We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of Cienbalcones Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cienbalcones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daroca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Parking is on street and you need to hunt around if arrival timing coincides with locals shopping, apart from that nice place to stop at a reasonable price, the rooms are basic but reasonably modern and the food good. The town is worth a wander round.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 252 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on our leisurely drive from Bilbao to Valencia and the Costa Blanca.
Rooms, which are spacious, overlook the courtyard in which evening meals, on the warm night we were there, are taken.
On arrival we had a short wait at reception as it wasn't manned, apparently the woman who usually manned it was 'out'. However our wait was fairly short as one of the bartenders from the bar/canteen on the opposite side of the internal comurtyard saw us and ran over and sorted out our room.
We had a large, modern room containing a big double bed, plenty of hanging space and drawers. Attached was a very spacious bathroom. We were located over reception with 4 windows, one with a balcony, overlooking the courtyard.
If you have time, try and explore Daroca, it really is an interesting ancient town, once completely walled, which must have made it quite impregnable. Not sure about the ubiquitous modern bus stop!
After our exploration we had a couple of drinks from the bar before taking evening meal (served from 9pm) in the courtyard which was very atmospheric and rather romantic in the subdued lighting. Food was really good. Large tasty platefuls of locally sourced ingredients washed down with a very palatable and inexpensive local wine.
The following morning, prior to our departure, we had breakfast in the restaurant. The website suggests a choice of buffet is available, which isn't exactly correct as my wife and I were served at our table with their standard breakfast of coffee, rolls, and a plate each of ham and melon. However this is not a criticism as we had sufficient and extra portions were available if required.
If you are looking for a most comfortable hotel with very acceptable food, good service from the staff, in an historic setting look no further.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters; as far as I could tell all rooms seem to overlook the internal courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter48er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

lovely old town, classy hotel. superb room and bathroom. good value and parking easy
evening meal and included breakfast both really good.
my one gripe the spanish custom of eating very late. this was the only restaurant we found
and we had to wait until 9.30pm to sit down. good food but too late for me

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamsbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked two rooms for our family as a one night stopover between Toledo and Barcelona. The rooms were large with modern styling; good quality linens, comfortable beds and hot and strong showers. Our kids enjoyed a good meal in the cafeteria and my wife and I had a very good meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was included in the price and consisted of sliced fruit, croissants, cake, toast, cheese, ham and drinks. The staff were friendly and efficient. We thought the hotel and food represented very good value.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard (which opens onto the bar) would be noisy in summer so I recommend a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked a superior room and were not disappointed, it was a really spacious, corner room with beams and eight big windows (yes, eight!) giving superb panoramic views of the wonderful medieval town of Daroca with its surrounding hills and also the inner patio. Decor was very stylish in shades of grey, red and black. Very large,comfortable bed. Bathroom was a little too open-plan for me but that is modern style I guess. There is no hairdryer but staff are very happy to bring one up if you ring reception. We could have done with a little bin and a surface other than the floor to put our suitcases on, there really was plenty of room for such things. Reception staff were very profesional and friendly, maybe it helps if you speak Spanish. Some comments here about the music, well we didn't like it either but it didn't spoil our stay. There was a lack of vegetarian options in the dining room so we had a small, expensive, and not very appetising, racion in the adjoining cafeteria. In spite of it being not-quite-perfect, we loved our two nights here and would definitely like to come back again one day. If you can speak Spanish, the guided tour of Daroca is very informative and interesting - especially if, like us, you are attached to a party of teenage Spanish students!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillyMollyMandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel was amazing the room we had was brand new it was a cold night
But the room was lovely and warm . The bed was very comfortable, and the staff were very
Friendly, the breakfast was very good, we will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splasherPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Liked the layout of the hotel. Our room colours were rather startling - tangerine and grey. Staff friendly. Water was not hot at 7.30 am (but maybe most people don't get up as early as we do on holiday). There was music in the corridors when we arrived but it was turned off in the evening. Menu del dia good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daroca
20.1 mi away
Hotel Castillo de Ayud
Hotel Castillo de Ayud
#1 of 4 in Calatayud
403 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Monasterio Benedictino
24.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo de Ateca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Molino Bajo
Hotel Rural Molino Bajo
#1 of 1 in Monreal del Campo
104 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Las Truchas
Hotel Las Truchas
#44 of 79 in Zaragoza
170 reviews
26.8 mi away
Balneario de Segura
Balneario de Segura
#1 of 1 in Segura de los Banos
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cienbalcones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cienbalcones Hotel

Address: Calle Mayor 88, 50360 Daroca, Spain
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Zaragoza > Daroca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daroca
Price Range: $86 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cienbalcones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cienbalcones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing