We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our time at Lagoon Lodge was the highlight of our trip!”

Lagoon Lodge Winneba
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winneba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoon Lodge Winneba
Ranked #4 of 7 Winneba B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2012

In February, 2012, we had the pleasure of spending the last two days of our grueling 14 day / 2400 km trip through Ghana at the Lagoon Lodge in Winneba! What a great place to unwind after a very busy two weeks on the road! Close to a beautiful beach! Wow!
We really enjoyed the relaxing environment of Lagoon Lodge. The rooms were modest but clean. The staff was very courteous and professional. The owners were very warm and welcoming. A very well run establishment... Quite a contrast to many of the places we had stayed over the previous few weeks!
A very special touch was that they called us the day we left for Accra for our return flight to Canada to let us know that someone in our group had left a watch and a ring in the room! They even offered to have someone meet us in Accra to bring it to us before our flight (which they did! Wow!)
We will definitely be returning to the Lagoon Lodge on our future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiroForTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

We were looking for something comfortable but cheaper than the really over-priced hotels in the city - I think Lagoon Lodge is not bad!

Like others have commented, the food takes ages but as long as you order early you'll not be too stressed! I'd advise asking to check the bill after each meal as they have a policy of payment for all bills at the 'end' of your stay. It's difficult to budget what you've spent and we weren't too confident the final bill was correct... It's priced middle to above average but overall we enjoyed it all. (Never had any seafood which was disappointing, but the Pizza was delicious!)

Rooms were clean (which I like) but very basic. You have to get used to travelling in Ghana, that there will always be 'something' that doesn't work, or is broken! The wardrobe doors didn't stay closed and the bathroom light didn't work. Plus they made the really annoying error of placing the main light bulb in the bedroom "ABOVE THE CEILING FAN" which causes a strobe effect inducing migrains & headaches!!!
We just made do with the table lamp and so we quickly forgot about the main light. All in all, we had a good night's sleep though... in fact we stayed for 3 nights.

Very Quiet place - good to relax. Bring a book and some board games, cards etc... nothing else to do at all! Apart from the beach...

The local beach is easy to find... don't walk! Take your car - it's further away than you think. Be careful if you have kids under 18... We have two daughters and even though they are not even teenagers they received some pretty inappropriate attention from local men! Even though the beach is beautiful, clean and the water warm - we had to keep moving to avoid the plain sexual harassment! - It's wrong but there's not much you can do here in Ghana! (In the UK, Europe, US etc these men would be arrested instantly!!!)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the upper terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I certainly enjoyed the atmosphere and the accommodations at this hotel. Although the room was small the bed was comfortable. The water pressure was great in the shower and the fan kept me cool all night.

The open courtyard for dining was attractively decorated with real plants. The food was in the middle price range and well prepared. The menu and a sign at the reception desk tells the visitor that the food is prepared fresh so it may take some time for your meal to come. That I do not mind at all when I am on vacation. It was lovely to sit and read in the courtyard while I waited for my food. The problem came when I got my food, seven meals out of nine the food was cold. So it seemed to me that somewhere the food was sitting because I would expect freshly prepared food to be steaming hot. Since in a tropical climate hot food is one of the best assurances against stomach problems I like my food to be hot.

The hotel is out of the way so there is really no other place nearby to purchase meals. Next door you can purchase fast food and that maybe good but I wanted something different.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sevichase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We (47, 43 10, 3) spent 2 nights at this popular family-run hotel in Winneba. Staff are very warm and welcoming. The owner is on the premises virtually all the time and is nice and courteous. They have about twenty single rooms, double rooms and family suites, over two floors, each with own bathroom and toilet. I had the chance to see the different kinds of rooms and they were all a good size and clean. There are ceiling fans in the room but no air conditioners. The hotel has views over a nearby lagoon and is also close to Winneba beach. This brings in a lovely breeze and we never felt the heat in our room which was upstairs. They have broadband internet for a small fee, and many of the guests were from Europe.

Food is prepared fresh to order so be prepared to put in your order early or wait. Like the three bears in Goldilocks, we would order and go for a stroll. Alternatively they would come and tell us when it was ready. We had the local dishes which were very tasty, but one of our favourites was probably the freshly made fruit juice at breakfast. We thought breakfast was a bit expensive but the other meals were reasonable. There are both outdoor and indoor eating areas if you want to get away from flies and mosquitoes.

Our kids were quite excited visiting Ghana and kept opening and shutting our doors the first morning. Within minutes a member of staff came up to ask us to have them stop doing so. I think we were a little bit surprised but this probably represents a culture of well-behaved children generally rather than a hotel policy, and we only saw one other child of about 7 or 8 so perhaps a quiet adult hideaway may be a better description of this hotel. It did not spoil our short stay. For £30 GBP per night in a family suite, we were not going to complain, and we enjoyed exploring the general area, especially the beach. We plan to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Intrepidbirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled on business
Thank studentGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anias_roman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lagoon Lodge Winneba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Lodge Winneba

Address: P.O. Box 149, Winneba, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Winneba
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Winneba
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Lagoon Lodge Winneba Hotel Winneba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing