B&B); there is free highspeed wifi; a plug-in in our room with a variety of cellphone chargers (iphone, micro usb, mini usb etc); the bed a true double (rather than two singles pushed together) and memory foam; he provided a handout with helpful maps of the area and local restaurants and the train station etc.; he greeted us with cake and tarts made by his mother and lemoncello; there are plenty of travel books and even English movies for those wanting them, and lent us a book in English on Pompei for our visit.

One bit of useful info is that there are actually two train stops named Pompei, which understandably may be a little confusing. Scafati is one stop away from "Pompei". This stop is about 200 meters from one of the entrances to Pompei Scavi (the archaeological site) - the entrance near the amphitheatre to be exact. The only problem was that we weren't relying solely on a guide book or guide, we planned on renting the audio guide, so we had to walk about 20 minutes to the main entrance with all the tour buses to rent and then eventually return our audio guide. This main entrance is nearest the train stop labelled "Pompei Scavi". The train ticket to get to Scafati can be used to get to Pompei Scavi but it involves either a 20 minute walk or a transfer to another line and a few more stops on the train (add another 10 minutes or so at least via train transfers). We still wouldn't do it differently, but just be aware of that if you plan on renting an audio guide. Starting from the amphitheatre is actually nice though as it avoids the far busier crowded main entrance, and guides were available from this entrance if we wanted them as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uccball20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks Joelle to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality. We hope to see you again soon.
B & B Il Fauno, a great place to visit Pompeii, Naples, Sorrento and the Amalfi coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I absolutely recommend Il Fauno. From the start, Eduardo offers an exceptional service; he met us at the train (no charge), then offered us limoncello and his mother's delicious cake out on the patio. He dropped us and picked us up from Pompeii, and when we mentioned he had a few errands to run, he drove us to the grocery store, bank and farmacia. The walled compound means it's very quiet at night. The beds were the most comfortable of our entire tour of Italy, the room was perfectly clean, and the bathroom had the little extras of shelves to store your personal items plus plenty of hot water for the 5 of us to shower. The kids appreciated that there was English language TV and a great selection of multi-language DVDs (we watched Gladiator :) The breakfasts were lovely, starting with made-to-order espresso/cappucino/latte/tea, etc., then an assortment of Italian cakes, etc., plus a few standards for the North American palate--yogurt, cereal and milk, fruit--plus they offer many gluten-free options.

Another bonus is that Eduardo has prepared a list of recommended local places to eat (pizza at Verace was delicious), where the markets are, etc. He set us up with a tour guide for Pompeii who was an archeology professor at the local university.

I fully and enthusiastically recommend Il Fauno.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Guest Relations Manager at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks Candace and your family to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality, the room, the transfer free to Station , the rich breakfast and the Restaurant Verace :)

We look forward to your next stay at B & B Il Fauno, an ideal place to visit the ruins of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Vesuvius, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

As a family of four, we felt very welcomed by Eduardo and his family. The accommodation was perfect for our family and it was easy to get to Pompeii and Naples by train. Although we had to take a bus to Naples due to a train strike but that was nicer than the train.

On Eduardo's recommendation we went to a local restaurant Verace, which turned out to be fantastic and even does karoke on Friday nights. The food was delicious as was the homemade treats made by Raffaella (Eduardo's Mum).
Only problem we encountered was a loud ticking noise in our room at night.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Guest Relations Manager at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks Anna and your family to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality,the room, the breakfast and the Restaurant Verace.
Sorry for the noise in the room (timer) we solved. It was enough to alert us of the problem :))

We look forward to your next stay at B & B Il Fauno, an ideal place to visit the ruins of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Vesuvius, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and clean B&B. Pleasant, friendly reception by the owner. The personal service makes you feel at home right from the start. Three finely decorated rooms, with all you might need, even including a USB universal charger. Good WiFi everywhere. Tiny simmingpool in sunny backyard, but most welcome for a quick swim. Breakfast with home made marmelade. Location at ca.750 metres from Scafati Circumvesuviana-station, off all tourist tracks. Bicycles are available: I easily cycled to Pompei in 10 minutes and visited the excavations (I could use the bike without payment). To sum up: a convenient and nice place to visit Pompei while staying outside the tourist area. Recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VincenzoH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Guest Relations Manager at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks Vincent to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality,the room, the Pool and the bikes for excursion in Pompeii.

We look forward to your next stay at B & B Il Fauno, an ideal place to visit the ruins of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Vesuvius, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 4 nights in April, really warm welcome with fruit juice and cake on arrival as we recovered from the journey. Small room for family of 3, but this should not deter you as it's really only a place to sleep, and there is access to areas to sit out in both front and back of the building. Room itself was exceptionally clean, and the beds are really comfy - we all slept really well.

We're missing the wonderful breakfasts! Range of rolls/crackers/cereal/yoghurts/fruit juice to choice from - and then a selection of really lovely homemade pastries, cakes, and marmalades.

Very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Thank you Eduardo and to your mother!

Holland family, England

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Guest Relations Manager at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks Graham and your family to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality, breakfast and the beds comfy.
We look forward to your next stay at B & B Il Fauno, an ideal place to visit the ruins of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Vesuvius, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

There was a transportation strike on the day we arrived so we came into the wrong station. We called and Eduardo came to pick us up immediately. We were greeted with cake and limoncello. Our stay was very comfortable and the provided breakfast was a great way to start our day before exploring the ruins of Pompei. We had a great time and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a great place to stay near Pompei.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbfauno, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at B&B Pompei Il Fauno, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks Chance to have stayed at the Fauno and appreciated our hospitality, friendliness that we reserve our guests !!
We look forward to your next stay at B & B Il Fauno, an ideal place to visit the ruins of Pompeii, Herculaneum, Naples, Vesuvius, Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scafati
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pompei
Hotel Pompei
#2 of 3 in Scafati
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Clementina
Hotel Villa Clementina
#1 of 3 in Scafati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Piccolo Sogno
Hotel Piccolo Sogno
#21 of 25 in Pompeii
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Pompei Il Fauno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Pompei Il Fauno

Property: B&B Pompei Il Fauno
Address: Via Domenico Catalano 97, 84018 Scafati, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Scafati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Scafati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B Pompei Il Fauno 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor pool, B&B Il Fauno is just one kilometre from the Pompeii archaeological site. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi and a free internet point. Rooms at the Fauno all have a balcony with views over the garden and towards Mount Vesuvius, they include a private bathroom. Guests can relax in the small, furnished garden which has a children's play area. The outdoor pool features a large sunbathing area with sun beds. Bikes can be rented on-site. Il Fauno has agreements with local restaurants and can provide gluten-free breakfasts on request. The Circumvesuviana Station, which links to Pompeii,Naples and Sorrento, is only 600 metres away, and the property provides a free scheduled shuttle service. Parking is free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B Pompei Il Fauno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing