We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites!”

La Posta de Vaimaca
Ranked #36 of 164 Restaurants in Maldonado
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been to La Posta de Vaimaca several times since we moved to Maldonado. I'm so thankful we heard about it from a friend of a friend. Everyone who says La Posta is "something different" is absolutely right. When restaurants in Punta del Este can be tiresomely similar (and always expensive), La Posta de Vaimaca is a breath of fresh air...literally! It's in a serene location in the countryside. The food is simple and absolutely amazing. Everything tastes fresh. It's really a gem of a place in an area overwhelmed by tourism and same-ness. Every spring and fall, when the weather is just right, I can't wait to make a reservation to sit outside on a cool, sunny day. It's a happy place with great food, friendly service, and reasonable prices all in a pastoral setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mainky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina32, Mesera y amiga de la familia at La Posta de Vaimaca, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks!!! we hope you enjoy your visit to our house, every time you coming...y practicaremos mi inglés... thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 139 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Out of the way, a very quaint place where one is made to feel at home, in this simple but energizing environment. Maria Ines and Hugo, the owners, are passionate about their cooking. Romina the friendly, smiling and caring waitress made us feel at home. The food was excellent, prepared with fresh ingredients. The limited choice of wines did not disappoint us as their (only!) red wine, from a winery down the road, was superb. Very reasonably priced. Wonderful down-to-earth eating experience! Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cachoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina32, Mesera y amiga de la familia at La Posta de Vaimaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks! We hope that all our costumers enjoy your experience here! even when our english is poor... but we put here a lot of energy and love, and we want you can feel that. Thanks, a lot of

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Pueblo Eden, a quiet town of less than 100 inhabitants, is a little more than 30 minutes from the outskirts of Punta del Este, yet the contrast between the two ways of life is so great, it might seem like you’ve returned to a different time period. According to Romina, the affable waitress who patiently answered our endless question, La Posta de Vaimaca comes with extraordinary story that is not often shared with passing tourists.

Apparently Uruguay is the only Latin American country that currently has no indigenous population. The Charrúa Indians who once populated the local countryside were massacred – almost to the point of extinction -- in the 1830’s by European settlers. Yet a few – mostly of mixed ancestry – survive to this day. And the Marrero family, who own and run La Posta de Vaimaca – named in tribute to the last know Charrúa chief, Vaimaca Perú – are among those descendants.

The restaurant is a throwback to family-style dining, with customers sitting side by side, on long tables. There is no menu and you will be given a choice of local specialties chosen on the day by the chef. We were offered two different lamb dishes, rabbit, spaghetti, and a cheese/spinach ravioli. The fare is simple, hearty and very reasonably priced. The deserts included a choice of crepes, dulce de leche – a thick, caramel-like milk-based confection, – apple crumble, and the house specialty that most diners favor: sweet rice.

Virtually everything you eat, from the ricotta filling in the ravioli, to the bread – and even the butter – is handmade in the open kitchen that frames one side of the restaurant. The opposite wall displays a mural depicting the life of the Charrúas. La Posta de Vaimaca is open only for lunch (12:00 – 2:00 pm) except during season which lasts from the 15th of December through the end of February when they stay open for dinner which is served until midnight.

Bottom line: If you don’t go there expecting gourmet food, and are willing to forego the formalities of the typical, upscale (and generally overpriced) Punta del Este eatery, you’re in for a delightful experience. The restaurant is all but invisible and the town of Pueblo Eden is not even on the main road, so get directions (probably by having the concierge call in advance) before you go. When you drive into the Pueblo, you’ll soon come across the main plaza (actually, more like a little park). Facing the church on the far side of the plaza, go left for a little over a block; La Posta de Vaimaca is on the far left-hand corner. You’ll probably find a few cars parked out front.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jckoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romina32, Mesera y amiga de la familia at La Posta de Vaimaca, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

You describe in your own words exactly what we want to convey. Thank you. We like to get in our house people who appreciate the simplicity and the love with which we you describe in your own words exactly what we want to convey. Thank you. We like to get in our house who appreciate the simplicity and the love with which we do things. Thanks again, we will work to correct errors without changing what is already good. See you soonre doing things. Thanks again, we will work to correct errors without changing what is already good. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K4740CKjoseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Marta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posta de Vaimaca also viewed

Maldonado, Maldonado Department
Piriapolis, Maldonado Department
 
Maldonado, Maldonado Department
Punta Ballena, Maldonado
 

Been to La Posta de Vaimaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing