We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winneba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel's Guesthouse and Hostel
Ranked #1 of 8 Winneba B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2013

You are five minutes from the ocean by foot. You are five minutes to the market by taxi. It is affordable so great for longer stays. I've stayed here three times. There are cheap rooms that just have two single beds and a desk; showers are outside and there are outhouses (with flush toilets). There are also units with washrooms/bathrooms in the rooms. So it isn't necessarily a place to stay on your honeymoon, but I do recommend it if you are travelling on any sort of a budget.

Most importantly, the owner is spectacular. He is very caring and will help you in any way he can. They serve food there, too; it is comparable in price to Lagoon Lodge just a short walk away.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Availability for the cheaper rooms may be based on when the university students are present; the own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been to Ghana and Winneba several times but this was my first time staying at Manuel's. Manuel is such a gracious and kind host, always ready to help and make your stay more enjoyable. I don't typically stay at hostals or guest houses, but since Manuel had a private room (with bath) in the back bungalow, I decided to give it a shot. It also helps that I knew a few other guests there that week, and thus it felt like a cozy community of like-minded travelers (all volunteers at local NGO Challenging Heights) and made me feel at home during those 4 days. The downside was the lack of hot water in my bathroom, a shower curtain, and protection against mosquitos! I am still scratching at those bites!

Manuel loves to cook, and does so with pride and joy every meal for his guests. But guests have access to the kitchen in case they want to do their own cooking, which Manuel allows without a problem. This is uncommon and is another factor that makes Manuel's special.

Since Manuel is so kind and gracious, his friends often stop by to visit with him, and his guests. This allows guests to 'get to know the locals' and learn more about local culture, but it also can be a bit overwhelming for first timers, as Ghanaians tend to be very social and talk & laugh loudly, thus taking away the serenity and sense of privacy a guest would want.

In summary, Manuel offers the best service in Winneba without a doubt. And you leave feeling good about supporting his business, as he supports so many others in the community (it takes a lot of people to run a hotel properly!) Also, you can walk to the beach from the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at Manuel's Guesthouse and Hostel for 5 weeks- it was amazing! Manuel (the owner) is extremely kind and generous (not to mention he is an amazing cook). He truly cares about his visitors and is willing to help with anything. Manuel's Guesthouse and Hostel is right by the ocean and secluded away from busy Winneba (but close enough that it is a quick walk or taxi ride into town). Manuel's Guesthouse and Hostel has Wifi and a small convenience store.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manuel's Guesthouse and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel's Guesthouse and Hostel

Address: Sir Charles Beach Road, Winneba, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Winneba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Winneba
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing